Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks fans punting thread

Foz

Well done Morpheus. Somebody had a stack on Wales with the start. Both teams opened at $1.85 but Wales were into $1.60 at kick off. Looks like the bookies copped it for a change.

Good day at the office my friends, Mat Rogers disappointed me last night cos I had him first to score, but made my money back today and then some betting on the Newy gallops...best money made here:

Outward Display got up in the 8th, had money on for the win
Golden Spur for the place in a photo for third - odds were $5.50!

anyone else have some luck?

Morpheus

well done shire shark.

I managed to have a good load on the wallabies with the 10.5 start at $1.85, I did not need the start but never knock a winning bet.

I then doubled it all into italy to win their soccer match V romania and the first scoring play to be a jonny wilkonson field goal. Both came good and the odds were sensational. the field goal alone was paying 18/1

Last weekend the multi was simply all the favorites in the 1/4 finals of the rugby straigh out head to head, but with wales with the start of 30.5, I had them all going into the kangaroos head to head to win.

wow $18 for the wilkinson field goal, brilliant!

i was going to back the wallabies and the kangaroos in a multi but chickened out, disappointed now!

Morpheus

Do you bet on the UK soccer Leagues Shire Shark ?

I find there is some superb value at present, and the trend against draws this season has made it a bit easier, take the draw out of the equation and back your winner and the odds are always very healthy either way.

cheese

Nice wins ya lucky bastages..

I lost a few of hunj on friday arvo to some cheap ho that goes by the name of cleo......... Im in semi-retirement for the time being.

Might slap a couple of bucks on wilko's left/right boot this weekend though.

on morpheus's advice i've been checking out the english premier league and there's some good odds on sportodds.com

i'm looking to construct a multi
i've just laid the last $20 in my account on the wallabies to win and i'll be backing them more in the run up to the kick off

anyway Arsenal are at good value to beat Birmingham away at $1.77

Bolton should beat Leeds at Elland Rd considering the turmoil Leeds is in, that's a nice little earner at a whopping 2.90 or 1.60 with the .5 start

if i had to tip boro or liverpool at boro i'd tip boro - liverpool still havent found their footing and are too erratic, dont know if i could bet against harry kewell though but boro at 2.80 not bad for home odds

and chelsea should be southampton away, 1.73 on offer there

anyone got any hot tips on the races or sport this weekend?

Morpheus

I generally do my weekend form on friday evening Shire Shark and will be sure to give you anything that I come up with, naturally of course you need to take most tips with a grain of salt, If I was a genius tipster I would have retired 20 years ago !

Foz

I think Novocastrian is still a maiden Jimbo. (if its the horse I'm thinking of). Gets around Newcastle,Hawkesbury-may of run at Wyong once or twice as well. Might have run in Canberra last weekend but not sure what the run was like.
Are you an owner or is this owned by a few Knights players or something?
A horse I think is worth following is Kingicide. One of Bart Cummings. Beadman won on it last week and I think it will back up on Saturday. Havent seen the fields so I cant tip it to you but it looks a horse with potential.

imasharkie

A horse I think is worth following is Kingicide. One of Bart Cummings. Beadman won on it last week and I think it will back up on Saturday. Havent seen the fields so I cant tip it to you but it looks a horse with potential.
[/quote]
I thought it was a good thing on its 1st run so I backed it :D

Morpheus

I have heard of it Jimbo, I just did a check though on my racing sites and find that it is a maiden with 20 starts, It did run at Canberra on Sunday and it was a good rating run on racenet ratings, ran 4th over a mile.

It's early form was with Neville McBurney in Wyong you are 100% right Foz, I think it needs more ground than the mile however I note it has been entered in a nowra Mile on Monday, let's have a look at it, there is a horse I backed last weekend in the same race on monday, called Leamington road with Bede Murray, on that field at nowra it is a class above, only query is he has been up a bit and is dropping back from two 2000 races where he went really good, to a mile, back big drop in class but also distance, some rain would do his and Novocastrians chances the world of good. Also an interesting runner in that same race is Northwood, a rogerson thing that has reasonable city form and should be right in that race on class.

I'd probably line em up something like this

1. Leamington road
2. Northwood
3. Novocastrian
4. Waitara

but that's only after a 20 minute form loook, if my view changes before that race ( race 2) on monday at Nowra I shall add my opinion.

Do you own that horse or have a share Jimbo ?

On another note, does anyone known the waterhouse thing called GERONIMO ?

It was purchased for over $1million as a yearling, son of the great Danehill. He has had about 6 starts for Gai, won in a canter at randwick last prep, then had two poor runs before failing last weekend at rosehill ( I had my money on the blasted beast ! )

I read today that they have retired him from racing, Obviously as they don"t wish to Geld him as he is a valuable asset with Danehills blood in him, but to continue racing him with poor form may reduce his Sire Fee, costly excercise considering the most he could ask for at Stud is $20,000 I'd reckon ! need alot of mares going to you to get your million back !

Foz

Gee Kingside has come up a clear winner on my ratings but wont be worth backing-particularly if Our Jin Mah is scratched.(it rates second).
A bit of a trap race as there is no established leader. Something may try to lead all the way against their normal pattern of racing. Mufti maybe?
I'll sit and watch that race I think, but believe Kingside will win.
Who's the dam of Geronimo Morpheus? I checked out that racenet you mentioned and it only rated .5 last start. Did it bleed?
I remember the horse and have a feeling the dam was a top liner. Cant find who it was. A Slight Chance or something of similar class. You dont know do you?
Found it. Dam was Red Express-won the Coolmore Classic or whatever it was called in those days.A Group one. She was the dam of Dane Ripper I think. Too valuable to risk.

Morpheus

IT ran 30 lengths off em mate, did not get a bleeding nom from the stewards but something obviously well ammiss.

But you saw the breed, wouldn't you like a share in something of that blue blood ? magnificent !

I agree with the race you mentioned, I am a Mufti fan and will have a few each way on it, always well prepared, but for a serious punt you really must leave the race alone.

Foz

I'm absolutely filthy Morpheus. I didnt have a bet at Randwick until race 7 because of the wet track and so many runners not proven in it. As a result I missed out on backing Chester County.
Backed a few winners in Adelaide though (Clare is a champion) and jagged the quinella in the last which paid $100.
Got the O'shea quinella in Sydney-paid $69 but only had a dollar on it.
Got the Adelaide Xtra Double as well. Sounds like a big day but only finished a touch in front.
Can Wide Awake find another way to get beat?

Shocking weekend for me

Had a bit on Kingside to win and none on the place
Was sure that Zazzman would get up at Caulfield but I was stuck at a family do and couldnt get to the TAB, it paid about $4.40

Then me and a mate lost a STACK of money on the Wallabies
Had a fair bit on the win and a fair bit to win by 1-12.

I went away, coupled with the accommodation and food and grog costs, the punting created an expensive weekend. I had a shockerrrr