Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks fans punting thread

Congratulations Shire Shark, Phil Bailey Band and all the others who won on the Cup. Thankfully they moved the local TAB here in Canberra and I wasn't able to get out and throw my $10 away on Frightening. That's almost as good as winning in my book!

I said to my wife that I'll put an extra $10 on my Lotto systems entry for this Saturday's $18m draw. That will give me a systems 9 instead of a systems 7 and perhaps it will be my lucky day. If so, I'll be up to talk to the Board about a little takeover bid. $15m (I'll have to keep $3m to not upset the missus) should give me a pretty good slice of the Sharks.

List the club publicly and turn it into the Manchester Utd of the NRL. Snaffle the Chooks' accountant(s) to get around the salary cap and win the comp every other year (so that it doesn't look to suspicious). Would that make everyone happy?

Well, everyone except Reefy. Sorry mate, I'd give Anderson his year to bring home the bacon, but if he doesn't deliver he'd be GOOORRRRRNNNN!!!!

thanks eskimo!

where did everyone watch? (those who werent at work!)

i got the day off and went down to cronulla RSL and then kicked on at northies after i won my sweet victory...then i got a case on the way home and went to a mate's house and just drunk myself completely stupid...as you can see i've sobered up a bit now!! :lol:

so where did we watch?

Well my each-way bet on She's Archie payed for yesterdays proceedings.

Now I'm paying for it in other ways. #-o

Scotty

Now I'm paying for it in other ways.

Im hearing ya mate, big day at the Canberra races, not much luck in the cup but a few wins on the local races meant i came out just ahead. School this morning wasnt much fun at all.

Foz

Cape Kennedy was saved for a race at Flemington tomorrow. I think it will win but I'm not sure about what price it will be as the race looks easier. It has gone up in weight on what it would have carried yesterday.

imasharkie

Foz said:
Cape Kennedy was saved for a race at Flemington tomorrow. I think it will win but I'm not sure about what price it will be as the race looks easier. It has gone up in weight on what it would have carried yesterday.

should have raced on wednesday!!!

Foz

Maybe it should have started this race on Wednesday. Notice Nikolic used the whip on it when it was 50m behind. No chance of a Mummify repeat here but something was definitely wrong with the horse. Fortunately for me it was odds on so I didnt end up backing it. It was $5 in my paper yesterday. I'm waiting for Special Harmony's price. I'm getting that desperate for a winner I'll take evens.

Yeah Foz I went up to the TAB before work today to get on Cape Kennedy but it was $1.50 for the win and $1.00(!!) for the place so I didnt bet! Where did it come?

Foz

Finished in the last 3. Thank goodness for Damien Oliver. Jagged the Adelaide DD and last quinella but its paid massive unders. Ended up a great day but should have been heaps better.

Morpheus

The tried and tested rule of the spring came to the fore in that race , like many of the races over the past few weeks.

Sydney form is stronger than Melbourne form.

Give me a 3rd placed Sydney Saturday runner over a last start saturday winner in melbourne anyday.

I used this rule of thumb nicely today in your race Foz and took the $2.3 on offer of Mythological running in the top 3. Only mugs back a horse to WIN these days.

Why back Cape Kennedy at those silly odds when you can get over $2 on a hawkes trained gem to run with bad luck and still run top 3 ??

It also rang true on other races, you follow the form Foz, so here is a little quiz, which horse ran a place at between $3 and $4 today a place in Melbourne that had previously only showed a little bit in the Sydney Metrop scene over recent months, not even City form mind you, just provincial and some scone form.

I'm telling you, backing Melb or Adelaide form horses over sydney is a lottery and usually a losing one, the depth in Sydney is 4 times that of any other metro area and a horse that can run top 6 in a sydney race any day of the week with more than 12 runners will beat most place getters and winners going head to head from Melb, adelaide or brissy.

I have followed this rule for 6 month now, and it works.

Sydney form and class is HERE.

