Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Show us on TV or show us the money: Raiders

Roosters 5?

You sure? :?

Oh and Raider, my point wasn't based on what you've replied with about FTA exposure = $$$, more the argument that it totally prohibits it. I'm not stupid, despite appearance.

I take a look at your playing kit right now and I can see The Tradies/CFMEU, Local Liquor and Canberra Milk adorned all over it. All your jersey spots are filled, while the Roosters and Sharks (admittedly bottom feeders) are both still looking for someone to stick on the front. I see a list of sponsors on your clubs website that matches most in RL circles. What I'm saying is that the claims made that sponsors are hard to come by seem at odds with the fact you've got all the spots filled on your jersey.

While I can't make any claims about the amount of $$$ those sponsors bring to your club (hence your argument), I can see that in number, your sponsorship is on par with most other clubs - that's the point I was trying to convey.

Double checked, FTA counter is right.

Timmah said:
Final FTA Counter for 2009:

18 = Broncos (15 Fri, 3 Sun)
15 = Dragons (11 Fri, 4 Sun)
14 = Eels (9 Fri, 5 Sun)
13 = Bulldogs (8 Fri, 5 Sun)
11 = Tigers (6 Fri, 5 Sun)
10 = Sea Eagles (2 Fri, 8 Sun) and Panthers (7 Fri, 3 Sun)
9 = Cowboys (7 Fri, 2 Sun) and Rabbitohs (6 Fri, 3 Sun)
8 = Titans (7 Fri, 1 Sun) and Knights (2 Fri, 6 Sun)
7 = Storm (6 Fri, 1 Sun)
5 = Warriors (2 Fri, 3 Sun) and Roosters (4 Fri, 1 Sun)
2 = Raiders (1 Fri, 1 Sun) and Sharks (1 Fri, 1 Sun)

And the final MNF counter for 2009 - including R26's Sunday Night Football:

6 = Raiders (2H 4A)
5 = Knights (2H 3A) and Storm (1H 4A)
4 = Rabbitohs (2H 2A) and Tigers (3H 1A)
3 = Bulldogs (2H 1A), Eels (2H 1A), Sharks (2H 1A), Roosters (1H 2A), Sea Eagles (2H 1A), Broncos (2H 1A) and Titans (2H 1A)
2 = Cowboys (1H 1A), Panthers (1H 1A)
1 = Dragons (1A)
0 = Warriors

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=5943042&postcount=61

Alex28

Become a better, more consistent team and FTA will have no choice but to show your games. I don't see why the NRL should compensate the Raiders for lack of FTA exposure because you guys are so damn inconsistent...

Knightmare

The Raiders are not a Sydney club, i.e. they don't have a supporter base that had been built over at least 40 years of existence to draw from, even when the team is going poorly. Nearly every expansion team suffers from a lack of FTA exposure when they are playijg mediocre football. How many times did the Warriors and the Cowboys feature on Ch9 between 1995 and 2002?

Conversley, I remember watching a video review of the 1990 Winfield Cup season, back in the days before PayTV when only 3 or 4 games were televised a weekend. Every second game featured Canberra, Penrith or Brisbane. From memory, Norths, Wests and Illawarra only featured once on the entire video!

When the Raiders are once again a good team who can win outside the A.C.T, Ch9 will show more interest.

Big Pete

I absolutely agree with the Raiders fans on this. They deserve far more than two FTA games and more should be done to promote their side. I believe a lot of you detractors in this thread should step out of the haze of 2004/2005 (or wherever you are) and acknowledge that Canberra are actually one of the more promising sides coming through.

Yes they've been guilty in the past of creaming their pants over non-talents like Bronx Goodwin and Willie Ratson but I believe the likes of Josh Dugan, Joel Thompson, Bronson Harrison, Daniel Vidot and Tom Learoyd Lahrs will usher in a new era for the men in green and will bring about the excitement that's been lacking for the better part of fifteen years.

While we're on the subject though, allow me to educate you lot on a few things.

The reason why the Broncos numbers are so high is because of Channel 9 demanding there to be a QLD oriented match every Friday night. With the Cowboys reluctant to change their shedule for home games (given the culture up North) and the Titans infancy the Broncos were always going to get more FTA games. I will concede that 18 was far too much and honestly as a fan I found it a hassle to attend their Friday night fixtures (would've given anything for a Sunday game).

