Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Semi RaDrama

T-Boon

I think people here are getting way too emotional with this topic.

In regards to the allegations against Semi, let the Police and courts handle that.

When it comes down to Semi being stood down or not, that's a matter for the NRL, Parramatta and Semi to consider. They all need to weigh up Semi's presumption of innocence (therefore his right to freedom) against the image of the game.

It's not an easy decision to make. (this will no doubt make a bunch of you jump on you high horse with rage, but please try and remember Shaun Kenny Dowall)

I know that when I'm going through a rough patch (when my mother was seriously ill), I wanted to work. I wanted to carry on with my life just so I could feel normal. I'd imagine Semi wants the same thing.

I know I'm talking about Semi and his welfare over the victims, but this is a rugby league forum. His exes welfare would have been considered by the Police when charging Semi, putting an AVO on him and granting him bail.

Well said mate, remember also the Parramatta club are supporting the complainant as well as she is living in a property provided by the Club.

Parramatta will disregard advice from the NRL not to play Semi Radradra [/B]on Saturday night, opting to stand by their embattled winger in light of domestic violence charges.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...rl-warning-20160701-gpwebq.html#ixzz4D8RbKg11

Seriously are Parramatta a law on to themselves they don't even care about the NRL.

why not copy the part as to why?

The NRL believes Radradra's decision not to return to training on time and the fact he has seemingly held the game to ransom with the threat of leaving to play French rugby isn't a good look for the sport.

Semi has not ever been quoted as saying he wants to do that so why should they stand him down? it has all been media speculation

did the NRL ask Melbourne to stand down Marika Koroibete because he signed with RU?

T-Boon

why not copy the part as to why?

Semi has not ever been quoted as saying he wants to do that so why should they stand him down? it has all been media speculation

did the NRL ask Melbourne to stand down Marika Koroibete because he signed with RU?

Exactly, Parra has said all week he'll be back and he will play this weekend. But because rumours circulated that he was going to do something else they should stand him down?

Bizzaro.

El diablo moving from one code to another is different to being charged for domestic violence..

i never said it wasn't

if you read the article the reason the NRL wanted him stood down is because of that reason though, not DV

i'll post it again

The NRL believes Radradra's decision not to return to training on time and the fact he has seemingly held the game to ransom with the threat of leaving to play French rugby isn't a good look for the sport.

Generalzod

i never said it wasn't

if you read the article the reason the NRL wanted him stood down is because of that reason though, not DV

i'll post it again

I agree it's not a good look I should have cut and pasted that part of the article.

Walt Flanigan

and what has Semi done?

he has never even said he was going to RU let alone signed with them yet the NRL wants him stood down because the media said he was pissing off

The implication in the part you quoted was that the NRL wanted him stood down for not rocking up to training and "holding the game to ransom", which I take to mean Semi threatening to walk out on his NRL contract. Now weather that's true or not I don't know, but it's certainly not a comparable situation to Marika Koroibete. If Semi played out his contract or was granted a release to play Union then the NRL wouldn't ask for him to be stood down.

and he has never said he wasn't going to play out his contract

he has never said he was going to RU

and it's a ridiculous reason

why should a club stand down a player based on media speculation?

Cockadoodledoo

Mate in the case of Lui and Auva'a pleading guilty and being convicted of domestivc violence didn't even result in them losing their contracts. They both got suspensions but neither was deregistered or had their contracts torn up, its very poor imo. Auva'a even tried to get his suspension lifted early.

In Auv'a's case South Sydney recommended a one week suspension in February was sufficient which was condoned and endorsed by the NRL including Todd Greenberg who clearly believes pretending to hump a dog is 8 times worse.

Cockadoodledoo

I just looked these up.
Blake Ferguson was found guilty with no conviction recorded because in the opinion of the judge he had suffered enough from his NRL suspension;
Once convicted Kirisome Auuva got a 2 year good behaviour bond a fine and then a 9 month suspension from the NRL;
Cherringtons stretches back to 2009 so I couldn't really find any details.
It sounds like Robert Lui offended in 2011 and got an NRL suspension.

Auva'a admitted guilt early in 2014 and Souths with the NRL endorsement suspended him for one week in the offseason. The magistrate agreed to delay the hearing until after the NRL season concluded by which time the backlash for the lack of a proper punishment after guilt admission plea forced the NRL into a corner to give him a longer ban. It was only the media pressure which did so which is pretty much the barometer the NRL uses for punishments.

In Auv'a's case South Sydney recommended a one week suspension in February was sufficient which was condoned and endorsed by the NRL including Todd Greenberg who clearly believes pretending to hump a dog is 8 times worse.

The pretending to f**k the dog was not really the problem
The fact the whole world saw him doing it was.

Massive difference

Is that the story here...
Really?

well it's what you were replying to

see below

The implication in the part you quoted was that the NRL wanted him stood down for not rocking up to training and "holding the game to ransom", which I take to mean Semi threatening to walk out on his NRL contract. Now weather that's true or not I don't know, but it's certainly not a comparable situation to Marika Koroibete. If Semi played out his contract or was granted a release to play Union then the NRL wouldn't ask for him to be stood down.

and he has never said he wasn't going to play out his contract

he has never said he was going to RU
Maybe not, but that's the reason the article states the NRL wants him stood down for.

Marika Koroibete isn't a comparable situation.

and it's a ridiculous reason

why should a club stand down a player based on media speculation?

Isn't it now a police investigation?

Not that I reckon he should be stood or stand down.