Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

sleeping giant my arse

Bumble

richie8u said:
soccer is like netball or 10 pin bowling, heaps of people play it, but no one will watch it on a regular basis, 1-0 in 2 hours of "football" please....... no wonder people riot

This is the stupidest post ever..

No, of course...NOONE watches it. :roll:

Danish

The Soccor World Cup is watched by more people world wide than any other sporting event....... INCLUDING the Olympics.

So i think its safe to say it is a well supported sport. Give it a few years once A League clubs get some more money under their belts and it will be just as popular (if not more popular) than league. Particularly since the people running their comp are quite clearly more intelligent than the idiots strangling our game.

Garts

disagree that it will be just as popular or even more popular than league in a few years.

not many people have a passion for the A League teams like league supporters do for their own team, this is what gets people to games and tv ratings so high. this type of passion can not be created over a couple of seasons. I can see interest increasing but I cant see it becoming more poplular than league for quite sometime, I would go as far to say it wont happen in my lifetime.

Danish

Carlito said:
Soccer is for sheilas, Mediterranean Descendants and twinkies. End of.

Yes but there are a very large number of Mediterranean Descendants, sheilas and twinkies in australia mate........ ;)

perth sharkie

There are too many idiots in this forum. Perhaps the original thread poster has suffered a few head injuries from playing in his local rugby league.

melon....

Australia will do what Greece did in Europe...They may not win it, but they'll hurt a few of the pretty boy teams. The Aussies dont play flash but play very hard.

Anyone that isnt proud of this Aussie achievement is not an Aussie.

So what if its not your code. Its a code thats truely international, unlike AFL. BE proud for the boys. Maybe all the knockers on this forum are unbathed Poms?

Bumble

melon.... said:
Australia will do what Greece did in Europe...They may not win it, but they'll hurt a few of the pretty boy teams. The Aussies dont play flash but play very hard.

Anyone that isnt proud of this Aussie achievement is not an Aussie.

So what if its not your code. Its a code thats truely international, unlike AFL. BE proud for the boys. Maybe all the knockers on this forum are unbathed Poms?

If we did what Greece did in 2004...that would be the most amazing thing to ever happen to this country.

Misty Bee

The problem in the A league is that they did an AFL. They looked at the map, picked the 8 biggest spots on it, and plonked one team in each. The Sydney team plays out of Moore Park.

Thus, they alienated themselves from Sydney's sporting heartland - the west, southwest and northwest. Union did the same thing, at least they went to Canberra.

Apart from tests at Telstra, when do thse codes include the western most 3/4's of Sydney? They expect to overtake League - whilst ignoring 2-3 million people???

Jobdog

Just out of curiosity, why do so many people feel so threatened by football now we have qualified for the World Cup? I have "league blood" pumping through my veins, but I still think its fantastic that we qualified for the World Cup. I don't see what the problem is, or is it genuine fear that rugby league just might have the gap closed btwn it and football.

wittyfan

winnyason said:
put it into perspective, australia will never take to the diving sooky stuff for free kicks, how about that black striker checking in the gap in his hands if he gets a free kick.
they get a big crowd every four years let's look at it
nrl(rugby league) about 5 to six games a year over 40 thousand.
rugby about 5 to six as well.
afl a lot proably guessing 10 to 15 a year.
soccer once every four years.

it is a fade that will pass. look at the quality of team that qualified they will get walloped. a league crowds down a lot of late.
afl is the one footy code to worry, similar skilled game in a lot of aspects, simlar ethnic background play game, plus the lure of international footy many kids looking to play afl in melbourne, adelaide & perth stick with soccer because of lure of intetnationals, afl are a little worried in my opinion.
as for the rugby codes no such worry, kids have to be specific build to play either rugby codes, both are international sure league not that big but if a kid wants to play more international footy he switches to rugby, they won't go to soccer it has always been seen as fairy game by both rugbies.

afl has similar build to soccer players, watch out afl androtops.:lol:

Oh dear.

What have you been smoking?

The winds of change have sprung up and will be a cyclone in June.

Misty Bee

I'm not worried by football, I have lived and breathed it since Changa had white boots.

I'm not worried by soccer, either. Have all the sucess that you want. But you haven't won the holy graille just yet.

pantherz9103

winnyason said:
put it into perspective, australia will never take to the diving sooky stuff for free kicks, how about that black striker checking in the gap in his hands if he gets a free kick.
they get a big crowd every four years let's look at it
nrl(rugby league) about 5 to six games a year over 40 thousand.
rugby about 5 to six as well.
afl a lot proably guessing 10 to 15 a year.
soccer once every four years.

it is a fade that will pass. look at the quality of team that qualified they will get walloped. a league crowds down a lot of late.
afl is the one footy code to worry, similar skilled game in a lot of aspects, simlar ethnic background play game, plus the lure of international footy many kids looking to play afl in melbourne, adelaide & perth stick with soccer because of lure of intetnationals, afl are a little worried in my opinion.
as for the rugby codes no such worry, kids have to be specific build to play either rugby codes, both are international sure league not that big but if a kid wants to play more international footy he switches to rugby, they won't go to soccer it has always been seen as fairy game by both rugbies.

afl has similar build to soccer players, watch out afl androtops.:lol:

You are an idiot of astranomical proportions :?

As Simon Hill said: Can you smell the fear?

As for our chances at the WC...we will surprise a few. To me the hardest part was always going to be making it.

Boing Boing

Hmmm. This thread sure has its fair share of narrow-minded buffoons. Soccer is for poofs, sheilas and Mediterranean Descendants? Honestly, I don't know if anyone here has noticed, but it's the most played sport in this country, by a long shot.

People should be getting behind this team. They represent YOUR Country, guys. Be proud.

Prodigal Eel

Well the post is pretty hard to understand but the one thing I do agree with is soccer will never become the major football code in Australia with that play acting that goes on. It really anoys me more than anything in sport where a guy gets a soft kick in the shin and he rolls around on the ground holding his face like he has been king hit. That is the reason it will never take over. The A-league needs to come down on it and yellow card for all fakers that will cut it out of the Aussie game but internationally it's pathetic. From the big hits in League, Union and AFL and most of the time players get up, aussie sports fans want to watch men not sheilas.

MAN...this is the worst comment coming from a RL fan...especially where there was a major issue this yr about league plaayers staying down to get the penalty!
Every sport does it, soccer just have masterd it!