Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Souths V Leeds Thread

Leeds Rhinos Head Coach Brian McClennan has named his strongest side possible for Saturday's final pre-season game against South Sydney Rabbitohs in Jacksonville, Florida.

McClennan has named the same starting line up as that which beat St Helens in the 2007 engage Super League Grand Final with only Ryan Bailey missing from the Old Trafford winning squad as he recovers back in the UK from a groin injury.

The match is the culmination of a ten day training camp in Jacksonville ahead of the start of the Rhinos defence of their title against Hull KR at Headingley Carnegie on Saturday 2nd February in an all ticket game.

Commenting on the preparations McClennan said, "The reception we have had in Jacksonville has been great and there has been lots of interest in Saturday's match and Rugby League as a whole. The training camp has been excellent and the players have been outstanding, we can hopefully finish a good experience with a good performance on Saturday against a tough South Sydney side.

"It is important that we don't lose our focus on the Hull KR game next Saturday and with that in mind we have named a larger bench than normal, which will be important especially in the hot conditions with a 1pm kick off," added McClennan.

Meanwhile, at a press conference on Wednesday in Jacksonville, it was revealed that Australian golfing legend Greg Norman will be amongst the spectators at Saturday's game alongside Souths co-owner Russell Crowe.

UK fans can listen to commentary from the game from a local Jacksonville radio station, www.1010XL.com, online on Saturday. Amongst the commentators will be former NFL linebacker Tom McManus, who played for five seasons with the Jacksonville Jaguars. The giant former gridiron defender has been spending time with both squads during the week and had Rhinos skipper Kevin Sinfield on his lunchtime radio show on Wednesday to promote the game.

The team in full is:

1. Brent Webb
2. Scott Donald
3. Clinton Toopi
4. Keith Senior
5. Lee Smith
6. Danny McGuire
7. Rob Burrow
8. Kylie Leuluai
9. Matt Diskin
10. Jamie Peacock
11. Jamie Jones-Buchanan
12. Gareth Ellis
13. Kevin Sinfield (c)

Substitutes
14. Ali Lauitiiti
17. Nick Scruton
18. Ian Kirke
19. Carl Ablett
20. Ashley Gibson
21. Jordan Tansey
22. Ryan Hall
23. Danny Williams
24. Luke Burgess
26. Ben Kaye
30. Michael Haley

http://www.rleague.com/db/article.php?id=29649

Well there is no doubt in my mind now that Leeds are taken this serious.The team they have named looks very close to their top side.

Rabbitohs Become Jaguars

25 Jan 2008

JagsDetail-465be8f8-f583-44aa-b319-982cd25164c7.jpg
The South Sydney Rabbitohs turned into Jacksonville Jaguars when the NFL side hosted the South Sydney players, coaches and staff on a ‘Day in the Life of an NFL Player’ tour at Jacksonville Municipal Stadium.

The players had lunch on the team lunch room, before being escorted through the video and meeting theatre, the gym, the locker room, the equipment room, the practice field and then onto the turf at Jacksonville Municipal Stadium.

The players were able to try on the team helmets, pads and jerseys; check out the boots and gloves the NFL players wear; and had the opportunity to throw passes and catch long passes from the team’s ball machine.

“Today was absolutely mad,” Rabbitohs halfback Eddie Paea said in blog on the Florida Times-Union newspaper website.

“It is easily the best activity we've had since we got here! The Jaguars are such a massive organisation. We're having our new training facility built in Redfern at the moment and if it's half as good as the Jags place then we'll all be very happy!”

Paea said it would take a little getting used to carry all of that extra equipment onto the field of battle.

“The gear the NFL players wear is pretty heavy, especially the helmets,” he commented.

“I'm not sure how they run around with those things on. We had a chance to pass the NFL balls around and try and catch some balls that came out of the ball machine. That thing could shoot the ball 70 yards downfield no problems. It was pretty tough to catch some of those long bombs when you're running deep, but it looks so easy on TV.”

Eddie said he is excited about taking on Great Britain number seven, Rob Burrow, in two days time.

