Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

sleeping giant my arse

Bomber

Don't let the door hit your arse on the way out

Footballer said:
It never ceases to amaze me how many naive insular rednecks there are in this country

Footballer in TFC said:
Hows the ute and bricklaying business going? Playing for the local park foody team next year? Bogan RLFC?

Ya twat.

Elitist wanker

Bezant

I went to an 'A-League' game the other night on the invitation of a pommy mate. I was keen to see what it was like. There were good and bad points about the experience.

Good

Fanatical section of the crowd behind the goals that was always singing and chanting...giving an impression that the crowd was bigger than it was and they were having a good time.

Bad

The play acting of the players to get penalties :roll:
The way the players were constantly abusing and arguing with the ref :shock:

Unfortunately the crowd was relatively small compared to other codes here(8600, which would be good for a union club crowd anywhere or Superleage crowd in the UK so it's all relative). If my mate asked me to go again I would be hesitant to go again as I couldn't really get into it because I lost respect for the players when they were acting and getting up the ref. Soccer really needs to lose this part of the game before it can move forward in this country I think.

I was bought up at first to follow soccer because of my greek heritage and the fact that my father played for the matlia eagles in sydney back in the 60's. But due to my aussie neighbours who were mad parra freaks I became a footy fan. The interesting thing is that my father really enjoyed the socceroos win the other night but not as much as he enjoys watching origin or other RL, he really loves RL now. I guess that goes to show that time can change things so RL should not be complacent but I guess it also shows that RL can attract people from outside its traditional heartlands also.

sharkadelic

My other half is Greek and hates Soccer, preferring the grit of league to the "posers" of the other game. Annoys the hell out of my mate who is a soccer ref and always looking for allies.

She and I didn't even bother to get a score whilst at the pub for trivia. Good for the Socceroos and all their fans to end a losing streak that must make the Bears envious, but you still couldn't pay me enough to give a sh*t otherwise. Soccer IMO, is good for one thing, curing Insomnia. That is my opinion - which I am entitled to.

The part that annoys me? I would probably be a little more happy for their fans instead of complete apathy. But, instead I have all these militant and rabid wankers in my face trying to convert me with all this sh*t about sleeping giants, and how they are coming to a$$ rape my way of life with their crappy game and how vastly superior it is because they play it in Ghana. When your play acting for a penalty comes over as a little more convincing than WWE or home and Away, come back and wake me up from the slumber your world Cup put me into last time.

Misty Bee

I don't think at all there is any anti soccer feeling - but there is a hell of a lot of anti anything else but soccer feeling.

With all the crap about soccer taking over Australian sport, and finally coming in the top 32 nations of the sport as dwarfing all other sporting achievements, and dickheads like 'Footballer' hanging to find a place where League is absent - and The Business' rediculous claim that everyone in Australia was watching the soccer, I can only think of one word to describe it all:

Trollism.

Rampant after any minnow sport has a moment in the sun. Yes, minnow, because in Australia no one apart from males between 6-10, their mothers, and those born in Europe, gives a ratz about the sport.

If the soccerroos were suddenly the nations staple sporting diet, how come all the gift shops and clothing stores in the shopping mall I was last in was chock full of NRL gear?

The other thing I despise is that I can't be proud of the socceroos whilst continuing my League life. According to the soccer trolls, if you ain't living, breathing, masturbating soccer 24/7, you are scum.

F**k that.

Bring on NRL season 2006. The only game that matters.

bender

Misty Bee said:
Rampant after any minnow sport has a moment in the sun. Yes, minnow, because in Australia no one apart from males between 6-10, their mothers, and those born in Europe, gives a ratz about the sport.

If it is only that age group that cares about soccer, why is it the most participated male sport in Australia, in all age groups?

The Business

Footballer said:
Was there this much negativity when Australia won the Americas cup?

What about when Ian Thorpe won gold at the Olympics?, when the Wallabies won the world cup? The Australian Cricket team maybe? Cathy Freemans gold in Sydney?

For the life of me I can't understand why the Socceroo's seem to be the only national side in this country that attracts such negativity both in the media and from the general public for achieving something.

It never ceases to amaze me how many naive insular rednecks there are in this country.

f**k me. Im couting down the days till I move overseas where nobody knows Rugby League from twiddylinks, Wallabies are considered animals, and crickets chirp.
Haven't read a better post.

Misty Bee

Bender, probably 2 reasons:

1) the national split between League and AFL blocks each other from this crown

2) Unlike League and AFL, soccer can be played by old blokes without fear of injury. Imagine an over 40's Rugby League comp?

f**k me. Im couting down the days till I move overseas where nobody knows Rugby League from twiddylinks, Wallabies are considered animals, and crickets chirp.

If you and Business are longing to go somewhere where League doesn't exist, then start right now by leaving this forum!

You 2 have just confirmed your trollness. :arrow: buggery!

Misty Bee

Actually, Bender, if you look at it like that, I reckon Golf and probably fishing would blitz soccer in all over 30's age groups.

hybrid_tiger

Misty Bee said:
I don't think at all there is any anti soccer feeling - but there is a hell of a lot of anti anything else but soccer feeling.

