Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'Simply not good enough': Annesley tells refs to lift their game

Meth

Almost as bad as the Warriors v Panthers game a few weeks beforehand

Yeah, that was bad. Refs incorrectly sent a Panthers player off and then put the whistle away for the rest of the game. Panthers were getting away with murder.

jaseg

There's been some all-time whinging this week but the best has to be 'a flick pass has to go backwards'. It went 2 metres forward as he was getting tackled.

I thought you were a ref? A ref would surely know what backwards out of the hands meant? I'd hope so, anyway..

The way he flicked it, yeah, he might have to have his elbow bent the wrong way for that to be forward out of the hand.

But I guess everything is taken in the strictest literal terms, unless it's you pretending that one person whinging about a conspiracy means anyone complaining about the standard of ref performances is also a conspiracy theorist?

-----

Anyway.. f**k me, the mental gymnastics some people will do...

Yes, it was a horrible performance from the officials. Yes, it's also been the case in a number of Warriors games (5? I doubt there's been a team involved in as many game resulting in apologies this season, in any case), resulting in an official apology... whatever good that does (none). All but one of those mistake ridden games involved the weight of mistakes going against the Warriors (the Panthers game being the obvious exception).

Small sample size + I imagine Warriors games often getting the lesser regarded officials because they're not a 'big' team, high on the ladder or play in prime time TV slots makes up the main cause for this, I'm guessing.

Conspiracy? Hell no. Incompetence? Abso-f**ken-lutely.

Meth

If you don't think the Warriors have a right to be aggrieved by the refereeing on Saturday night, you're either stupid or dishonest.

It's not an allegation of conspiracy (although, of course the media can find some saying that, such as Betham). It's just incompetence. That's where we are and it's not good enough. It's fair enough to demand better. Each team has to deal with the ref's current incompetence on occasion. Each team benefits from it on occasion. Sometime it hurts/benefits a little. Sometimes it hurts/benefits a lot. I am more disillusioned with the refereeing right now than I have been in the past, as we've been on the wrong side of the refs more than we've benefited.

So, to recap-

We don't really give a shit about the pass.

We don't really think it's a conspiracy. We think the refs are incompetent and we're pissed off about Saturday.

I really hope we don't get some sort of square up performance from the refs this week against Canberra. All we want is competence.

Meth

One of the strips was bloody hard to tell if there were two involved or not. Milliseconds after the second tackler let go.

Hence the ridiculousness of changing a rule and making it so difficult to adjudicate.

Meth

You know it is really such a shame that the poor Warriors have been robbed of multiple premierships because of the referees.

Honestly, I haven't heard such incessant whinging since Thurston claiming there was a Sydney conspiracy.

Warriors fans are generally very realistic about how bad we are champ

Springs09

I thought you were a ref? A ref would surely know what backwards out of the hands meant? I'd hope so, anyway..

The way he flicked it, yeah, he might have to have his elbow bent the wrong way for that to be forward out of the hand.

But I guess everything is taken in the strictest literal terms, unless it's you pretending that one person whinging about a conspiracy means anyone complaining about the standard of ref performances is also a conspiracy theorist?

-----

Anyway.. f**k me, the mental gymnastics some people will do...

Yes, it was a horrible performance from the officials. Yes, it's also been the case in a number of Warriors games (5? I doubt there's been a team involved in as many game resulting in apologies this season, in any case), resulting in an official apology... whatever good that does (none). All but one of those mistake ridden games involved the weight of mistakes going against the Warriors (the Panthers game being the obvious exception).

Small sample size + I imagine Warriors games often getting the lesser regarded officials because they're not a 'big' team, high on the ladder or play in prime time TV slots makes up the main cause for this, I'm guessing.

Conspiracy? Hell no. Incompetence? Abso-f**ken-lutely.

Lol, 'mental gymnastics some people will do' while trying to explain how a 2m forward pass is backwards.

I'm also a player and know quite easily how flick passes can go forward. The way he flicked it could quite easily end up with it going forward, which is what happened. And 2 metres forward is generous.

Look at it, his hand is facing the f**king sideline. His forward momentum is also significantly slowed as he is being tackled. He passes it and it goes forward, end of discussion. I mean I know rugby league fans have very little common sense but use your f**king brain.

If the geniuses were right about the way he flicked it meaning it had to go backwards, then the ball would have no chance of floating forward at all. If it is legitimately propelled backwards out of the back of the hand it would go backwards even with momentum, it's not like a regular two handed spiral pass. But he didn't, he passed it perpendicular to the sideline and it went forward. Get over it.

At least refs do get dropped.

I can think of many a player who gets keeping getting picked.

Sometimes the person to replace them still is not as good.

Do we really think we have depth in refs we do in players?

Rogers pass was fine and great footy.

But hey some think Tom Brady would be proud of it.

Imagine Kearney or McGregor spending ten minutes witha video board explain why hey dropped a player.

Sorry bad examples, blokes needs to get injuried or be rookies to be held accountable.

Does a ref with the same pressure to be perfect, be paid the same as a Hunt, Johnson?

Anyways got dropped, hope they stay with it.

Cockadoodledoo

NRL refs are reffing a different sport, but it's not their own making. They are told how to ref in order to produce the best entertainment product possible.
Our own NRL referee development officer told us not to watch what the NRL refs do as they are refereeing to what the NRL tells them in order to produce a better TV entertainment product, not to the rules.

