Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should Daniel Anderson be our coach in 2011?

Re-signing DA for 2012 onwards is a different question to whether he should be punted before 2011. Hopefully those members of the Board rumoured to be thinking of axing DA are reading the % results of this poll...

Is it at all possible Bart that you can post an opinion without mentioning the Board? :lol::lol::lol::lol:

Haynzy

I hate the practice of coaches being punted mid season.

It gives them little to coach for and the players will be less likely to be swayed by anything the coach says.

Make the decision at season's end.

eel4life

there is no point in punting a coach mid season, if they are going to axe him do it now, and get in a replacement ready for the pre season ...

if they are not going to axe him, then give him the whole season .. but if we have another crap start to the year then you know what is going to happen ...

what do you all like about anderson? what do you all perceive has his strengths as a coach?

born an eel

makes it a long season if you have to play your grand final at easter. It is not good for the teams season for DA to have to flog them in the off season to hit the ground running to keep his job.
Sides who fly out of the blocks inevitably are jaded and spent by the end of the regular season.
As last year proves you are better to make your timing at the end of the season and hit the final series with confidence.

i don't think he'd be punted mid season

they'd just tell him his services would not be required in 2012

same as what happened to Smith. you can't wait till the end of the season to go hunting for a new coach

Swiftstylez

I like this version

LOL

hawkingscoolstorybro.jpg

Gazzamatta

there is no point in punting a coach mid season, if they are going to axe him do it now, and get in a replacement ready for the pre season ...

if they are not going to axe him, then give him the whole season .. but if we have another crap start to the year then you know what is going to happen ...

what do you all like about anderson? what do you all perceive has his strengths as a coach?

About the only thing that has been positive about Mr Anderson were those 9 weeks at the end of 2009 and the finals effort that year albeit to come up one game short with the wrong tactics in the GF.
We love the way he managed to coordinate the demise of Saints in 2009 and how he got the team up against Melbourne this year.
In all honest and I suppose its just my opinion, apart from those times Ive mentioned, the team has been an absolute rabble.
I was concerned early in 2009 when he was seen screaming at players in the dressing sheds even allowing for the obvious poor form of some at that time.
Is Mr Andreson a motivator of men?
I know the players say they are behind Mr Andreson but could it just be a matter of :better the devil you know?"

oldmancraigy

About the only thing that has been positive about Mr Anderson were those 9 weeks at the end of 2009 and the finals effort that year albeit to come up one game short with the wrong tactics in the GF.
We love the way he managed to coordinate the demise of Saints in 2009 and how he got the team up against Melbourne this year.
In all honest and I suppose its just my opinion, apart from those times Ive mentioned, the team has been an absolute rabble.
I was concerned early in 2009 when he was seen screaming at players in the dressing sheds even allowing for the obvious poor form of some at that time.
Is Mr Andreson a motivator of men?
I know the players say they are behind Mr Andreson but could it just be a matter of :better the devil you know?"

Yes - you're obviously spot on here :crazy:

Mr Anderson is a wildly succesful football coach. If there is one thing he knows how to do it is win.

That's just what he does.

Now to blame him for a poor season is ridiculous - he inherited a rabble, somehow got them to the GF, and is working on turning the rabble in to the team he wants. One thing that is PLAINLY obvious to all but the most uneducated footy fan is that Parramatta simply do not have a halfback.
To blame the current coach for that is beyond absurd?
Did he sack Maloney and Hodkinson?

So look at what the team has produced under Anderson:
2009 we were the 5th best defensive team in the comp
2010 we were the 4th best

But because we didn't have a halfback we couldn't score points.

The EFFORT from the players is clearly there - that shows in the defensive efforts. But our inability to score points does not necessarily mean a lack of a game plan, it more reflects lack of ability to implement said plan on a consistent basis.
And of course, this always comes back to the halfback position.

If Anderson were inept, he would not care. But he does care, and we've been linked to anything that breathes and could play halfback at a decent level of NRL football. I'm really hoping we end up with something, but worst case is that we've brought in the best NYC halfback to have a dig for us next year.

