Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sheens Rumours

For the record that is BS the "wanted 5 got 3" ...Bennett came to "do a job". Doust discussed this at length at the forum...5 years was never mentioned w Bennett, its an untruth.

Yes people keep trumpeting that 5 year contract rubbish, when it's been refuted over and over. Can we please move on from it.

No: Jason Taylor,
No: Jason Taylor.

Do we all have such short memories?

FFS people! NO JASON TAYLOR!

I honestly don't think I can take three or four more years in the wilderness, (not to mention the damage, the bad press, and the mocking from smug, cheating Storm fans who wouldn't know sportsmanship if it bit them on the arse).

Say it with me everyone... "NO JASON TAYLOR!"

Steelman

No: Jason Taylor.

Do we all have such short memories?

FFS people! NO JASON TAYLOR!

I honestly don't think I can take three or four more years in the wilderness, (not to mention the damage, the bad press, and the mocking from smug, cheating Storm fans who wouldn't know sportsmanship if it bit them on the arse).

Say it with me everyone... "NO JASON TAYLOR!"

Jason Taylor would be a good option in my books has a wealth of footy knowledge smart tactician well respected and articulate. .. Has been around the traps learnt his trade from some great coaches. But unless there is a dramatic change of heart from the dragons he is no chance. Tim Sheens will b the next dragons coach the gig is his if he wants it....

Twenty10

Jason Taylor would be a good option in my books has a wealth of footy knowledge smart tactician well respected and articulate. .. Has been around the traps learnt his trade from some great coaches. But unless there is a dramatic change of heart from the dragons he is no chance. Tim Sheens will b the next dragons coach the gig is his if he wants it....

Steel man what makes you so sure

stgill2001

We need to remember 1. Jt was a very good halfback 2. he is a good goal kicker IM warming.to that he has been there before so...sign him up and whatever we do get rid of price!!!

Steelman

Sheens was offered the position after Belleyache knocked it back word is he's interested in coaching the dragons when
Prices contract expires. There r board members pushing for Sheens asap as they are not really Price believers but it will probably be 2015. Unless some on the board get there way .

RednWhite

Doust will save money by not paying out Price's contract. We all know that, basically, Doust is stingy. If Doust sacked Price it would be admitting that Doust himself made another big mistake, like signing Bennett for 3 years instead of 5.

Actually Doust extended the Egg's contract before sacking him a few months later so there is precedent.

Outlaw Pete

Given the teams appalling results since Price's contract was extended together with the availability of Henry and Sheens surely Price will go. I know we don't have a half. But some of the team selections were bad . Stanley at 5/8. What didn't he give Drinkwater and Harry a go ?
Hope the Board are pro active and ring the change.

Joey_dragons

Price has dug his own grave with the team selections and game plan.
Fein,Stanley,hunt,ah mau are continuously used for some reason when there were players like
Drinkwater, seijka who never got a chance and only started to use quinlan and runicman when it was to late and never really gave Matthews a chance.

Minh

Price's biggest mistakes of season 2013 IMO only:

*Choosing Rein ahead of King, it should be the other way around.

*Should have locked Prior in at prop instead of Dan Hunt who is too ineffective as a main prop.

*Should have used guys like Vai Vai in the centres it was the perfect time or even Runciman earlier

*Should have put Seijka straight into the halfback role no hesitation now he's injured and we will never know how good he is.

*Perservering with Chase Stanley two or three weeks too long at 5/8.

*Should have in communication with the Cutters much earlier to get guys like Vidot to have a run at second row or centre. Should have had Quinlan playing in the halves in the Cutters much earlier.

*Should have used the younger players sparingly in First Grade much earlier.

Price is the Mr too late to react kind of coach and that is where he fails, it's always the same old same old, she'll be right attitude. I never like to death ride anybody and I respect Price as a person, but as a footy coach I think he is too slow in all facets. I had wished he would succeed but I have my doubts that he can come good. I could be wrong but this is just my opinion.

mickeylane

Difference between Price and NRL top coaches......

