Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

So did any of you wrist cutters enjoy the game at all tonight?

azzah72

Seriously speaking, it was a disappointing loss, fair enough but did anyone enjoy the game on any level?

I'm reading all the posts and f**king hell you lot a morbid.

If we start losing a few more then fine, have a sook but at least, AT LEAST above it all, enjoy a game of what i thought was entertaining football, win lose or draw.

How's about we talk about some positives?

Mine:

Bakuya had a good debut, could be anything.
Snowden is a monster and with a few more games under the belt, he will be a wonderfull player for us, if he's not already.
Kimmorley i thought had a pretty good game, better in attack than i've seen him for a while.
i think Ando and Pomm are our best centre pairing we have, just need to work on defence a little more but i think that might of had to do with new combinations with wingers.

It was an off night but i think we will come good again.

You lot can call me fluffy, a nice person or a lover of paris's purple heart for all i care but i can see some positives, but above all i simply enjoyed a good, tough, fun game of footy.

i'm with you Azzah. I had a great time watching with my 2 doggie mates.
We were taking shots at bagging our own players & getting it right.
I'd say watch paris, missed tckle coming up
They'd say watch utai, dropped coming up.

The 2 nd half we were in hysterics at the mistake fest.

azzah72

our best center pairing would not involve pomeroy in it.
he's as useless as Simmons.

Really? You think so?

Nah i think he goes ok, best attacking back we have bar kearney and he's probably 50/50 in defense but thats better than pretty much the rest of out backs

fatshark

Pomm played alright in attack, just his defence reads cost us the game.He needs to get more involved earlier.

Snowden was great, so was Nuts...until he dropped the ball from the kickoff...I knew it was gonna happen.
De Goise..awesome game..Seu Seu...hmmm one horrible mistake, not really doing anything.
Our forwards looked like rag dolls in the first 30 mins.soooffft.

I'm still sh!tty with last nights game.

I reckon that game was so important in our season to get the two points.

The only way we will make the semis this year is to keep winning because with our pathetic for and against we will drop down the ladder quicker then a rock when the beans get counted at the end of the year.

Look at the ladder - its a bottleneck.

Next week we have the tits.

Narrrh that one last night should of seen us walk out of the stadium with two points in our pockets.

Just heard Stuart on the radio .... he is disgusted with the effort. So am I.

Farkwits.

If the general was playing for the dogs you could of wacked on another 10 points between them and us.

Declared Idiot #88

shadowboxer

i agree totally, calling fans wrist slitters is over the top, we have been in this position so many times over the last few years, drop a game and think it is okay, then drop a few more and its all to late.

Games like that are there to be lost when they should have been won by a yard stick. When it comes to the end of the season and you find yourself just outside the 8 because of for/against dont be surprised.

Cant see us scoring massive points any time soon and we need to.

Seriously speaking, it was a disappointing loss, fair enough but did anyone enjoy the game on any level?

If we start losing a few more then fine, have a sook but at least, AT LEAST above it all, enjoy a game of what i thought was entertaining football, win lose or draw.

Mine:

Snowden is a monster and with a few more games under the belt, he will be a wonderfull player for us, if he's not already.
Kimmorley i thought had a pretty good game, better in attack than i've seen him for a while.
i think Ando and Pomm are our best centre pairing we have, just need to work on defence a little more but i think that might of had to do with new combinations with wingers.

You lot can call me fluffy, a nice person or a lover of paris's purple heart for all i care but i can see some positives, but above all i simply enjoyed a good, tough, fun game of footy.

There was a lot of entertainment value in the game. I don't really think the 'Dogs defence was much better than ours but they capitalised on what they created. Was good to see a lot of tries to be honest.

As for the term wrist slitters, well, not many of us have anything left to slit after 40 years :lol: :lol:

Tucky

I enjoyed seeing Anderson go over for that try early.

It was all down hill from there. (Not quite wrist cutting though).

I prefer seeing Ando in the forwards, I don't want to see him in the centres again. Bukuya/Pom centre pairing would be good.

