Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks cap superthread - latest: NRL clears Flanagan to assistant coach from 2020

It would be far easier for you/others to acknowledge "yeah I can see how people might think that, but I don't agree".

Instead you all seem to want to re-prosecute the peptides saga which neither unforgiven or I are actually advocating, it's simply an observation about perception. I sincerely hope Morris does well and Cronulla recover from this.
Amen bother

I'm sure he will be fine
good guy. good up and coming coach

we have also got dave howlett in the main coaching staff now who has done great stuff with the junior teams etc

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Yeah as quickly said unknowingly and unwittingly , management failures etc etc - fmd dank was only there 3 weeks before the sharks realised he was duds and turfed him , he was other clubs for years , ya reckon unforgiven that sharks were the only club popping peptides if indeed they were ?.if the sharks were guilty of anything it was poor management not being smart enough to employ a ceo to provide oversight

I remember back, prior to the drug stuff, the chairman was in the media all smug about how well the club was running without a CEO....

Not the brightest spark, that one.

Quicksilver

I remember back, prior to the drug stuff, the chairman was in the media all smug about how well the club was running without a CEO....

Not the brightest spark, that one.

In essence all they did was divide the operations of the Leagues Club and the Football Club.

Many other clubs have done the same since. Even the Sharks have revisited it.

Don’t listen to the Buzz Rothfield spin machine. They were probably stretched, but it wasn’t particularly that issue that was the problem.

Buzz buddied up to Irvine to get the inside word off the record, then dumped him in it. Buzz basically got his own board elected on emotion after that. All our recent problems stem from them and their financial management.

Irvine’s board basically did all the meaningful groundwork for the property development. It’s a shame there was a slip up for a couple of weeks with Dank.

greenBV4

Screen Shot 2019-02-28 at 6.31.27 pm-min.png
Ten Relocation Options for the Cronulla Sharks

Written by Dylan Leach
February 27, 2019

How do you solve a problem like Cronulla?

The only thing that’s Up, Up Cronulla is debt, salary cap penalties and crisis after crisis.

Perhaps it’s time for the Sharks to leave the shire and start afresh.

With that in mind and the NRL looking into expansion, we’ve come up with a list for 10 new locations the Sharks can call home.

1 – MOONEE PONDS SHARKS
We all know that Prime Minister Scott Morrison loves “The Sharkies”.

Just ask him.

He points it out all the time.

“Mr. Prime Minister, what’s your take on the state of the economy?”

“Go Sharkies” says Sco-Mo.

“Prime Minister – what do we do about climate change?

“Go Sharkies”

And so on and so forth.

But with an election coming up and Bill Shorten the hot favourite to take the keys to the Lodge what if he took Sco-Mo’s beloved Sharkies with him?

Despite being Victorian, Bill Shorten is also known for his convincing love and knowledge of Rugby League.

With the Melbourne Suburb of Moonee Ponds being in Bill Shorten’s electorate, the Sharks could become the city’s second NRL Team.

They would have a ready-made stadium playing at Moonee Valley Racecourse and can make Dame-Edna Everidge and Shorten their respective number one ticket holders.

4 – PERTH SHARKS
Perth has Optus Stadium.

Perth has penty of sharks at Cottesloe Beach.

Perth is hosting game two of this years State of Origin series.

Perth is a bloody long way from the shire.

Perth has the West Coast Eagles and ex-West Coast Eagles players who can show the Sharks boys a good time.

Perth has proven Rugby League pedigree and have been desperate for the game to return since the Western Reds were punted back in 1997.

And Dubbo is a town with the big-picture in mind, their bid for the 1988 Olympic Games was also a case of Dubbo showing the world what it is made of.

2 – MANUS ISLAND SHARKS
There has been a push for PNG to have a team in the NRL and what better place than Manus Island.

While it’s not the Shire, it would still hold a special place in Sco-Mo’s heart, he’d be able to sign up his good mate Peter Dutton as club member and there’s no doubting that Paul Gallen would love the lifestyle up there.

Should the Sharks end up relocating to Manus Island, there may be issues in finding accomodation and the Sharks woud not be allowed to travel back into Australia for away matches.

3 – DUBBO SHARKS
The Sharks could always stay in New South Wales and relocate to the iconic town of Dubbo – right in the heart of the State.

Dubbo is known for Orana Mall, the Taronga Western Plains Zoo, Centro Dubbo and is screaming to have an NRL team to call their own.

They would call Caltex Park home which of course hosted the memorable City v Country clash in 2006.

It’s not the first time Dubbo has had a major sports team – who could forget the Dubbo Globetrotters?

5 – NORTH SYDNEY BEARS-HARKS
Ever since they were dumped by Manly, the North Sydney Bears have been Rugby League’s answer to Prince Charles simply waiting for someone to be dethroned in order to participate in first-grade Rugby League again.

With the Crounlla Sharks liquidation sale where everything must go, now is the time for Norths and the Shire to unite to establish one super Footy team.

