Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sign frizell now!!

Dragonslayer

Gazza...just coped some of the job description which indicated to me if they go outside they need to know how rugby league works and have experience within rugby league. I hope that is the case.

DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILTIIES
The Chief Executive Officer will be expected to manage and oversee the delivery of the following core functional areas of responsibility:
2. Leadership: Provide strong and effective leadership and direction to the St George Illawarra Dragons stakeholder family and the sport of rugby league generally to ensure future growth, development and promotion through well executed commercial, sport and rugby league event-related programs. Build a high trust environment underpinning productivity, energy and collaboration across the organisation as a whole.
6. Financial Stewardship: In conjunction with the Board of Directors, manage St George Illawarra Dragons’ operations in a transparent, efficient and profitable way, creating a commercially sustainable rugby league club irrespective of on-field performance.
9. Winning Culture: Provide the foundation for St George Illawarra Dragons players and teams to perform at the best of their ability. Ensure strategies and practices are in place to provide the optimum performance of the St George Illawarra Dragons players and teams in all competitions from juniors through to NRL level.
10. Grow the Sport: Implement strategies and practices to grow the participant base and provide pathways for players, coaches, officials and administrators of all ages, genders and cultures.
Personal Characteristics :
• Hands-on management style, decision-maker.
• Good team player.
• Clear demonstrative knowledge and commitment to the St George Illawarra Dragons and the game of rugby league.
RELATIONSHIPS:
Reports to: St George Illawarra Dragons Chairman and Board of Directors.
Internal: Executive Management Team and Management Team, Head Coach and Football Program, Commercial and Marketing, Finance and Compliance.
External: NRL, other NRL clubs, St George Leagues Club, the Steelers Club, Illawarra Rugby League, Juniors Leagues and the Country Rugby League, sponsors, suppliers, statutory authorities, customers, members, supporters, media, player managers, venues and stadiums, government and government agencies.

Why does the end of point 6 make me cringe?

Roosters mate texted me tonight saying he’s off there in 2021.. Official announcement this week..

Gazza...just coped some of the job description which indicated to me if they go outside they need to know how rugby league works and have experience within rugby league. I hope that is the case.

The Chief Executive Officer will be expected to manage and oversee the delivery of the following core functional areas of responsibility:
2. Leadership: Provide strong and effective leadership and direction to the St George Illawarra Dragons stakeholder family and the sport of rugby league generally to ensure future growth, development and promotion through well executed commercial, sport and rugby league event-related programs. Build a high trust environment underpinning productivity, energy and collaboration across the organisation as a whole.
6. Financial Stewardship: In conjunction with the Board of Directors, manage St George Illawarra Dragons’ operations in a transparent, efficient and profitable way, creating a commercially sustainable rugby league club irrespective of on-field performance.
9. Winning Culture: Provide the foundation for St George Illawarra Dragons players and teams to perform at the best of their ability. Ensure strategies and practices are in place to provide the optimum performance of the St George Illawarra Dragons players and teams in all competitions from juniors through to NRL level.
10. Grow the Sport: Implement strategies and practices to grow the participant base and provide pathways for players, coaches, officials and administrators of all ages, genders and cultures.
• Good team player.
• Clear demonstrative knowledge and commitment to the St George Illawarra Dragons and the game of rugby league.
RELATIONSHIPS:
Internal: Executive Management Team and Management Team, Head Coach and Football Program, Commercial and Marketing, Finance and Compliance.
External: NRL, other NRL clubs, St George Leagues Club, the Steelers Club, Illawarra Rugby League, Juniors Leagues and the Country Rugby League, sponsors, suppliers, statutory authorities, customers, members, supporters, media, player managers, venues and stadiums, government and government agencies.

BLMO1 , is this an actual job description or are you pulling my leg ?

Mate there are a number of points that indicate to me that whom ever gets the position will not have as much say as ( at least in my opinion ) a CEO should . That individual should have plenty of clout so as to do an effective job , otherwise he is merely there for decorative purposes only .

I do want the Dragon hierarchy to finally do the correct thing for the St.George Illawarra group . I would like a CEO who can fulfill his commitments to the club itself and also do justice to our brand name and the only way that I can see that being done is that if he is given wide ranging powers which will cause changes that would be positive in
all areas of the Dragon culture - both on and off the field.

But with our ‘ old boys ‘ club still calling the shots we can only hope that will happen .

Reactions: jak

BLM01

BLMO1 , is this an actual job description or are you pulling my leg ?

Mate there are a number of points that indicate to me that whom ever gets the position will not have as much say as ( at least in my opinion ) a CEO should . That individual should have plenty of clout so as to do an effective job , otherwise he is merely there for decorative purposes only .

