Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

sleeping giant my arse

iggy plop

blaine train said:
Thought I would have my say. I could make it a long story but I will make it short. I, too, was one of those guys who hated football (soccer). For pansies and pretty boys. But since the a-league started I genuinely believe it is a fantastic game and is on par with rugby league. I've been to a game and I will go again.

Anyway, since Australia qualified, all the talk around the school yard has been about the socceroos. I know it sounds unloyal from me, but i'm the one of the only ones in my grade who even knows about he tri-nations. And I go to St Marys college in Toowoomba, one of rugby leagues strongest heartlands.

Since it happened, we're all playing the game on the oval. My best mate, who has captained queensland RL at schoolboy level, is now into the game and will be going to a game.

Now i'm not saying we're all going to stop playing rl and start playing football (soccer) but there is potential support out there for the game. Especially for the guys who are part-time rl fans, but only do-so because its the main sport up here. I have a feeling alot of the borderline rl fnas could be tempted into football (soccer).

Thats my rant anyway

John O'Neil loves you.

Lego_Man

It's actually more un-australian to support a bunch of whinging, diving sooks, than it is to abstain from supporting said team.

The Business

iggy plop said:
It's called perspective clown.

Get off the wagon.
I've been following the sport for 30 years. It's clowns like you that either fail to see the presence of the sport are live in fear that rugby league may soon have an opponent.

Green Machine

The Business said:
I've been following the sport for 30 years. It's clowns like you that either fail to see the presence of the sport are live in fear that rugby league may soon have an opponent.
The smell of fear?

Tommy Smith

Lego_Man said:
It's actually more un-australian to support a bunch of whinging, diving sooks, than it is to abstain from supporting said team.
LOL. Another one of my favourites - 'unAustralian'. Whatever the f@ck that means!!!

melon....

Why cant you dickheads appreciate Football or Soccer (same thing) for what it is? Its no threat to league. It actually complements league nicely. The soccer admin in this country ensures the best players have no choice than to go overseas. And the junior soccer leagues produce skills that are an advantage to league players later on if they switch codes.

Youre a bunch of sooking, no idea morons.

melon.... said:
Why cant you dickheads appreciate Football or Soccer (same thing) for what it is? Its no threat to league. It actually complements league nicely. The soccer admin in this country ensures the best players have no choice than to go overseas. And the junior soccer leagues produce skills that are an advantage to league players later on if they switch codes.

Youre a bunch of sooking, no idea morons.

It happens every time another sport recieves media attention in Australia. When the Sydney Swans made the grand final a few months ago there was in influx of 'AFL is a sport for twig wankers' threads and when the Rugby World Cup was on the board was inundated with such insightful topics as 'John Eales talks like a nice person!' because, you know, God forbid a sport that isn't rugby league should gain some popularity or media attention.

Just wait until the Commonwealth Games are on and you'll see threads like 'Ian Thorpe is a limp wristed little androtop who wouldn't last 10 minutes in the GREATEST GAME OF ALL'

nqboy

Everlovin' Antichrist said:
I see, you were at every pub and club in Australia that night so you can verify it, is that what you're trying to say?
Obviously, they couldn't but I still think it's a fair comment.

nqboy said:
Obviously, they couldn't but I still think it's a fair comment.

Why is it a fair comment?

Is it fair for me to suggest that the League Grand final ratings are miles under the actual because the pubs and clubs were chockers with people watching it?

Even though I have no idea because I was at the ground?

Garts

Everlovin' Antichrist said:
Why is it a fair comment?

Is it fair for me to suggest that the League Grand final ratings are miles under the actual because the pubs and clubs were chockers with people watching it?

Even though I have no idea because I was at the ground?

of course thats fair

Twizzle said:
If it wasn't for the overseas content in our team, we probably wouldn't have one, how many home grown aussies have ever represented Australia in Soccer?

Against Uruguay

Schwarzer
Viduka
Vidmar
Popovich
Aloisi
Skoko
Bresciano
Grella
Culina
Elrich
Thomspon
Kalac
Emerton
Moore

The list is endless all Australian born and played in the NSL
before heading overseas. Kewell and Neill the only two that didn't play NSL before heading overseas.

The Socceroos always used to have to pick there players from here because there was none overseas back in the 70's.

Warren
Alston
Abonyi
Slater
Arnold
Yankos
Greedy

The list is endless.

Garts said:
disagree that it will be just as popular or even more popular than league in a few years.

not many people have a passion for the A League teams like league supporters do for their own team, this is what gets people to games and tv ratings so high. this type of passion can not be created over a couple of seasons. I can see interest increasing but I cant see it becoming more poplular than league for quite sometime, I would go as far to say it wont happen in my lifetime.

Agreed it takes a while for the people that have previously had no interest in the sport or a casual follower to get into the sport. Still it has not been a bad start for the A League.

Southern Rooster said:
Against Uruguay

Schwarzer
Viduka
Vidmar
Popovich
Aloisi
Skoko
Bresciano
Grella
Culina
Elrich
Thomspon
Kalac
Emerton
Moore

The list is endless all Australian born and played in the NSL
before heading overseas. Kewell and Neill the only two that didn't play NSL before heading overseas.

The Socceroos always used to have to pick there players from here because there was none overseas back in the 70's.

Warren
Alston
Abonyi
Slater
Arnold
Yankos
Greedy

The list is endless.

Yeah but look at all those Mediterranean Descendant names. They're not really Australian!

Well unless we have a team full of Aboriginals we'll never have a team of real Australians. Take out the foreign sounding names and we're Poms with better accents.

Garts said:
not really Australian? you got to be fishing!!!!

Ah no people born in Australia happen to be Australian.

Rugby League has also had it's share of good Australian players from migrant backgrounds. The current golden boot being one of them.