“I can't wait for the game on Saturday. The last time I played was mid-October for the Junior Kiwis team. Our training has been tough, but fun, but I'm ready to play now. We've been putting everything together and doing a lot of game simulation training and everything is looking pretty slick. I'll be marking Rob Burrow who's the current Great Britain halfback so that will be a great test for me. I'm looking forward to that.”

Tickets for the Australia Day Challenge between the Rabbitohs and the Leeds Rhinos are selling strongly with over 8000 tickets sold to date. To purchase tickets to the Australia Day Challenge on Saturday 26 January at Hodges Stadium at the University of North Florida at 1pm (Jacksonville time), visit www.australiadaychallenge.com.
For more information about holidays, business, lifestyle and study opportunities in Sydney Australia, visit www.sydneyaustralia.com.
The Australia Day Challenge match is a featured event on the G'Day USA calendar. For more information about G'Day USA, visit www.australia-week.com.
To listen to the Australia Day Challenge game call live on Sunday 27 January at 5am (Sydney time), visit www.1010XL.com.
To learn more about the Jacksonville Jaguars, visit www.jaguars.com.

Dave Q

Rabbitohs2005 said:
Leeds Rhinos Head Coach Brian McClennan has named his strongest side possible for Saturday's final pre-season game against South Sydney Rabbitohs in Jacksonville, Florida.

McClennan has named the same starting line up as that which beat St Helens in the 2007 engage Super League Grand Final with only Ryan Bailey missing from the Old Trafford winning squad as he recovers back in the UK from a groin injury.

The match is the culmination of a ten day training camp in Jacksonville ahead of the start of the Rhinos defence of their title against Hull KR at Headingley Carnegie on Saturday 2nd February in an all ticket game.

Commenting on the preparations McClennan said, "The reception we have had in Jacksonville has been great and there has been lots of interest in Saturday's match and Rugby League as a whole. The training camp has been excellent and the players have been outstanding, we can hopefully finish a good experience with a good performance on Saturday against a tough South Sydney side.

"It is important that we don't lose our focus on the Hull KR game next Saturday and with that in mind we have named a larger bench than normal, which will be important especially in the hot conditions with a 1pm kick off," added McClennan.

Meanwhile, at a press conference on Wednesday in Jacksonville, it was revealed that Australian golfing legend Greg Norman will be amongst the spectators at Saturday's game alongside Souths co-owner Russell Crowe.

UK fans can listen to commentary from the game from a local Jacksonville radio station, www.1010XL.com, online on Saturday. Amongst the commentators will be former NFL linebacker Tom McManus, who played for five seasons with the Jacksonville Jaguars. The giant former gridiron defender has been spending time with both squads during the week and had Rhinos skipper Kevin Sinfield on his lunchtime radio show on Wednesday to promote the game.

The team in full is:

1. Brent Webb
2. Scott Donald
3. Clinton Toopi
4. Keith Senior
5. Lee Smith
6. Danny McGuire
7. Rob Burrow
8. Kylie Leuluai
9. Matt Diskin
10. Jamie Peacock
11. Jamie Jones-Buchanan
12. Gareth Ellis
13. Kevin Sinfield (c)

Substitutes
14. Ali Lauitiiti
17. Nick Scruton
18. Ian Kirke
19. Carl Ablett
20. Ashley Gibson
21. Jordan Tansey
22. Ryan Hall
23. Danny Williams
24. Luke Burgess
26. Ben Kaye
30. Michael Haley

http://www.rleague.com/db/article.php?id=29649

Less forward power than a kia.

ozbash

nothin wrong with kias.

admittedly a trial/exhibition game but why sit so many names out ?

the only positive for me was its blueys first game,first win.

good luck this year bunnys.

