Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

sleeping giant my arse

I don't have the time to count all the games in the AFL this year but Collingwood games alone (of which there were 22) had 15 crowds over 40,000.

Actually, turns out I was interested.

I made a small mistake somewhere but I believe it is either 66 or 67 games of Australian football this season with crowds over 40,000.

HMS Cheesemaker said:
Actually, turns out I was interested.

I made a small mistake somewhere but I believe it is either 66 or 67 games of Australian football this season with crowds over 40,000.
B-B-B-B-But the TV ratings!!!!

Actually, it is 67:
59 Home and Away Games
7 Finals Games
1 International Rules Game

Rugby League:
2 Home and Away Games
3 Finals
3 State of Origins
1 Test

For a total of 9

EDIT: Forgot the ANZAC Test

bluenwhite

seriously, some people need to get over themselves and their big-headedness and bloody have an open mind.

soccer has been proved to be a more dangerous sport than rugby league, so there goes one argument out the window.

and apparently "australia will get destroyed in the world cup next year" .. predicted by a bunch of ignorant idiots who have no knowledge of soccer and are actually hoping that australia goes crap so it won't 'damage' league, which it bloody won't anyway.

and i'm sure that these people will be on the "socceroo's bandwagon" if/when we make the quarter finals next year in germany.

The Business

The person who started this thread needs to have a serious look at themself. You are a disgrace. Are you not an Australian?

I was at the game and have never seen the Australian community unite like it did. I may never see it again. It was something I will never forget.

I will never forget seeing a group of muslim Australians praying in a small room behind the stands, when they walked out in their Australian shirts everybody, people from all walks of life, stood and cheered these people who were praying for Australia to win. Their prayers were granted.

Everyone was cheering for the same team. Australia.

Mate if you want to see real passion you can't look further than Woolongong or Manly on a Sunday afternoon, nothing in sport (let alone that limp wristed fairy garbage you call 'football') can come close. The cheap watered down piss, the beer guts and bald spots, the toothless bogan women, the chants of 'Kimmorley's a wanker!'

It makes you feel truly alive

Misty Bee

I think the person who started this thread was reacting to rediculous claims that soccer was now going to suddenly swamp all other sports in Australia, as some were suggesting.

BTW, we can get patriotic anytime an Austrlian individual or team competes.

The Business

Misty Bee said:
I think the person who started this thread was reacting to rediculous claims that soccer was now going to suddenly swamp all other sports in Australia, as some were suggesting.

BTW, we can get patriotic anytime an Austrlian individual or team competes.
Nothing like it was last Wednesday.

iggy plop

The Business said:
The person who started this thread needs to have a serious look at themself. You are a disgrace. Are you not an Australian?

I was at the game and have never seen the Australian community unite like it did. I may never see it again. It was something I will never forget.

Yeah nothing unites a nation more than qualifying for a tournament.

Wristy McSlashalot said:
Mate if you want to see real passion you can't look further than Woolongong or Manly on a Sunday afternoon, nothing in sport (let alone that limp wristed fairy garbage you call 'football') can come close. The cheap watered down piss, the beer guts and bald spots, the toothless bogan women, the chants of 'Kimmorley's a wanker!'

It makes you feel truly alive

Sounds more like a barbecue at the wristy household. Well, if you add a few more flagrant homophobic homosexuals.

Where's Woolongong by the way?

The Business

Misty Bee said:
maybe at the ground. IN the wider community...meh.
Every pub and club in Australia was packed with people watching the game. You must have been at home with mummy and daddy.

The Business said:
Every pub and club in Australia was packed with people watching the game. You must have been at home with mummy and daddy.

I see, you were at every pub and club in Australia that night so you can verify it, is that what you're trying to say?

eelandia

The Business said:

I will never forget seeing a group of muslim Australians praying in a small room behind the stands, when they walked out in their Australian shirts everybody, people from all walks of life, stood and cheered these people who were praying for Australia to win. Their prayers were granted.

Everyone was cheering for the same team. Australia.

As soon as someone says 'unAustralian' I switch off. The whole premise of being Australian means alternative viewpoints, not blindly following whatever the majority thinks. If someone thinks that soccer fans are getting carried away then this is the perfect place to chat about it.

blaine train

Thought I would have my say. I could make it a long story but I will make it short. I, too, was one of those guys who hated football (soccer). For pansies and pretty boys. But since the a-league started I genuinely believe it is a fantastic game and is on par with rugby league. I've been to a game and I will go again.

Anyway, since Australia qualified, all the talk around the school yard has been about the socceroos. I know it sounds unloyal from me, but i'm the one of the only ones in my grade who even knows about he tri-nations. And I go to St Marys college in Toowoomba, one of rugby leagues strongest heartlands.

Since it happened, we're all playing the game on the oval. My best mate, who has captained queensland RL at schoolboy level, is now into the game and will be going to a game.

Now i'm not saying we're all going to stop playing rl and start playing football (soccer) but there is potential support out there for the game. Especially for the guys who are part-time rl fans, but only do-so because its the main sport up here. I have a feeling alot of the borderline rl fnas could be tempted into football (soccer).

Thats my rant anyway