Looking at those stats also stimulated another topic from my mind. Why the f**k do Penrith get 10 FTA games? Honestly, I hate watching that side go round and given Elliot's influence they're far from entertaining. I mean the only reason I can figure is the Jennings factor but even then...

Also Melbourne deserve more FTA matches.

user_nat

That is a disgracful difference between the top and bottom.

Canberra have every reason to raise the issue after seeing those figures
no wonder the broncos where named most popular sporting team in aus

I think the reason they keep getting games is because they are the most popular, not the other way around.

OVP

First paragraph i agree with

But the second, are you f**king geniused?

You dont think the fact the club cant get its sponsors on FTA network is impacting its bottem line? You dont think its major, sleave, short sponsors, or its major signage sponsors around Canberra Stadium might be paying less due to the fact they dont get access to a massive network of potential customers?
You dont think the Bronco's who are on every week get more for their sponsorship deals than we do due to the fact they get so much coverage?
You dont think 3rd party sponsors to help attract players is easier to come by for a high profile club that's on a time winning FTA TV slot every month in a big city like Sydney or Melbourne or Brisbane, than it is for a club with no coverage, and no big business?
You dont think the fact we're not on TV impacts our fan base and its numbers, thus impacting directly the gate takings and merchandise takings year to year? Let alone season memberships etc.
You dont think these aspects of business, particularly regarding crowd figures impacts on the deal we strike with Canberra Stadium and other deals that hinge on interest and crowd figures?
You dont think all these factors combined could equate to a number thats significant for a club like Canberra.
I'd argue the lack of coverage is potentially costing us over 500k a year, maybe MORE, in total collectively. And thats not an impact

Are you serious?
Are you seriously asking weather the lack of FTA is impacting our bottom line?
I know your thick, but surely you arent that thick... are you?

Good greif :lol:
I get people not agreeing with the stance of asking for compensation and i get people argueing why we shouldnt get FTA coverage, but to actually run with a line questioning weather the lack of FTA coverage for our club impacts our bottom line? I just shake my head at the stupidity of it

Almost Super Ownage. Well said R69 :clap:

smithie

I think the main issue is that there should be an extra game on Free-to-air. I would love to see a Sunday night game or Monday Night Football on OneHD. It would be a huge ratings grab for OneHD and would push more people to switch to digital.

TheRam

FTR we do rate, check the foxtel ratings, our games are on par if not above most others.
If they want to give the time slots to teams that rate fine, but compensate the little guys you're screwing over. And that should be the same for all clubs. Be it Canberra, Warriors, Penrith or St George, Brisbane or Parramatta.

For all the plunkers who think that teams should be compensated if fta doesn't want to show them...you're dreamin.

What a ridiculous notion. It would be like MAC wanting compo from the retailer who sells DELL or Pepsi wanting compo for being less popular then Coke.

Market forces people, market forces. #-o

TheRam

Please no more Brisbane and Parramatta on FTA every bloody week.

I agree. I hate watching my team The Great Parramatta Eels on FTA. Foxtel is much better to watch with no adds and generally better commentary. Except for that Daley character...he is the worst.

Canard

Market forces people, market forces. #-o

I don't think that analogy is correct.

This is more of a chicken and egg situation. Without the exposure you don't get the casual fan interested.

I firmly believe that Manchester United happened to be succesful at the same time that lots of money and TV exposure (through Sky Television) came into the game, and have fed of it ever since.

The Cowboys no. of Free to air games this season is only based on Geography (with QLD teams Fri night preference) if we were the same team with the same results playing out of Canberra, we would be lower than even the Raiders appearances.

While I can't make any claims about the amount of $$$ those sponsors bring to your club (hence your argument), I can see that in number, your sponsorship is on par with most other clubs - that's the point I was trying to convey.

And you dont think the raiders might be able to get more out of thoses sponsors if we were getting national FTA coverage for their brand? Or better yet, perhaps even interest bigger and better known products who can part with more $$ if we got decent coverage?
And that doesnt impact our bottom line?

