Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks fans punting thread

Morpheus

Wide awake is one of those horses mate for certain.

I know what you mean about the Randwick track in the wet, the different bias at sydney tracks on good going is bad enough, let alone on wet ground, you made the right call going to SA by the sounds and I agree on Lindrops form, outstanding young hoop.

Shire you were not alone in losing on the green and gold saturday night, outlaid $300 on some different bets, only one was a winner, first scoring play an aussie try at $9 which got me back $140 or therabouts, I chased my losses and whacked it all on arsenal to win and they got me back to $282 on my account which was nice.

I have had ALL that $282 on Freiburg to win late tonight in the german soccer at $1.62, fingers crossed !

I wish I'd put all my money on Leeds to lose because that was a sure thing.

Outward Display let me down too now that I think about it. Disappointing considering it won me a fair bit last weekend.

Morpheus

Thanks Shire.

It was indeed close and they should have won more convincingly on form, but a win is a win, if a nail biting one !

I have doubled those winnings into a risky Monday night premier league bet.

Fulham V Portsmouth

I placed the bet without much confidence actually because both teams are notoriously hard to pick, but it's too late I cannot take the bet back from Gerad Daffy so....

I am on Fulham to win minus 1 goal at $3.50

and a Draw to be the halftime result at $2.40

fingers crossed on this one !

Fulham at home have a habit of playing above themselves and Portsmouth are yet to win at home, so I need Fulham by 2 goals or more.

I have $150 on each option.

0-0 at halftime would be nice with the Cottage boys going on nicely to knock in 3 in the second half !

I dont rate Portsmouth except for Teddy Sheringham who can pull one out of the bag. They'll struggle though.

I rate Chris Coleman, I think he's a great manager and the Fulham blokes seem to really like him.

I think Fulham will win but by 2?! They'll be pushing it!

came out in front eh morph but foolish halftime bet!

btw charlton will beat leeds next week
and i think liverpool will win their uefa cup clash

furthermore
Real Madrid are paying 2.55 on sportodds to beat marseille in the champions league!

Morpheus

Foolish, harsh mate , from a young man who never risks his pride by letting anyone know in this thread what bets they actually place before events !

I am well ahead over the last couple of weeks, so I guess I enjoy being a fool if that is the case !

Stuttgart V Rangers to be a draw on wednesday, I will have $600 on that option.

cmon morph i was just joking! chill!

most of my bets are usually impulse while im at the tab so i dont often place them on here
and i was away on the weekend so thats why i didnt post my rugby bets on here
i did tip the cup winner though so surely thats worth something

im just checking the champions league now
i wish real madrid were playing tomorrow morning because i reckon theyre good odds

Morpheus

I was joking too my friend, and I agree, they are fantastic odds !

Perhaps we should begin a little punting club , you and I, and throw a $10 in the mix each week where we can both decide where we place it ?

There are some fine odds in champions league this week. I think $1.75 for Man U to beat Panthakios is very VERY good value and will be having $500 on that option.

I also think Aresenel are looking shaky and Inter Milan are $2.80 to beat them. so will place a keeper bet of $400 on them.

i agree with man utd and arsenal
didnt arsenal go down 3-0 to inter at highbury?!
btw i think ajax will struggle to beat ac milan

i'd join the club
i must say, however, that my wagers dont even compare to your massive betting plunges....!

Inter Milan (Italy) To Win (Draw Loses) Multi-bet
Chelsea (England) To Win (Draw Loses)
Real Madrid (Spain) To Win (Draw Loses) $7.25

Just got on that in this betting frenzy

Morpheus

It all begins small mate.

your $20 will be $110 if your result comes good, which is a good chance bet.

THen if you bet like I do, looking for above 80% chances at above 30% return, you can build you money.

ie.

if you turned that $110 an place it on a bet like CHelsea to win outright at $130.

your roll is now worth $143

do not look at it as a bit bet mate because you are only risking $20, your initial outlay, that is how I work it and that is why I can place over $1000 this week without feeling guilty or having heart flutters each morning checking results, because I am only risking my initial $150 outlay 3 weeks ago.

UGH
two losses this morning

who would have thought arsenal would win 5-1?!?!!? that's insane!! I HATE ARSENAL.

meanwhile in scotland bayern munich played their usual dull, dreary, boring, negative game and scored a 0-0 draw. that's what they call a 'result'. celtic dominated the first 65 minutes but ultimately struggled.

hopefully i'll win all my money back on real madrid tomorrow morning...

Morpheus

Yes mate, I also am staring defeat in the eye after the gunners win.
now i am chasing my tail and hoping for a man u win to get me back to squarish.

fizman

Great thread Lads,
If you do go with a syndicate, let us know. I'd be more than happy to throw a lazy 100 in.

Do you guys have a punt on the NFL??

No worries fiz. I'll be up for it once I get a few debts cleared up.

I dont punt on the NFL, no. But I'm willing to learn and I'll cop any hot tip you may have!

Foz

I'm going to have a lash at a few of Oliver's in the last few races at Sandown today. He's been a touch quiet lately so he is due for a big day out.
Every year I back the Titans in the NFL.This year I gave up on them after 3 games.(got out to 20/1). They've won about 8 straight since. Might be a chance this year after all.

good call foz beluga in the 6th looks ok at 3.50
still, i'm sworn off the horses, the dogs and the trots except for randwick weekends

though i wouldnt mind betting on zazzman's fixed odds for the caulfield and melbourne cups 2004!

Foz

I only backed Broadband SS so I ended up behind. (had too much on his ride in the last. I rang up to back M.Rodd's mount in race 5 in Brisbane (no.8).It was scratched and they were about to jump so I put 50 cents on Dean Tanti's mount as an interest.Unbelievable it won and paid $69. What made it more of a fluke was Rodd rode something else in the race (no jockey in the paper). Didnt stop a losing day though.