The fact that this thread even exists is ridiculous.

hasman

Yes - you're obviously spot on here :crazy:

Mr Anderson is a wildly succesful football coach. If there is one thing he knows how to do it is win.

That's just what he does.

Now to blame him for a poor season is ridiculous - he inherited a rabble, somehow got them to the GF, and is working on turning the rabble in to the team he wants. One thing that is PLAINLY obvious to all but the most uneducated footy fan is that Parramatta simply do not have a halfback.
To blame the current coach for that is beyond absurd?
Did he sack Maloney and Hodkinson?

So look at what the team has produced under Anderson:
2009 we were the 5th best defensive team in the comp
2010 we were the 4th best

But because we didn't have a halfback we couldn't score points.

The EFFORT from the players is clearly there - that shows in the defensive efforts. But our inability to score points does not necessarily mean a lack of a game plan, it more reflects lack of ability to implement said plan on a consistent basis.
And of course, this always comes back to the halfback position.

If Anderson were inept, he would not care. But he does care, and we've been linked to anything that breathes and could play halfback at a decent level of NRL football. I'm really hoping we end up with something, but worst case is that we've brought in the best NYC halfback to have a dig for us next year.

The fact that this thread even exists is ridiculous.

Mr Anderson Signed Robbo and Let Kinga go. He Sacked Finch. He also Told Mateo, Inu and KK Not Part Of Plans. He Had a Chance to Sign Carney and Send No We don't Want him.

SDM

Mr Anderson Signed Robbo and Let Kinga go. He Sacked Finch. He also Told Mateo, Inu and KK Not Part Of Plans. He Had a Chance to Sign Carney and Send No We don't Want him.

You just let your credibility go. Shutup.

boxhead

Firstly, Ando signed Robson because Robbo is an invaluable utility player for his asking price, and at halfback he helped lead our team to a grand final.

Secondly, Anderson DID NOT LET KINGSTON GO! HOW MANY TIMES DO WE HAVE TO SAY THIS!!!! The NRL said we couldn't keep him, even though ANDERSON WANTED TO KEEP HIM!!! Don't make up bullsh*t.

Thirdly, he sacked Finch because Finch wasn't playing well at all and Ando wanted different players in the team-i.e. to get the team HE WANTS.

Fourthly, *if* he told those three to look elsewhere, it is because they were the type of players he didn't want, but also because WE WEREN'T WILLING TO PAY CRAP LOADS FOR THREE UNDER-PERFORMING PLAYERS. Who the hell would pay $400K a year for Mateo? The Warriors, that's who. That tells you something right there.

And fifth, who would have known Carney would do so well? No-one knew. Not even the Roosters knew. They were hoping, certainly, but no one would have been able to predict his return to the NRL would be so successful. You can't blame a coach for not wanting said player, and you can't say crap about it either because hindsight is a bitch.

Can you prove some of your accusations against a coach before you type out your posts?

SDM

:lol:I didn't even get to that part. Rubbish. The Chooks had him on promise well before he was re-registered.

boxhead

:lol:I didn't even get to that part. Rubbish. The Chooks had him on promise well before he was re-registered.

I thought that too, actually. It's why when I keep hearing all these club supporters saying "oh but why didn't we try to sign him" I just :roll:

Djay

Therefore you want him sacked? Your smart. :crazy:

Even if we did sign Carney who's to say he would have been as successful as he is at the Roosters, you just don't know. Stop making stupid comments.

mrpwnd

Mr Anderson Signed Robbo and Let Kinga go.

Cap issues.
He Sacked Finch.

Finch just isn't good, okay, he's better than what we have atm, but at the time, who was to say? Seemed like a pretty good call for me at the time.

He also Told Mateo, Inu and KK Not Part Of Plans.

Sucks to see Mateo go, but there really is no alternative, he's lazy and refuses to play to his potential. I'm certainly not complaining over Inu, by far our least motivated player through the entire season and KK has been crap as well, why should Ando be put in a negative light because he's trying to clean house?