Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Squad for 2021

I watched the second half closely again tonight and I must say Thomas Mikaele was more involved than any other forward in the second half. Often made 2 carries in a set.

The prop selection for round 1 will be interesting with Tamou, Joffa and Stefano seemingly locked in. I really do think Mikaele deserves the spot.

As for his competition, I think Seyfarth needs more time in reserve grade and looked a long way short of NRL when called up last year.

It is sad to see our highest paid forward in the reggies but I can't justify a place for Russell Packer. Looked unfit and off the pace.

Tamou, Joffa and stef, yep.

I will have to watch the half again for Mikaele, I was more swept up with the occasion and the more prominent plays.

I thought Packer was Ok. He saved that try.

Tuki had a good game, I liked his offload.

My mate made the point that it looks like Madge has really got them ready.

Des showed a bit of respect keeping his marquee out of harms way except poor Custy.

I’m not sure how long Allo played. They say he’s still effected by injury from last year. He looked like he had a good time and the players were civil to him after the match. That’s footy!

But Custy is a young gun and I thought he’d be ready to replace Foran when he’s inevitably injured, but now that puts pressure on Croker who has his own injury concerns. So it’s getting tough at Brookvale.

They present differently from us. You could spend all day at our club trying to find a marquee and go home empty handed. Not at Manly, heaps there, but I think their factory are much less able than ours.

Foran is a wonderful player at full pelt, he’s good for the game, I really hope he can avoid injury, but I just can’t see it.

BrotherJim05

Aloai was an average footballer until Madge turned him into a really good prop. He is going to go backwards at Manly and their fans are going to turn on him. I don't want to wish that upon anyone (apart from Moses or Matterson), but if I were a betting man I'd put the money on Aloai's career taking a nosedive at Manly.

Time will tell

BrotherJim05

If Joey and Luc fire we are going to score some points on that left edge.

Brooks will have a field day playing off the back of them. Brooks may lack a lot of organisational skills, but when the forwards are rolling he can setup tries like the best of them

Aloai was an average footballer until Madge turned him into a really good prop. He is going to go backwards at Manly and their fans are going to turn on him. I don't want to wish that upon anyone (apart from Moses or Matterson), but if I were a betting man I'd put the money on Aloai's career taking a nosedive at Manly.

Time will tell

I’ve been told the tigers medical staff believe his knee is ratshit, hence why they only offered him $350k or whatever it was compared to manlys $600k

He looked very under done on Sunday, didn’t dent our line at all

I’ve been told the tigers medical staff believe his knee is ratshit, hence why they only offered him $350k or whatever it was compared to manlys $600k

He came on and immediately had an impact. He looked fat but the guy can play. I read an article on the game and he was one of the only positives for Manly.

I wouldn't pay him 600k. I think it's crazy. He carried us last year though and he is an athletic prop. He is also fat right now but I assume he loses the weight.

I think we are paying Tamou 350k. We also have Mikaele, Joe O, Stef, Twal, Tuki Simpkins, Musgrove and Packer as middle forwards. I understand letting him go but he is a quality player.

The only problem I can see is Manly paying overs for him and then he has some poor moments the fans will turn on him.

Speedy Gonzales

He came on and immediately had an impact. He looked fat but the guy can play. I read an article on the game and he was one of the only positives for Manly.

I wouldn't pay him 600k. I think it's crazy. He carried us last year though and he is an athletic prop. He is also fat right now but I assume he loses the weight.

I think we are paying Tamou 350k. We also have Mikaele, Joe O, Stef, Twal, Tuki Simpkins, Musgrove and Packer as middle forwards. I understand letting him go but he is a quality player.

The only problem I can see is Manly paying overs for him and then he has some poor moments the fans will turn on him.

I think carried us is a bit of a stretch. His stats looked good because he was a 4th tackle hit up specialist, or he’d take a hit up after a quick PTB. You barely ever seen him take a hit up to get us out of our danger zone

I always thought his defence was suss too.

Anyways would’ve been happy to keep him but not on that offer manly gave him , aren’t they in for a shock

I have nothing but love for JA, the way he left didn’t leave a sour taste in my mouth as I believe he wanted to stay however was being lead by his manager who was repaying a debt to manly for taking AFB away.

He was great for us last year and by all reports was very popular with the playing group and entire staff. However when you look back his efforts are really all attack. He is still a sloppy defender even after 5 years of first grade. The embarrassing RCG 50m try was straight through him, there were numerous other examples too.

This isn’t an attack in the guy as he gave his all for us and said he has had plenty of praise for the fans, players and coaching staff. I think he’s a better player then Joe O however also very different. Joe is a rock solid defender who does an ample job with ball in hand, Aloiais the opposite. IMO our team needs an Ofa more then Aloiai.

I thought he was ordinary on Sunday, as you say he looked fat but no doubt will lose it. He ran at Liddle and Simpkin all afternoon and they both put him down fairly easily.

All the best to the guy, I just doubt he’ll end up being much of a loss, particularly if his knee is as bad as the club apparently believes.

Tiger Ted

Unlike the stupendous & irreplaceable Gareth Ellis, JA is dispensable.We have a no. of middle forwards with a tonne of ability who will do the job for us.

Perth Tiger

Agreed with most of the comments above. JA is a decent first grade standard player, manly will get some value out of him if he stays healthy. But I seriously doubt they will get 600K value out of him.

Yeah I’ve heard that too re knee.

I got the impression he was being used in a particular way in the trial, energy sapper.

I thought he disrespected the jersey with his comments, he just went too far.

I don’t wish him any genuine harm, but I’m happy to boo him as much as the cat.

But as much as Benji carried on, and as much as I think he’s tool cool for school and can be a flog, I wouldn’t boo or jeer him. That would lack humanity.