Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks v Roosters... Refereeing won Cronulla that game

newman

The roosters were out coached here and I reckon a lot of other teams will take notice. The whole "lets give penalties away on our line so that we can get a breather and reset our systems" is a big reason for their superb defensive record. By knocking over penalty goals at every opportunity, coupled with a decent lead, the tactic backfired and I reckon we might see a lot more penalty goals in the next few weeks and then this issue will go away.

geniuss actually believe we give penalties away on purpose :lol: you can't make this shit up. It's unbelievable how stupid a lot of rugby league fans are. Pure embarrassment.

So are we saying the Sharks deliberately gave away penalties on their line as well?

From a Sharks perspective, dumb penalties trying to slow down the play the ball are nothing new, but deliberate attempt to make the pink merkins blow the whistle?

Pure fantasy. Same goes for the chooks. Maybe dumb or pushing the limits, but no way deliberate

morley101

Sin binning players for repeated infingements would help...

Sonny Bill was penalised 4 times for various infringements.
Gallen was penalised 6 times for holding players down.

newman

So are we saying the Sharks deliberately gave away penalties on their line as well?

From a Sharks perspective, dumb penalties trying to slow down the play the ball are nothing new, but deliberate attempt to make the pink merkins blow the whistle?

Pure fantasy. Same goes for the chooks. Maybe dumb or pushing the limits, but no way deliberate

Absolutely they are. Watch the game again. The coaches are trying to exploit the refs reluctance to use the sin bin. It was even worse in the Sharks v Dragons game last week when the Dragons tried to run out the clock with penalties in the first half.

Don't be so naïve.

Meapro Ham

Sin binning players for repeated infingements would help...

Sonny Bill was penalised 4 times for various infringements.
Gallen was penalised 6 times for holding players down.

Totally agree with this. Teams are definitely pushing the boundaries in defence, almost daring the refs to give a penalty. Both Roosters & Sharks are two of the worst offenders. Would like to see them start to use the bin over the next couple of weeks and rein it in before the finals.

The Dodger

The roosters were out coached here and I reckon a lot of other teams will take notice. The whole "lets give penalties away on our line so that we can get a breather and reset our systems" is a big reason for their superb defensive record. By knocking over penalty goals at every opportunity, coupled with a decent lead, the tactic backfired and I reckon we might see a lot more penalty goals in the next few weeks and then this issue will go away.

I actually think we used the same trick which worked well for us (although I don't agree with it), it obviously didn't work for the roosters as they were behind, normally they are in front when they do this and majority of the time, teams have no other choice but to try for 6 points to stay close in the game.

The Dodger

Totally agree with this. Teams are definitely pushing the boundaries in defence, almost daring the refs to give a penalty. Both Roosters & Sharks are two of the worst offenders. Would like to see them start to use the bin over the next couple of weeks and rein it in before the finals.

how did you come up with that when the sharks are the least penalised side???

But agree, Bennett mentioned it in his last post match, said the refs are too soft and will not bin players for it, so teams are starting to use it to their advantage.

Meapro Ham

how did you come up with that when the sharks are the least penalised side???

But agree, Bennett mentioned it in his last post match, said the refs are too soft and will not bin players for it, so teams are starting to use it to their advantage.

The Sharks were doing it heavily on Monday no doubt. Tbh I don't watch em every week so I coulda been wrong to imply they been doing it all year. But no doubt they'll be trying it again after the success they had with it on Monday.

All teams will hold a bloke down and give away a penalty if they see they are out numbered.

Gives the line time to reset.

It is like half you blokes have never actually had a real game of footy.

Now I don't think I have posted this but....

To the Roosters sooks in here

Lick the unwiped anus of defeat.

Sharks won .
26 nil at halftime is the roosters fault .
Only a f**king idiot could dare claim it was the refs fault.

All teams will hold a bloke down and give away a penalty if they see they are out numbered.

Sharks won .

:lol::lol::lol:

newman

Sharks won .

Half? Half?! 99 percent of the dribblers on here have never laced on a boot.

The Dodger

Sharks won .
LOL
Im just saying they are using it a lot more this season as they have discovered the refs are too soft and will not send anyone for it.

Ive noticed some teams get penalised three even four times in a row before the ref pulls the captain out to give them a "warning".