Rabbitohs fall to Leeds

Brad Walter at Hodges Stadium, Jacksonville, Florida | January 27, 2008 - 12:50PM

South Sydney co-owners Russell Crowe and Peter Holmes a Court have declared their team's venture to the United States as a raging success, despite losing 26-24 to Leeds.
An understrength Rabbitohs line-up fought back from a 26-0 halftime defecit to almost snatch victory from the Super League champions in an encouraging performance from Souths younger brigade.
But the most pleasing aspect of the innaugaral Australia Day Challenge was the 12,000 fans who braved wet and cold conditions to help set a new attendance record at Hodges Stadium, which has an official capacity of 10,000, and bought up all Souths merchandise.
Among them were stars Denis Rodman, Greg Norman, Chris Evert, Angelo Dundee and Layne Beachley.
"I think it's been a great exercise and obviously Jacksonville is a real sports town," Crowe said.
"What I liked most was that they were cheering and they stayed with the game. They might not have understood the game but they followed the ebb and flow of it.
"I think this game is easier to understand than any other game we have in Australia."
Holmes a Court said it was almost certain the team would return to the United States next year.
"I think in America you've got to keep coming back for three years to make a real impact," he said.
While Souths coach Jason Taylor was disappointed with his side's first half performance and let the players know in no uncertain terms at the interval, they were up against a full strength Leeds team containing all but one member of their grand final winning line-up.
With the new Super League season due to start next week, Leeds were more match fit after three pre-season trials.
Leeds opened the scoring through Great Britain hooker Matt Diskin after six minutes and led 12-0 at quarter time after a long distance try to NZ Test star Brent Webb, after a pass from Souths five-eighth Ben Rogers was intercepted by winger Lee Smith.
In the second quarter kicks from five-eighth Danny McGuire and Diskin set up a try to halfback Rob Burrow ,and GB Test centre Keith Senior also crossed as Leeds bolted to a 26-0 halftime lead.
Souths squandered some good scoring opportunities, but also let themselves down by committing too many turnovers.
While Leeds rested some players in the second half, the youthful Rabbitohs capitalised on improved ball retention to score four converted tries.
Converted tries to Rogers and hooker Isaac Luke cut the deficit to 26-12 at the final break.
The revival continued in the final quarter, with Eddie Paea scything through the defence for the Rabbitohs' third try and replacement George Ndaira also crossing, with Luke and Ndaira adding conversions.
Leeds 26 (Matt Diskin, Brent Webb, Rob Burrow, Keith Senior, Scott Donald tries; Kevin Sinfield 3 goals)
South Sydney 24 (Eddie Paea, Issac Luke, Ben Rogers, George Ndaira tries; George Ndaira 2, Eddie Paea, Issac Luke goals).

Leeds 26 Rabbitohs 24 in Jacksonville

27 Jan 2008

ADCDetail-43845bec-fbf2-443f-ba33-8eef2eb6b77c.jpg
The South Sydney Rabbitohs have staged a dramatic second half comback to come within two points of the reigning English Super League champions the Leed Rhinos, going down 26-24 in the first Australia Day Challenge played at Hodges Stadium in Jacksonville Florida.
A bumper crowd of over 12,000 fans turned out in poor weather conditions to cheer on the teams, with a vast majority of the spectators cheering for the Rabbitohs and wearing South Sydney merchandise.
The Rhinos completely dominated the opening 40 minutes, scoring five tries to nil to hammer out a 26-nil lead at the major break. Matt Diskin, Brent Webb, Rob Burrow, Keith Senior and Scott Donald all crossed the stripe for four-pointers, with captain Kevin Sinfield kicking three conversions.
The Rabbitohs fired up in the second half, scoring four tries to nil and showing the best team in Europe that the Rabbitohs aren't an easy beat team.
Ben Rogers scored a try in the 47th minute after prop Michael Greenfield grubber kicked close to the line for Rogers to pounce. Eddie Paea converted to take the scores to 26-6.
Eight minutes later hooker Issac Luke scooted from dummy half and ducked weaved out of three tackles to score a typical Luke try, converting his own try for a 26-12 scoreline.
Two minutes into the third quarter, halfback Eddie Paea beat three defenders to score a fantastic try. Luke's conversion brought the Rabbitohs within eight of their opponents.
In the final minute of play, hooker George Ndaira scored his maiden try in the red and green colours, converting his own try to finish the scoring at 26-24.
Rabbitohs coach Jason Taylor was pleased with the result of the match.
"Even though we lost I'm still happy with the performance overall. We know what we need to work on now," Taylor said.
"Our ball control in the first half was oor and we took some poor options but we fixed a few things in the second half so that was pleasing.
"We only went down by two and one of their tries was a long range intercept try so all-in-all it was good result.
"The best results seemed to be off the field. Over 12,000 people came out to watch when it's raining, the merchandise all sold out and the number of new Souths supporters in the US is phenomenal. I think we have helped promote the game over here over the past ten days and we look forward to getting that opportunity again."
The Rabbitohs remaining pre-season matches will be played against the Sharks at Bluetongue Stadium on February 23 and the Charity Shield against the Dragons on March 1.
Leeds Rhinos 26 (Matt Diskin, Brent Webb, Rob Burrow, Keith Senior, Scott Donald tries; Kevin Sinfield 3 goals)
defeated
South Sydney Rabbitohs 24 (Ben Rogers, Issac Luke, Eddie Paea, George Ndaira tries; Issac Luke 2, Eddie Paea, George Ndaira goals)
During the pre-match entertainment, the crew from Orange County Choppers who are the stars of the hit TV show American Chopper

