Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Semi RaDrama

or we could take a zero tolerance, explain to players the behaviour the game expects of them and f**k them off when they fail to meet those standards?

betcats

which would be fine if the NRl wasn't being hypocritical in its public abhorrence and stance on DV. They are just looking like idiots denouncing it on one hand and condoning it on the other. I am sure they will talk about rehab and second chances and better for society they support the player blah blah blah but that isn't how the public perceive it.

Exactly. If you are going to publicly take this hard line stance on it follow then lets see it with your actions. They are still going soft on it imo.

T-Boon

which would be fine if the NRl wasn't being hypocritical in its public abhorrence and stance on DV. They are just looking like idiots denouncing it on one hand and condoning it on the other. I am sure they will talk about rehab and second chances and better for society they support the player blah blah blah but that isn't how the public perceive it.

So suspending a player is condoning it? The game needs to be guided to some degree by the Court decision and apply similar notions of proportionality.
If the Court deems a non conviction or a good behaviour bond appropriate you really want the code to put some life long ban on a player taking his livelihood away.
Try to retain a grip people.

slapping them on the wrist and welcoming them back into their very highly payed public position is very much condoning it imo. Nobody is stopping them earning money, just not in a very highly paid professional athlete role with the NRL that expects a certain level of behaviour to protect its image and brand.

Personally any of my staff were convicted of it they would be gone and never allowed back in the door, no matter how good an employee they are. I guess T-Boon we all have our own standards of what is and isn't acceptable.

T-Boon

slapping them on the wrist and welcoming them back into their very highly payed public position is very much condoning it imo. Nobody is stopping them earning money, just not in a very highly paid professional athlete role with the NRL that expects a certain level of behaviour to protect its image and brand.

Personally any of my staff were convicted of it they would be gone and never allowed back in the door, no matter how good an employee they are. I guess T-Boon we all have our own standards of what is and isn't acceptable.

what about that cheat Tom Brady you think he deserved a second chance?

The Court and the NRL has gotten it right on all occasions. The minor offences have led to appropriate suspensions, the serious offences have been dealt with more seriously. Thankfully it doesn't come up very often.
We've got to be balanced about these things and look at each offence on its own merits. Most people deserve a second chance. We need to be more aware of the mental health issues some of these boys suffer from particularly if/when they come from vastly different backgrounds and cultures.
Erin's comments were ignorant and ill conceived. She needs to think more about what she says and how it can impact on other people.

For anyone who thinks Erin Moylan was out of line with what she said...
The comment from the poster above is the type of halfwit that you agree with.

Have a good night.

Knight76

The Court and the NRL has gotten it right on all occasions. The minor offences have led to appropriate suspensions, the serious offences have been dealt with more seriously. Thankfully it doesn't come up very often.
We've got to be balanced about these things and look at each offence on its own merits. Most people deserve a second chance. We need to be more aware of the mental health issues some of these boys suffer from particularly if/when they come from vastly different backgrounds and cultures.
Erin's comments were ignorant and ill conceived. She needs to think more about what she says and how it can impact on other people.

If my memory serves there was a criminal allowed to play in the NRL, I believe he was a convicted murderer or something. It was a serious crime anyway, I thought he played for Manly, but it was definitely a Sydney club he was playing for.

We need to be more aware of the mental health issues some of these boys suffer from particularly if/when they come from vastly different backgrounds and cultures.

So it's ok to smack em around if you have a mental health issues or come from overseas!

Look I don't know if Semi did it or not. But IF the NRL wants to take a stance against DV, then they need to do it by starting right now and standing down one of the best players in the world with pay, until the investigation is over. If not guilty then play on, if guilty, then rip up his contract and he can go play rah rahs with Hayne.

Let em play until their day in court
If guilty?? f**k em off forever
No if's no but's

Just like Erin said

Pretty bloody simple really

T-Boon

Let em play until their day in court
If guilty?? f**k em off forever
No if's no but's

Just like Erin said

Pretty bloody simple really

what about if they appeal?

what about if the couple stays together (wouldn't they be punishing the victim)?

what about if they appeal?

what about if the couple stays together (wouldn't they be punishing the victim)?

They can get another f**king job then.
Be like the rest of us .

He can get his minimum wage
Get blind
Punch f**k out of her
It's not reported on tv all day long
And they lived happily ever after

Penrose Warrior

I suggest you watch it then
Just google it
Simple
Obviously what you read clouded you're judgement
She was talking about all players not just him.
It's big news at present here
It's a footy show
The subject came up
She is one of the hosts
She had every right to comment on how piss weak the NRL have been in the past I relation to domestic violence .
By reading it only the sentiment was clearly lost on you.

All good mate, you've got your opinion I have mine. I've since watched it and not changed my view one iota.

If Semi says he is 100% innocent, he should play this weekend. f**k standing people down to save face for the NRL. If they wanted to save face, they should ensure anyone who is guilty of such heinous acts never come near a registered playing field again. Ie Shaun Metcalf. Our disgraceful former CEO allowed him to be part of the Warriors squad when it sickened us as fans for him to do so. No second chances in this game.

Last Week

I think people here are getting way too emotional with this topic.

In regards to the allegations against Semi, let the Police and courts handle that.

When it comes down to Semi being stood down or not, that's a matter for the NRL, Parramatta and Semi to consider. They all need to weigh up Semi's presumption of innocence (therefore his right to freedom) against the image of the game.

It's not an easy decision to make. (this will no doubt make a bunch of you jump on you high horse with rage, but please try and remember Shaun Kenny Dowall)

I know that when I'm going through a rough patch (when my mother was seriously ill), I wanted to work. I wanted to carry on with my life just so I could feel normal. I'd imagine Semi wants the same thing.

I know I'm talking about Semi and his welfare over the victims, but this is a rugby league forum. His exes welfare would have been considered by the Police when charging Semi, putting an AVO on him and granting him bail.

2012....Sharks Year

Will be interesting to see what sort of reception he gets from the locals on Saturday night....the crowd have been pretty vocal at Shark Park this year.