Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Seriously how bad is Finch?

Hurriflatch

My biggest fear is that Parra will end up losing Blake Green because of Finch being at the club. The longer it takes for Finch to get dropped the longer it takes for Green to re-sign and the more likley it is that he won't be here in 2008.

varion

How much does everyone guess that Finch is on $$$ wise?

I have a bad feeling its 200-250k. You could get a very decent player for that, as bad as it is carrying a passenger, nothing worse than an expensive one!

Finch's problem is he is not a 5/8

i feel sorry for the bloke when he's clearly playing out of position

Hurriflatch

Green played out of position and it didn't hurt his game
Hayne is playing out of position and still playing well

Finch has played enough 5/8 and is getting paid enough $$$ to suck it up and play well or fu*k off

mickdo

varion said:
How much does everyone guess that Finch is on $$$ wise?

I have a bad feeling its 200-250k. You could get a very decent player for that, as bad as it is carrying a passenger, nothing worse than an expensive one!
Surely not. Noone wanted him except us, so why would the price be all that high?

Hurriflatch

overall he'd be on that but this year he is still under contract at the Roosters but they released him and would be paying some of his contract.

it'll be something like

Finch is on 240 k a year

Eels paying 100k
Roosters 140k

ParraDude_Jay

El Diablo said:

He is out of position I'll agree. He's on the football field when he should be in the stands!

The bloke is just not a good football player, has two good games a year and plays like a busted arse the rest of it. There's a reason the Roosters fans hated him and the fans of EVERY other NRL club think he's sh*t, it's because he is. We won't win the competition with Brett Finch in the side, we don't have a Brad Fittler to carry him and he still choked twice with Freddy in the team. We could probably keep Mateo and Green long term if we got rid of him and gave those two his pay.

mickdo

Hurriflatch said:
overall he'd be on that but this year he is still under contract at the Roosters but they released him and would be paying some of his contract.

it'll be something like

Finch is on 240 k a year

Eels paying 100k
Roosters 140k
It was a two year deal right?

please :roll:

the Roosters had to blame someone for why they were losing and they chose Finch

Finch has left the Roosters and they're 0-4

seems he wasn't the problem

Pazza

we have got enough money to re sign all our players.

I think '08 is going to bee just like '01 and '05

we got some great young talent coming into grade in Mateo, Green, Inu, Cordoba and hayne plus we got quite abit of money to spend under the cap. I'd love to see us sign a prop and second rower with maybe a bench utility to take pjs spot when he moves perminately into the number 9 and Riddell to the 12

Hurriflatch

As has been said in previous threads having money isn't everything

if someone like Finch is going to get picked each week Green will leave and go to a club where he'll get a start.

Green has said he wants to play for Parra for his whole career but he has also made it clear that if he doesn't get a go he'll go somewhere that he will get a go

caylo

El Diablo said:

i disagree, he is trying to play halfback... in there, in the middle of the feild, trying to create stuff and it's not working. Get out wide, second or third man off the ruck, and collect the ball, with some speed, and feed your outside men. I'm no 5-8, a lock/centre, and i swear i'd play 5-8 better than him even with my crappy kicking game, and inability to throw a long ball. He has the skill, he his just playing dumb footy, doin what timmy was doing 14 months ago, trying to hard to score a try off every ball... i'd bit the bullet, dop him, tell him to get some form, if by the end of the year he is still in PL, say sorry buddy go find a new club. I'd rather pay out his contract, and we not persist with him, rather than him see out his contract and play sh*t house, and hold someone like blakey or Keating out of the team. How about somthing like.

6 Blake
7 Timmy

14 Keating (Matt or Kris, which ever realy)

Finch PL halfback/5-8

FMD Finch was woeful tonight, anyone would have thought that he was playing for the Panthers. Everything he touched turned to sh*t, The guy is trying but he's just not doing the job. We have a ready made replacement in Blake, we look much better with him and Timmy on the field.

BTW i watched the game with a couple of Roosters supporters, they said they couldn't believe we signed Finch when we had a guy like Blake waiting in the wings. They couldn't stop laughing, they said every time at the Goosters when he was about to get punted he would pull a game out of his arse and save his spot. 1 good game the 5 crap one was their ratio.

booeycollector

Avenger said:
I hope so mate. Finch at 6 is deadset giving me an ulcer.

Agree mate he was terrible last night and has been since round 1. When he came over I thought a change of clubs might do him the world of good but it hasn't. Hages MUST bring Green into 5/8. We cant afford to keep him in 1st grade with that sort of form.

Finch played sh*t..no doubt about it however he did stop 2 possible trys [or attacking raids] when he stopped Jennings in the first half when Guru decided to shoot out of the line and become a human torpeado and late in the second half where stopped Jennings again who would of been in the clear staring at Burt.

Other than that...Finch was a door stop on a coffee table all night.

El Diablo said:

but his f**k ups have nothing to do with what position he's playing - kicking out on the full when under little pressure, dumb passes inside, getting the ball easily stripped, dropping the ball - it doesn't matter if he's got 6 or 7 on his back for this stuff

i reckon hages will persist with him for a while .... and maybe he should??? - finch has had 2 shockers, but we still won the games - unfortunately if he has another shocker against a quality team we probably won't get the win ..... finch does have a habit of bouncing back when the world really gets down on him - it'll only take one decent game to restore Hage's faith and secure the #6 for many more weeks

Parraren

He was very poor.

Looks to be struggling for confidence and on current form Green should be picked ahead of him.

The Dogs aren't scared to keep Sherwin in PL behind young Roberts and hopefully our club has the balls to do the same...

Ant

Look I am a big backer is experienced players, but I totally agree Finch has been poor so far this year. Now Timmy started slowly too, but has been getting better which is what you want.

When the eels signed finch, I felt positives and negatives. Positive we bought an origin half, when we had no established 5/8th. The negative is I think rarely has playing two genuine halfbacks together worked well for a club, and finch has been in that situation before.

Finch can be a good player, but he is not an overly creative player, he can be a good distributor and look good when his side is going well. He also looks better when he has a creative player outside him. At the moment the creative player is inside him and it doesn't suit.

I'd have to say it is my only worry about the side at the moment, I am not sounding his death knell, but Green has looked pretty solid so far, and I think has greater creative skills than Finch.

At 5/8th you need one of the following, a high skill level, or speed or size, or if you are lucky a combo of all of the above. I don't know if finch has any, speed and size are not his assets. His skill level is solid but not outstanding, more suited as a distributor. I think Sterlo got it right last night when he said he was turning the ball on the inside because he wanted to to have a think. He would immediately turn away after passing the ball to think about next play, sometimes his forward could have offloaded to him.

The difference between our halves was dramatic last night, and finch paled in comparison.

He may prove us wrong, but once riddell comes back there will be some big decisions, because then either Green or finch must go. He probably has a lifeline to play himself into form till then.

oneguy

I thought Finchy could do well at Eels, and slot in for Morris (whom I rate). I was prepared to give him a go after a lackluster opening couple of games. But yesterday's game sealed it for me. Green in, Finch out.

Finch to PL, and bide his time. I still think he'll come back into calculation and be a valuable member of the 1sts, but not at this stage.