Rusty Souths just fall short

Article from:

By Josh Massoud in Jacksonville
January 27, 2008 12:00am

YES, a game of rugby league was played amid yesterday's celebrity-athon in Jacksonville but South Sydney needed a halftime rev-up from coach Jason Taylor to remind them how to play.
Performing in front of a 12,000-strong crowd, including Greg Norman, Russell Crowe, Chris Evert and Dennis Rodman, the undermanned Rabbitohs were perhaps starstruck as Leeds raced to a 26-0 lead at halftime.
More likely, however, it was the stars among the opposition who sent Souths into a daze.
Leeds fielded a full-strength outfit during the opening two quarters, and internationals Kevin Sinfield, Danny Peacock, Keith Senior and Brent Webb flexed their muscle. Souths, on the other hand, rested arguably their four best players - Roy Asotasi, David Kidwell, Nathan Merritt and Craig Wing.
The hyped-up American crowd nevertheless roared their young replacements on to the field. Souths and Crowe had established a positive connection with the locals, but the love-in was threatened with an embarrassing finale after Leeds posted the first five tries.
It was his team's first game in five months but Taylor was far from understanding. "We didn't come here to be embarrassed and if the scoring from Leeds continued in the second half, that's what it would have been," he said. "I wasn't happy and I let the boys know it at halftime."
His blast achieved its desired effect, but the fact Leeds played a mostly second-string side for the remainder also helped Souths' cause.
The Redfern revival took just seven minutes to begin. Five-eighth Ben Rogers collected a surprisingly deft grubber from prop Michael Greenfield to send the fans into raptures. Their delight was doubled in the 54th minute when Issac Luke - Souths' standout player - scored off a 20m bullocking run from dummy half.
Luke's fellow playmaking tyro, Eddie Paea, then brought the Rabbitohs into serious calculations thanks to a jinking effort from close range with 16 minutes left.
The Rhinos rushed Sinfield and Peacock back, but Souths continued to make inroads as the clock elapsed. Eventually, there was only time for a last-second try to young rake George Ndaira and an old-fashioned brawl between Senior and several flustered Rabbitohs.
LEEDS RHINOS 26 (M Diskin, B Webb, R Burrow, K Senior, S Donald tries, K Sinfield 3 goals) SOUTH SYDNEY 24 (B Rogers, I Luke, E Paea, G Ndaira tries, I Luke 2, E Paea, G Ndaira goals) at Hodges Stadium, Jacksonville, Florida. Crowd. 12,000 approx.
Share this article What is this?

STSAE

Newcastlerabbit said:
Deva ju Willie Mason:crazy:

When has Willie been arrested for chucking phones???

Arrested for anything????

In fact whats he done wrong other than sign Fitzys name, an old footy prank.

A little fact would be nice. No alleged or reported in a gossip column. FACTS.

Or are you related to Sonic????:p

:lol: :lol:

STSAE

BBKing777 said:
ROFLOL.

More intelligent than you it seems.....going for the c**ks is one of the dumbest things anyone could do.
Dont worry you will get plenty of exposure when your mate Willie starts opening his mouth to the media.

LMFAO.

Willies a publicity machine.