I do want the Dragon hierarchy to finally do the correct thing for the St.George Illawarra group . I would like a CEO who can fulfill his commitments to the club itself and also do justice to our brand name and the only way that I can see that being done is that if he is given wide ranging powers which will cause changes that would be positive in
all areas of the Dragon culture - both on and off the field.

But with our ‘ old boys ‘ club still calling the shots we can only hope that will happen .
Facts....but extracts just to alleviate your concern re an outsider from anywhere
I was just proving that it has to be someone with Rugby League nous....or it should and hopefully be someone with nous
I did not send u the lot as you can tell.... as too long and too much typical corporate job description fluff
I assure you the CEO description in full will give all the responsibility for an experienced person that they need but as always report to the chairman and BOD. That includes engaging with the fans. Haha....let's wait and see
So if C Young gets it as per doomsayers on here we will know it is a rort cause he does not meet most of the JD
I will go to the media with it if that happens..,but it won't

Facts....but extracts just to alleviate your concern re an outsider from anywhere
I was just proving that it has to be someone with Rugby League nous....or it should and hopefully be someone with nous
I did not send u the lot as you can tell.... as too long and too much typical corporate job description fluff
I assure you the CEO description in full will give all the responsibility for an experienced person that they need but as always report to the chairman and BOD. That includes engaging with the fans. Haha....let's wait and see
So if C Young gets it as per doomsayers on here we will know it is a rort cause he does not meet most of the JD
I will go to the media with it if that happens..,but it won't

I now understand BLMO1 , thank you for being so thorough by providing the job description. More importantly as you have mentioned it does show that only an individual who has an abundance of knowledge about the game of rugby league would be the candidate best suited to this position.

Walpole

• Good team player.
RELATIONSHIPS:
The problematic part of this is "Clear demonstrative knowledge and commitment to the St George Illawarra Dragons and the game of rugby league."
How would an applicant have demonstrated knowledge of, and commitment to, the Dragons unless they were an old boy?

LINESPEED

The problematic part of this is "Clear demonstrative knowledge and commitment to the St George Illawarra Dragons and the game of rugby league."
How would an applicant have demonstrated knowledge of, and commitment to, the Dragons unless they were an old boy?

When you’re Craig Young - that’s how.

It’s a stitch up.

You only have to look at the BOD’s form re WIN, BJ & McGoner to recognise a snowjob

Corrupted Process #101

BLM01

You would fall under that criteria as a supporter as long as you don't change colours

Walpole

You would fall under that criteria as a supporter as long as you don't change colours
I would. But I don't like my chances of getting the job.

It's a nice little caveat to rule out any highly qualified sports administrator from another sport (or indeed, another club) who happens to throw their hat in the ring.

BLM01

I would. But I don't like my chances of getting the job.

It's a nice little caveat to rule out any highly qualified sports administrator from another sport (or indeed, another club) who happens to throw their hat in the ring.
You are reading too much into it don't discount other club CEOs or EX CEO'sthey have allegiance to the club they're working for.....that's all they are likely looking for and we want
Not hard to have knowledge abt our club unless you are Peter Beattie

Walpole

You are reading too much into it don't discount other club CEOs or EX CEO'sthey have allegiance to the club they're working for.....that's all they are likely looking for and we want
Not hard to have knowledge abt our club unless you are Peter Beattie
I hope you're right. I hope the Dragons employ a highly qualified sports administrator, with great vision for the future and no connection to the club. We'll see I guess.

TruSaint

84857005_2838542099531658_5888769882190774272_n.jpg

Frank Facer

Lol what a joke of an article. Literally boils down to nothing more than "rival team to discuss potentially tabling an offer for new player"

But you wouldn't expect anything more from James Hooper would you?
Frizell if free to sign with whoever he wants to now. Newcastle may table a very big offer. They are in need of a couple of top notch forwards with experience. Frizell would be one of the most best players on the market right now. There may be quite a lot of competition for his signature.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

Of course other team are interested in Tyson.
But I wouldn't read to much into it just yet.
He will stay is what I believe .

Agree, Samy.

l reckon the only reason Tyson would leave would be issues with McGregor.
If he were to leave, he would want a 'real' coach and a good chance of a premiership, so he would head over to the Rorters............. ie, if he was to leave the Dragons, its boom or bust and nothing in between.

I think Newcastle have buckleys chance of getting him.

denis preston

Agree, Samy.

l reckon the only reason Tyson would leave would be issues with McGregor.
If he were to leave, he would want a 'real' coach and a good chance of a premiership, so he would head over to the Rorters............. ie, if he was to leave the Dragons, its boom or bust and nothing in between.

I think Newcastle have buckleys chance of getting him.
AND if he stays , it that another clue that Mcruincareers time is almost up ?