LOL

If I had the time, I could compile a 50,000 page document of examples and you know it. You don't have to like the sport, but don't sprout mindless crap.

Misty Bee said:

LOL. Not even worth a response. Pathetic.

Misty Bee said:
]If the soccerroos were suddenly the nations staple sporting diet, how come all the gift shops and clothing stores in the shopping mall I was last in was chock full of NRL gear?

You think all the NRL gear is going to dissapear? FFS.

I'll repeat: absolutely no reason why the codes can't co-exist. Only someone who's worried would make any fuss about it.

Misty Bee

And dickheads like you are what I'm talking about. Funnily enough, you agree with me in the last line. :roll:

hybrid_tiger

Misty Bee said:
And dickheads like you are what I'm talking about. Funnily enough, you agree with me in the last line. :roll:

D1ckheads like me?

You mean someone who supports both codes? Who doesn't feel a constant need to put sh1t on any other code?

Stupid b1tch.

The Business

Misty Bee said:
Bender, probably 2 reasons:

1) the national split between League and AFL blocks each other from this crown

2) Unlike League and AFL, soccer can be played by old blokes without fear of injury. Imagine an over 40's Rugby League comp?

If you and Business are longing to go somewhere where League doesn't exist, then start right now by leaving this forum!

You 2 have just confirmed your trollness. :arrow: buggery!
When have I stated that I was longing to go somewhere where League doesn't exist?

I love rugby league but also recognise the fact that football has, and will continue to have, a growing presence in this country. You may not like it but it is fact. As more and more Australians travel and live in foreign countries they are becoming more aware of the world game, myself included.

I have seen my team win a GF, I was there when Steve Waugh scored that hundred against England but for me November 16 2005 was the best sporting event I have been to.

Misty Bee

hybrid_tiger said:
D1ckheads like me?

You mean someone who supports both codes? Who doesn't feel a constant need to put sh1t on any other code?

Stupid b1tch.

No, you just pick out bits of other people's posts and put sh*t on them. Which is pretty stupid when you agree with them.

Stupid mole.

Business, where do I start? I reject the notion of the likes of you and other soccer trolls proclaiming Soccer will overtake League in Oz, and all if a sudden I hate soccer? Are you completely f**king bonkers?????

Mate, it's about time you started to back up some of your sh*t that you have hid from - namely that every pub and club in Oz was packed with soccer fans that night.

And when you applaud someone wanting to evict League from his life, then that speaks volumes.

Raider Ultra

The reason no sports shops have Socceroos replicas is because they have sold out and Nike has run out of supplies. Been a while since the Kangaroos have had the same problem.

hybrid_tiger

Misty Bee said:
No, you just pick out bits of other people's posts and put sh*t on them. Which is pretty stupid when you agree with them.

Only when you're an idiot and leave yourself open to ridicule.

And I don't agree with you, so WTF are you on about?

Choppies

Poor Soccer people. How dare other sports be more popular than Sokkah here. Look what you have done to poor Footballer. NRL, AFL etc you should be ashamed of yourselves.

The Business said:
When have I stated that I was longing to go somewhere where League doesn't exist?

I.
Apparently in NZ. That dickhead commentator Ian Smith was just made aware that NZ won the rugby league tri series. And this prick is supposed to be a sports commentator over there. Doesn't he read the front of the sports pages?

Raider Ultra said:
The reason no sports shops have Socceroos replicas is because they have sold out and Nike has run out of supplies. Been a while since the Kangaroos have had the same problem.

Are you serious?

I was at Peter Wynns this morning and they have a Soccer section, tucked in behind the Union section. The joint was full of people and everyone I saw was walking out with League stuff, me included. If they sold out of Australian Soccer jerseys it's more likely that they had f**k all of them to start with.

BTW, If you want an A League jersey they have sh*tloads of them.....

One swallow doesn't make a code mate. Soccer's big test was translating the interest from the Uruguay game to boost the A League and even the most hardened Soccer fan would have to admit that nothing of the sort has happened.

ali

Footballer said:
Was there this much negativity when Australia won the Americas cup?

What about when Ian Thorpe won gold at the Olympics?, when the Wallabies won the world cup? The Australian Cricket team maybe? Cathy Freemans gold in Sydney?

For the life of me I can't understand why the Socceroo's seem to be the only national side in this country that attracts such negativity both in the media and from the general public for achieving something.

It never ceases to amaze me how many naive insular rednecks there are in this country.

It shows you haven't been on this forum very long. You wont get much support for Union or AFL on here. But this is the first time I've ever really seen Rugby League fans fighting each other over the merits of another sport. Be thankful your getting pleanty of support from hardcore League fans.

I know soccer has been given a hard time in the media over the last 50 years or so, but I think some of them need to calm down. Any talk of becoming the nations most followed code is onviously going ot piss off fans of other sports. It's probably never going to happen, and if it does, it wont be for a long time. However I have no doubt soccer is going to do quite nicely in the next decade or so. But I doubt it's going to become anywhere near as popular as RL in our dominant areas.