Brissy HERE ( i rate it better than melb form, others ( mainly melb based ! ) rate melb better

Melb HERE

ADELAIDE HERE

Perth HERE

The difference is about 3 lengths from sydney class down to Brisbane class, another length bris to melb, and another 2 lnghts to adelaide, meaning adelaide form is 6 lenghts worse than sydney form.

Foz

Obviously the horse you are talking about is Chasseresse Morpheus. Glad to see you are having some success with your system. The winner of that race came from Echuca and has been running around Benalla.
I didnt back Cape Kennedy at that price (I had it a $5 chance like the paper but thought it to be a winner). Watching it Cape Kennedy appeared to choke down. It gave in like a pricked balloon.
I had Special Harmony a $2.00 chance.It paid $2.10. Then Pay Keys (an Adelaide horse) got up for me.
Sydney horses have done little in the big group ones this spring. eg Melbourne Cup,Caulfield Cup,Derby and Oaks.
Defier and Lonrho got places in the Cox Plate but got beat by a Melbourne horse on the comeback trail.
Overall I'd say the Melbourne horses have been superior but hey however you can get a winner is the main thing. Good luck with your system and I hope you keep winning.

Morpheus

Agreed totally about the big races mate, but the thing is, those races are really lotteries regardless of what system you use because the hroses are of such elite class.

where I tend to work around is the top third of the field on exposed form, then pick the sydney class horses from that third of the field.

Obviously in the elite class the chances in the race are many more than in the standard saturday/sunday open class races.

I backed Zanna for example early in the day last week and it had a good win and fine odds, but in a major race, like say, Boreale for Hawkes at Flemington, I probably will back it but being an elite race, chances are diminished as the rest of the fields class speaks for itself.

One to look out for early in the day tomorrow at Doomben Race 2 number 3 Aquatic Drive. it is a No metro win class race with Stafi Katsidis on deck who has been getting most of the plumb rides in the absence of Rodd and Purton over recent weeks ( rodd is back in qld now though) It had nice sydney provincial form early in her career, then went north and nailed three wins from 4 races, culminating in a nice class 4 win at the gold coast, that was in 2000 though and she makes her return to racing here after a very long spell. Has obvious ability and the distance ( 2250 ) wont be beyond her, big query about her winning the race is her long spell away but the trainer should have her ready to race, I reckon she may be some nice odds on running a place and it's worth a tenner on her to place to get a little kick for the day.

Race 5 at doomben, number 3 HUEY for john Hawkes. When hawkes puts Galloway on a ride on saturday at Doomben, it means a win is on the cards, back it, ran a great race to win alt start, only problem may be the short odds, but if I get $1.60-$1.80 on it for a place I will have a Hungy on to take a quick $60-$80.

Race 6 at Doomben there is one with a bit of sydney form running for its 3rd start in Brisbane for new trainer Number 2 Gamesman. I like this thing and it should be big odds, a place bet all day long. I won't go silly on it , maybe $30 a place, but really should be paying $4 a place or thereabouts. It's best form has been over a mile and I reckon the stable has used his first 2 brissy runs to get him fit, and will be backing him tomorrow.

Race 7 doomben, two interesting horses that I may build a trifecta around, or maybe a few on the plcae on both horses.

Gerad Ryan has an interesting horse running called Music Star number 3 ( I hope nhumber 3 is a number that palces alot tomorrow in brissy and most of my picks seem to be carrying that saddle cloth !! ) only had one start in brissy early october at which he failed, but before that his sydney form was impeccible and on that form should win this race by 3 lengths, maybe something was amiss and the ryan camp has fixed it, in which case the horse should be backed and backed well !.

Number 6 in the same racfe, Penola should be the favortie for Bailey and young Carl Spry on board, great form but will be too short.

number 7 " he's on fire" is first start north after leacving sydney and I will include in the trifecta.

and number 10 WIDE AWAKE , hawkes and galloway combine again, flopped last start yet won well before that,

Box those 4 for a unit, cost $24 is what I will be doing, let s hope they get up and pay one of those silly brissy late trifectas !!

Morpheus

Melbourne tomorrow has a few good place bets

a bit of a lottery all day long with big fields, i will be mainly investing the big bickies in brisbane, but will be backing these ones in melb too :-

Race one Numbers 14-serkelt and number 16 thats the game, both a looong odds, a few on the place will be a good bet.