Opens his gob and the media gush.

No probs with that.

Still avoided my question I see.

The Phonechukka Cup, and you still lost.

Gold.

STSAE

Dave Q said:
Thank you for the complement.

But this is not "propaganda" its the real thing.

If they impress the yanks then the yanks are more likely to think highly of us.

Even you sorry lot over at Bondi!

Wheres the furthest the roosters going this month? Drummoyne?!

Probably Wanda to bust our asses on the sandhills.

Better than sightseeing in the great town of Jackson5ville.:p

Propagandas like a snowball. It just rolls on.

Phonechukkas the master of it.

Read this link mate, tell me your opinion.

http://www.smh.com.au/news/national/when-i-was-russell-crowes-stooge/2006/06/06/1149359738242.html?page=fullpage

Hes a cog and your clubs his tool.

Just a trip to show off his plaything to his wallywood mates.

I know you dig. Hard to admitt for you I understand, in front of the brethren.;-)

I can keep your secret.

SethGecko

STSAE said:

Better than sightseeing in the great town of Jackson5ville.:p

http://www.smh.com.au/news/national/when-i-was-russell-crowes-stooge/2006/06/06/1149359738242.html?page=fullpage

I know you dig. Hard to admitt for you I understand, in front of the brethren.;-)

I can keep your secret.

Actually you have a point. As a Manly supporter I dislike the Rooster 'transit loungers' as much as any other club but definately would rather have my club busting it at the Institute at Narrabeen than swanning it on long haul flights to a 26 nil then 26 - 24 'game'.
Cant see the point. Just screws with pre trial programs.

STSAE

SethGecko said:
Actually you have a point. As a Manly supporter I dislike the Rooster 'transit loungers' as much as any other club but definately would rather have my club busting it at the Institute at Narrabeen than swanning it on long haul flights to a 26 nil then 26 - 24 'game'.
Cant see the point. Just screws with pre trial programs.

See a woManly fan with brains. Rare, but its proof they do exist.;-)

And hes got the Dig. Didnt play the youre just jealous game. He thought between the lines and saw the light.

Seth I bow to thee.:D

See you in the semis brother.

Sonic Star

STSAE said:

And hes got the Dig. Didnt play the youre just jealous game. He thought between the lines and saw the light.

yeah you will be watching them on TV during your off season :lol:

STSAE

Sonic Star said:
yeah you will be watching them on TV during your off season :lol:

Ahh look its The Facts Machine.

Always ready to argue the point.

Just has to work out what the point is 1st.

:p :p

STSAE

STSAE said:

Better than sightseeing in the great town of Jackson5ville.

I know you dig. Hard to admitt for you I understand, in front of the brethren.

I can keep your secret.

Just quoting this for DaveyBoy.

He pretends he not knoweth where it is.;-)

Cmon mate I crave your undivided.:sarcasm:

Click the link, I want a report.

Rainbow

STSAE said:
Just quoting this for DaveyBoy.

He pretends he not knoweth where it is.;-)

Cmon mate I crave your undivided.:sarcasm:

Click the link, I want a report.

I am not sure where you are coming from but I remember reading this article in the paper nearly 2 years ago ( I don't need to go searching the web like you).

My thoughts were that Crowe was getting his own back at the jounalists who seem to follow his every move. Now I can't say that I had read any of this journalist's writings prior to the article and have not seen once since, which shows alot about his credibility. However, at the time I thought that Crowe had offered very little but gained a lot of knowledge about how a jounalists mind would work.

All in all, I would say that this article showed how smart Crowe was when it came to dealing with the media.

Rainbow

STSAE said:

I have some good mates who are Manly fans and I would admit that they are smarter than me in most things but when it comes to football I tip them out.

What Souths has done appears perfectly logical to me. Gives the players a break from running up sand hills(they did that in November and I am not sure what benefit it gives).

It also shows other teams players that Souths is a progressive team.

Can you imagine George Ndaire talking to his ex teammates (who he had been slogging it out with 2 weeks earlier)?

This is what it is all about. Talent! Talent! Talent!

Next time Messrs Cherrington, Jones and Kennedy come off contract who will they want to move to?