Please. Stop embarrassing yourself

I don't think that analogy is correct.

This is more of a chicken and egg situation. Without the exposure you don't get the casual fan interested.

I firmly believe that Manchester United happened to be succesful at the same time that lots of money and TV exposure (through Sky Television) came into the game, and have fed of it ever since.

The Cowboys no. of Free to air games this season is only based on Geography (with QLD teams Fri night preference) if we were the same team with the same results playing out of Canberra, we would be lower than even the Raiders appearances.

The minimum is 2 , thats all we get, no team can have less.

There is something like 6 teams out of 16 that get shown every week. Thats 156 times across 26 round , Canberra gets only 2 showings out of the 156

Canard

The minimum is 2 , thats all we get, no team can have less.

There is something like 6 teams out of 16 that get shown every week. Thats 156 times across 26 round , Canberra gets only 2 showings out of the 156

That sux pretty hard, I know how it feels from 95 to 2004 we got a TOTAL of 1 game shown on Free to air!

And in the pre-Viewer Choice days, even on Foxtel/Austar if you were a Cowboys fan you had to wait til 9.30pm on a Saturday to watch a delayed coverage of there game.

So for for 10 seasons as a Cowboys fan if they played on a Saturday night and you weren't at the game, it was IMPOSSIBLE to watch them play live.

That sux pretty hard, I know how it feels from 95 to 2004 we got a TOTAL of 1 game shown on Free to air!

And in the pre-Viewer Choice days, even on Foxtel/Austar if you were a Cowboys fan you had to wait til 9.30pm on a Saturday to watch a delayed coverage of there game.

So for for 10 seasons as a Cowboys fan if they played on a Saturday night and you weren't at the game, it was IMPOSSIBLE to watch them play live.

Dont get me wrong, we definately are'nt the only ones who have been or are getting snubbed by CH9. The day they lose the coverage I'll be one happy man

Goddo

Raiders fans are right. You can't have a salary cap, split tv revenue evenly only to shaft teams in other ways, such as exposure and brand building.

Hopefully in 2013 with a fixed schedule we will see games, tv revenue et cetera all divided up evenly amoung the clubs. Clubs like Brisbane and Melbourne find ways around the rules, and some clubs (Bulldogs and Warriors spring to mind for some reason) have just ignored the rules.

Not fair for the smaller clubs. I thought the NRL didn't want bias in the comp, but we have it. I know my club is one of the teams that get heaps of TV time. I would gladly see less Dragons on free to air if it ment fairer exposure.

Hanscholo

What a rediculous idea. You get every single game shown on live television. As far as the commercial side of it is concerned you will get shown if you rate well. Why should a station reduce their ratings for the sake of one sides commercial interest over their own? Isnt that why the station buys the rights in the first place?

I'd suggest you go away and work out how to put a competative side on the field for the first time in over 10 years instead of crying about your situation.

Green Machine

When you think of ratings, wasn’t a wonderful job those Knights morons from Cessnock and Kurri Kurri did for the Footy Show. Talking of competitive sides, how many Channel 9 matches did the Knights get the year they won the spoon. How many games did they get on Channel 9 in 2007 and 2008 when they ran 15th and 9th. When you think of major sponsors, where would the Knights be without the intervention of the CFMEU to get them a sponsor. When you think of the salary cap, when other clubs were forced to let their star players go to Union or Super League. All but the Knights pill popping superstar who was thrown all that money from News Ltd and Channel 9 to stay in his living hell fish bowl. They even allowed him to play in Super League one season. When you think of stadiums, the State and Federal Governments throwing 10 of millions of dollars at one particular clubs stadium and which club wouldn’t pay the rent.
The Knights, always good for a laugh,

100%green

What a rediculous idea. You get every single game shown on live television. As far as the commercial side of it is concerned you will get shown if you rate well. Why should a station reduce their ratings for the sake of one sides commercial interest over their own? Isnt that why the station buys the rights in the first place?

I'd suggest you go away and work out how to put a competative side on the field for the first time in over 10 years instead of crying about your situation.

It's not just about our bottom line or ratings etc...

It's also about growing the game nationally. Showing 16 teams on National TV instead of the 6 or 8 we get now will in the long run help the growth of the game as well.