6 – TASSIE SHARKS
Tassie has long been denied a professional football team – be it AFL or the A-League.

Now is the time for the Apple Isle to embrace Rugby League and the Sharks to call it home.

They would already have a fan in the biggest sports fan in Hobart and social media superstar, Bev, from “The Bev Show” who would no doubt give a few “YIPPIDA-DI-DIPITY-DOS” “WHOO-HOO-YOU BEAUTY” “CRACK-A-LACKIN FORM” and would be delighted when they play Storm “THOSE PESKY MELBOURNIANS”

Paul Gallen and Bev – together at last.

7 – BEIRUT SHARKS
Just imagine it, Channel 9 News has broken the story that the Sharks have relocated to Lebanon and some Shire resident drapped in Aussie Flag cape and a singlet with “WE GREW HERE, U FLEW HERE” is interviewed.

He says “FIRST THEY TAKE OUR BEACH. NOW THEY TOOK OUR FOOTY TEAM.”

But given Lebanon has provided Rugby League with some fine players such as Robbie Farrah and Mitchell Moses, they are worthy of a team in the national captial.

Not only that, it would be an awesome away trip and have you tried a Houlumi-Cheese Pie? They are outstanding.

They’d be a riot – literally.

8 – IPSWICH SHARKS
Reloacte to Queenlsnad.

The Sunshine State.

Enjoy the beaches, the surf, the women.

But the Sharks have to go to Ipswich.

Out – ScoMo In- Pauline.

9 – PUNCHBOWL LOAN-SHARKS
A team that’s gone from having zero interest, into high and compound interest.

A team who’s injury list includes lost thumbs and broken kneecaps.

A team that has heaps of Baseball Bats in the club rooms but does not play Baseball.

A team where if you don’t pay your Membership fees by Monday, you’ll be sorry.

A team with no salary cap issues – it’s all paid in cash.

10 – STAY IN CROUNULLA
The Shire is a wonderful place.

Who could forget that Channel Ten series – The Shire?

And Up, Up Cronulla just wouldn’t sound the same.
- https://www.neds.com.au/blog/2019/0...qTaEb9Up0GuNheGyctlEY-Ym_DnV_YnQS6War0RkpS_3M

I Bleed Maroon

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/sh...over-salary-cap-breaches-20190228-p51104.html

Adrian Proszenko
February 28, 2019 — 8.56pm
  • Send via Email
Leave a comment

Cronulla is bracing for a salary cap deduction of about $600,000 for this season and next for undisclosed player payments as the NRL prepares to close the book on a number of outstanding integrity issues on Friday.

c5ec5487cb0d0ff50c5c9982a4f552cb2756a5ae

Centre of attention: Rugby League Central will again be a hub of activity on Friday.Credit:Steven Siewert

The focus will remain on Rugby League Central for a second consecutive day as the governing body announces a host of sanctions that will affect multiple players, clubs and officials. The most pressing matter is the finalisation of a salary cap investigation into the Sharks that was sparked when the club self-reported an anomaly involving their former player Chris Heighington.

The club came forward after a promised $50,000 payment to Heighington was unearthed by former NRL salary cap auditor Jamie L’Oste-Brown shortly after he joined the club. That sparked a wider probe that subsequently cost Cronulla its premiership-winning coach, Shane Flanagan, after it emerged he contravened the rules of his suspension by communicating with staffers.

The investigation found other salary cap breaches, but the 2016 premiership win is not under threat. The NRL has taken into account the fact Cronulla self-reported, with the expected cap deduction to be north of half a million dollars from their cap. It’s possible the sum could be deducted over two years, raising hopes they may not have to shed a single player ahead of the upcoming season. The penalty will allay concerns they will have to lose Shaun Johnson, the Kiwis halfback they recruited from the Warriors over the summer.

However, Flanagan may not get another chance to coach in the NRL again if his deregistration remains open ended.

Slap on the fin. The NRL realize if they applied a punishment that fit the crime, they would damn near sink the whole club. Weak as piss.

SharkShocked

Strap yourself in, grab the popcorn, grab the large candy bar cup.... because the tears are going to fill it to the brim and they will be delicious.

Tiger5150

How can you say that when you don’t even know what they’ve done?

Your mind is weak as piss.

Well based on the fact that the Sharks have been fined less than the Tigers and had less taken off the salary cap than the Tigers for something that the Tigers have not actually even done, Sharks must be guilty of bugger all, but the NRL have their small victory over a couple of easy targets.

Strap yourself in, grab the popcorn, grab the large candy bar cup.... because the tears are going to fill it to the brim and they will be delicious.

I think there is going to be a lot of butt hurt in here and it won’t be Shark supporters.

LOL.

Oh by the way Sharks were $500 k under the cap last season so having to operate $350k under the next two seasons won’t even cast a ripple over the lake.

But always beware of Sharks!!!!!

Haha...