Mcguire loses one game v Dragons and makes 4 changes to his side the following week to show his disapproval and send a message right across the the squad that mediocrity wont be tolerated...the result?

They smash GC away from home!!..
Thats coaching...

Price's biggest mistakes of season 2013 IMO only:

*Choosing Rein ahead of King, it should be the other way around.

*Should have locked Prior in at prop instead of Dan Hunt who is too ineffective as a main prop.

*Should have used guys like Vai Vai in the centres it was the perfect time or even Runciman earlier

*Should have put Seijka straight into the halfback role no hesitation now he's injured and we will never know how good he is.

*Perservering with Chase Stanley two or three weeks too long at 5/8.

*Should have in communication with the Cutters much earlier to get guys like Vidot to have a run at second row or centre. Should have had Quinlan playing in the halves in the Cutters much earlier.

*Should have used the younger players sparingly in First Grade much earlier.

Price is the Mr too late to react kind of coach and that is where he fails, it's always the same old same old, she'll be right attitude. I never like to death ride anybody and I respect Price as a person, but as a footy coach I think he is too slow in all facets. I had wished he would succeed but I have my doubts that he can come good. I could be wrong but this is just my opinion.

...Agree on every point. Good post.

You could probably add Jamie Soward. i just can't accept he (Steve Price) was determined enough (and probably big enough) to find a better solution to the problem. He just did not value, let alone utilise enough, Soward's kicking game. Now that has fallen almost entirely on Nathan Fein, who unfairly cops the criticism, at a time he should be celebrating nearing the end of his career.

Poor form Steve Price.

Mcguire loses one game v Dragons and makes 4 changes to his side the following week to show his disapproval and send a message right across the the squad that mediocrity wont be tolerated...the result?

Thats coaching...

...and this !

Yes people keep trumpeting that 5 year contract rubbish, when it's been refuted over and over. Can we please move on from it.

Please tell me who refuted it. Did Doust refuted it at the last forum?

I seem to remember Doust defending the 5 yr 3 yr Bennett decision once it became public knowledge. I think the timing was around early 2011 when Doust was trying to extend Bennett's 3 yr deal. This must be on the public record somewhere for all to see. Maybe someone on here can help with this - I don't have the time to research this right now.

Doust is so good with spin he could very easily slip right into the world of Australian politics.

Could you please tell us:
Who refuted the claim that Bennett wanted a five year deal and Doust would only give him a 3 year deal?
What was the wording of the question asked on this matter?
Who asked the question?
What was the wording of the answer?

Country Dragon

I seem to remember Doust defending the 5 yr 3 yr Bennett decision once it became public knowledge. I think the timing was around early 2011 when Doust was trying to extend Bennett's 3 yr deal. This must be on the public record somewhere for all to see. Maybe someone on here can help with this - I don't have the time to research this right now.

Doust is so good with spin he could very easily slip right into the world of Australian politics.

Who refuted the claim that Bennett wanted a five year deal and Doust would only give him a 3 year deal?
Who asked the question?

Just get over it, he's gone now. We should be looking for our future coach!

Steelman

Thats coaching...

Mickey with respect mate there r vast differences between the south's squad and the dragons squad.

South's much better cattle much better depth. ...

Minh

...Agree on every point. Good post.

You could probably add Jamie Soward. i just can't accept he (Steve Price) was determined enough (and probably big enough) to find a better solution to the problem. He just did not value, let alone utilise enough, Soward's kicking game. Now that has fallen almost entirely on Nathan Fein, who unfairly cops the criticism, at a time he should be celebrating nearing the end of his career.

Poor form Steve Price.

Agree with you on Nathan Fien and Soward. Fien just has too much responsibilities put on his shoulders and add to that he is not a natural halfback and the only thing that makes up for this is that he is the ultimate competitor. Nobody can fault his attitude or tenacity he is a warrior. The Soward situation was just one big sad story seemingly stemming back to some bad blood in the early days of Price as assistant coach, bad man management of the team's most pivotal player at the time.

Who asked the question?

This is pretty much it, but we need to move on from it Possm....

http://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/634818/peter-doust-defends-wayne-bennett-contract-decision/