I might have missed something, but where was Misi? Thought he had his best game for us against the Donkeys last week.

Inferno

Misi was injured.

I'd prefer Ando in the pack as well Tucky, but I'd much prefer him there than Paris.

azzah72

Mine:

Don't get too offside about my wrist cutters comment, it was very tongue-in-cheek.

I just find it funny how the world caves in when we lose, take a positive attitude, turn up to the games and cheer the boys on and enjoy the f**king game!! thats that will turn them around, i have been guilty of it in the past but i am just determined to enjoy the footy now!!

Too many get into the "here we go again" syndrome, be positive as fans and maybe, just maybe, it'll be a poitive impact on the players if we are there yelling out lungs out next sunday, not sitting at home slitting wrists :p

Tell you what azz.

I will be positive the day our club has the balls to drop that farkwit #4.

I am not joking when I said in another thread, that as soon as Kearney got injured and Paris went back to fullback, I thought well that's it we are done. What was that 10 minutes into the game.

I will be positive and confident when the weakest link is gone. Positive starts with the selectors. Not some old fart sitting on a bar stool 2000km away.

I think they call it leadership. Jack used to call it the front office.

Declared Idiot #88

azzah72

Tell you what azz.

I will be positive the day our club has the balls to drop that farkwit #4.

I am not joking when I said in another thread, that as soon as Kearney got injured and Paris went back to fullback, I thought well that's it we are done. What was that 10 minutes into the game.

I will be positive and confident when the weakest link is gone. Positive starts with the selectors. Not some old fart sitting on a bar stool 2000km away.

I think they call it leadership. Jack used to call it the front office.

Declared Idiot #88

Fair call,

I'll admit when i saw simmo go to the back i wasn't in the highest of spirits, it still enjoyed the game but.

Bayuka was a positive.

I thought Adam Peek played a good game.

Pomeroys long range try was out of the box. Sharks used to score tries from their own quarter.

Some of the mistakes from both sides was so bad it made me laugh out loud.

It was like one of those end of season games where two also rans clash, when the results doesn't matter, and ball control and tackling goes on a holiday. Only this match was played early in the season and should've mattered more to both sides.

Vossy

not one bit was enjoyable..

painful is more the word to describe it..ugh..resorted to watching a movie instead..least certain movies cant get any worse then what was dished up on foxsports 2..couldnt bring myself to watch it..only kept flicking over to check the score..everytime i flicked it over we'd f**k up..

Weaponhead

We were awful Monday night but I was more disappointed after losing to Penrith. We dominated that games and didn't have the smarts to get the win. Every team has the odd game where they don't turn up and Monday night was our turn. A couple of years ago if we played with that intensity we would have got pumped by 30 but at least we hung in there.

A few good things to come out of the game

1. Galen and Bird realise what it is like to back up after Origin. They are so important to the team that they need to be 100% on each week. Neither of them were great (still OK) on Monday. It is only early in their rep careers and they will learn a lot from the experience.

2. Gives the team a chance to see that their strength is mental toughness. If they lose that then there is not much football ability to back it up. Melbourne can get a win when not fully focused, we can't. This is a good rocket to get now so long as the lesson is learnt.

3. Ricky blooding a youngster over journeymen. I found it refreshing to see Bakuya in the squad over Cooper, Stephenson etc. It is a positive step to blood the odd young player to see what they have. Backuya showed no fear and was happy to put his body on the line. Still rough around the edges but he will improve.

Plenty of negatives also came out ie left side defence. This is clearly a communication issue. Brown and Pom were not on the same page at all. Brown seemed very low on confidence and had a poor game. Pom made some poor reads but lateral defence is not a strength, he needs direction. Seeing Simmo drift across field looking for runners, then trowing a quarterback style pass was hilarious. Wonder if their is a vacant five eighth spot for the Cobras

Our skill levels are still very poor. Basic handling skills and football nous are in short supply. For a team that does so little with the ball we drop it way too much.

At this point in the comp we are still quite well placed despite not having played particularly well.