Race3 number 3 ( again ! ) Imperatrix, John Hawkes and Darren gauci combine for what I believe is the bet of the day in melbourne, but thats not saying much with such big fields and good class racing, however $40 on the place on this thing will give you a good sight for a return, I like this one alot !
-if looking for trifecta hopes, vals regard, gold lottey and sabino canyon look long odds hopes.

Race 4 Number 4-fixated, Go Hawksie, Go the Gauch !!! place bet, place bet, place bet, cash in cash in cash in !!! will be flying home late.

race 5 down the straight, Number 11 Academe, corey brown for guy walter, place bet for me.

racfe 6 TOUGH race, very hard, lotsa class, I'll take the value and have a lucky dip by backing Forum Floozie ( internet forum omen perhaps ?? ) good solid form, probably not up to this class but will be well prepared and has ability, can sneak a place at great odds. number 16, carrying NO weight !

I'll be having a go in the later races too but will do that form tomorrow once track bias is known for sure, have a great day !

Morpheus

well that was a tough day at the punting office !

thanks to Aquatic drive winning and Fixated winning It wasnt a disaster and I got out even, but other than that a tough day. How did you go Foz ?

I have a heavy heart after the tragedy of Shogun Lodges death today, but am thankful the rider was not hurt when he went down :(

Morpheus said:
well that was a tough day at the punting office !

thanks to Aquatic drive winning and Fixated winning It wasnt a disaster and I got out even, but other than that a tough day. How did you go Foz ?

I have a heavy heart after the tragedy of Shogun Lodges death today, but am thankful the rider was not hurt when he went down :(

yeah pretty tough morph
i had scenic peak in the 6th which was ordinary to say the least
then adoloscence in the 7th which was ordinary too but then got on zazzman for the win in the 8th which was an outstanding run
force apollo in the 9th was weak

got on silk and money at randwick, race 6 which helped me come out even in the wash up

had some good wins on the trots and the dogs last night too, i dont usually do trots and dogs but it was a bit of a laugh with a few drinks, ended up $150 in front

kimmorley's my tip for first try scorer tomorrow in the league, got a measly $6 on at 16/1 so stand to win a clear $90. he's in good form so here's hoping!

Foz

Yes boys it was a very tough day.I'd backed a few winners and thought I was around even but checked the phonetab and I was struggling. Did kick myself for not backing John O'Sheas horse in the first at Newcastle. One runner all day and it won. In my paper it was $2.30 but it paid over $4.
Fortunately for the second time in 2 days I've jagged the Adelaide Daily Double,backed the last there and got the Quinella. On Thursday I took 1 &6 into 1 & 6. It paid $95. Did the same today but backed the 6 as well. It paid $23 a win. The double must have paid around $150 (could be wrong) as the quinella only paid $23.
I think its called getting out of gaol.
Clare Lindop is now on my favourite jockey list. The horses I've backed have been 3 wide all the way but she's still won on them.
Noticed she jagged a $40 winner as well. Wish I was on that.
Very sad about Shogun Lodge. A very good horse. 3 group 1 wins and 12 Group 1 seconds. 12 group 1 seconds would have to be a record.
Lets hope the Sharkies do ok tonight/in the morning. I hope your footy tab bets do good shireshark. I just hope Australia win.

Morpheus

Lindrop is in outstanding form mate agreed. For mine she is the countrys best lady jockey by a mile, Lacy morrisson is doing nothing wrong but clair just keeps getting winners.

I am still alive on my multi sports bet for the weekend, I just need the french to win tonight and the welsh to get within 30 pts of england to collect $400 with centrebet. her's hoping !

imasharkie

Yes have to agree with you guys the passing away of shogun lodge was very sad and was always one of my favourites.......I think I backed him in all his races. I was in meetings all day yesterday so didn't get to the track or pay tv for any bets so good to hear you all got out ok on the day. I didn't even look at the results in todays paper just in case one of mine got up..........maybe a tip for next week from any of you