You basically defeated your own argument, not to mention tip sheets which are given to the referee's. Belinda Sharpe admitted before her first NRL game in an interview that they are instructed before the game to focus on certain players. This in itself helps to shape a bias in the referee. They should just referee the game based on what they see.

I remember Brad Fittler when he was coaching the Roosters mentioning he once found the tip sheet on the floor. There were about half a dozen tips and every single one of them was targeting a specific Roosters player, nothing on the opposition. Imagine how that would factor in the referees minds when refereeing the game. Needless to say we got smashed in the penalty count.

The NRL referee's organisation has been horrendously mismanaged in the last decade or so, resulting in a poor talent pool. You had to toe the Tony Archer/Sutton line, otherwise you were out. I have even been told by a mate with good connections, that the Badgers are related to the Suttons. I am not sure how true this is, but the refereeing ranks have been pretty much a closed shop for a long time and allowed to fester as the guys at the top have had little clue what they were doing and more interested in protecting their own nests.

Saxon

I'm an advocate of a slower ruck.

As long as all teams have the same opportunity.
A slower ruck does not equal a ruined game.

Give each team 2, or 3, or "x" amount of seconds from the call of "held" to the act of playing the ball.

Artificially slowing the ruck will eliminate a lot of the wrestling, encourage legs tackles instead of penalising them, encourage coaches to develop positive attacking plays instead of relying on touch footy supersonic ruck speed tactics.

What we are watching right now is a Bill Harrigan /Super League version of RL .
Interesting points.
I certainly agree with the need to reward good legs tackles.
I'm also a huge fan of playing the ball properly. Back when I played (Moses pushed me from Fullback to centre) you had to stand up and then put the ball on the ground. These days it's a complete mess.

I doubt they will get rid of the standing wrestle though. The powers that be (i.e. Johns and Gould et. al.) will argue that players need to be allowed the chance to offload because it's exciting. hence the refs are loathe to call held until the ball is clearly totally wrapped up.

Last Week

Fun fact, only once in the last 6 matches have the Warriors conceded more penalties than their opposition. Yep, it's the refs alright.

f**king little girls.

jaseg

Lol, 'mental gymnastics some people will do' while trying to explain how a 2m forward pass is backwards.

I'm also a player and know quite easily how flick passes can go forward. The way he flicked it could quite easily end up with it going forward, which is what happened. And 2 metres forward is generous.

Look at it, his hand is facing the f**king sideline. His forward momentum is also significantly slowed as he is being tackled. He passes it and it goes forward, end of discussion. I mean I know rugby league fans have very little common sense but use your f**king brain.

If the geniuses were right about the way he flicked it meaning it had to go backwards, then the ball would have no chance of floating forward at all. If it is legitimately propelled backwards out of the back of the hand it would go backwards even with momentum, it's not like a regular two handed spiral pass. But he didn't, he passed it perpendicular to the sideline and it went forward. Get over it.

It was backwards out of the hand. Go look for yourself (I even attached a fun pic), but open the other eye this time. No wonder they say there's nobody better, if this is the standard of officials...

And let's not get caught up in one incident - because it was far from the only screw up they made - the game was full of them. That's why it got so much traction... it's not like the Warriors were ever a chance of playing finals footy regardless of the result.

Oh, and the "If the geniuses were right about the way he flicked it meaning it had to go backwards, then the ball would have no chance of floating forward at all." bit? Learn basic physics, moron.

Done with you. Bye.

Attachments

• aa.jpg
    aa.jpg
    38.4 KB · Views: 9

Last Week

It was backwards out of the hand. Go look for yourself (I even attached a fun pic), but open the other eye this time. No wonder they say there's nobody better, if this is the standard of officials...

And let's not get caught up in one incident - because it was far from the only screw up they made - the game was full of them. That's why it got so much traction... it's not like the Warriors were ever a chance of playing finals footy regardless of the result.

Oh, and the "If the geniuses were right about the way he flicked it meaning it had to go backwards, then the ball would have no chance of floating forward at all." bit? Learn basic physics, moron.

Done with you. Bye.

It's not like the NRL didn't try. The Warriors have won most of the penalty counts the last 7 weeks..

TheDMC

You know it is really such a shame that the poor Warriors have been robbed of multiple premierships because of the referees.

Honestly, I haven't heard such incessant whinging since Thurston claiming there was a Sydney conspiracy.

Definitely some whinging. We all need a good whinge when you get rogered like that.
Good thing is we had dozens of neutrals on the game day thread whinging along with us.
And Annesley agreed the whole debacle was worth the whinge and demoted all the refs from the game.
Throw in a solid core of whinging by the pundits and journos on NRL tv and the major rags, it was definitely an all round whinge fest - far beyond warrior fans.

...except a chunk of Eels supporters on here who for some really f**king bizarre reason feel personally affronted that most people think the warriors were hard done by.

They got the rub of the green with a special ending, but get all angry about it. Knobheads.

TheDMC

There's been some all-time whinging this week but the best has to be 'a flick pass has to go backwards'. It went 2 metres forward as he was getting tackled.

Only cause Flash Roger was going the speed of light. Of course the ball will travel forward after going backward out of the hand, its physics doh.

...Edit but I reckon it was forward.

Edit 2: But NRL refs would let that go nine times out of ten. And 99/100 times for Melbourne, Broncos or Roosters...

Abacus

If you don't think the Warriors have a right to be aggrieved by the refereeing on Saturday night, you're either stupid or dishonest.
Yep, I thinks this covers all Parra fans in this thread - although they could also be stupid and dishonest...