Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

State of origin series

Moving forward. Time to players to step aside.

Full back options
Edwards, Gutherson

Wingers
To'o, Saab, Crichton

Centres
Graham, Burton, Crichton, Mitchell

Halves
Cleary, Moses, Hynes

Edges
Martin, Young, Matterson, Butcher (if eligible)

Props/Lock
Haas, De Belin, Butcher (if Eligible) Murray, Yeo, RCG, Martin, Klimmer, Lenui

Hooker
Korisiou, Robson, B Brailey
The available players for NSW during the QLD 8 in a row are better the the current available ones

Girds89

Teddy was pathetic. Watching the game he was not even near the play on all but one occasion when QLd scored. He was jogging! Great player that he WAS he is now a HAS BEEN. Has to be dropped. Edwards game three then possibly Papy next year.

Papy will be lucky to make it back to the nrl.

A lot of his own updates don't exactly paint a positive picture.

Teddy has been a great servant of nsw make no mistake.

I'd hardly say he's past it.. but he's certainly not at the level he used to be.

No way Edwards can do what Walsh has done in attack. He's just not that kind of player.

What he brings is the biggest motor in the nrl.. you can vet your bottom dollar he'd put he's hand up for a carry when the rest of the team is out on their feet. You could guarantee he'd do everything in his power to be there to stop any try.. whether he has the attacking creativity needed to be a genuine gun at SOO level I don't know but I think he deserves a shot.

He's been the best fb the last 2 years. He's so so reliable and he simply just gets it done...

Does teddy deserve to go out in front of his nsw fans... no imo.

The future starts now.

Radical changes are needed.

I'd see if matty johns is available to coach. One of the smartest minds in the game I think.

Girds89

I'd agree with that.

The non Penrith options are either too old or not ready

100%

Which is why I hate the luai hate..

Cody or Reynolds either had to come in for game 2 with an eye to win this series alone. They are to old for future planning...

Burton really hasn't done anything at 5/8 at the dogs to suggest he could go to the next level at that position.

Nicho is a effing horrible defender

Moses I really like. I think he's a great player. He's a genuine star but when clearys at his best Moses isn't close.

There's a few others but luai is literally the best option atm imo.

Iamback

100%

Which is why I hate the luai hate..

Cody or Reynolds either had to come in for game 2 with an eye to win this series alone. They are to old for future planning...

Burton really hasn't done anything at 5/8 at the dogs to suggest he could go to the next level at that position.

Nicho is a effing horrible defender

Moses I really like. I think he's a great player. He's a genuine star but when clearys at his best Moses isn't close.

There's a few others but luai is literally the best option atm imo.

We are just starting to get teams better after having no 2nd tier footy with Covid.

Getting those guys to Origin level is 12-18 months away

If you put Hynes in Origin 6 and he played like Luai they'd be different comments, People let their hatred of Luai get in the way of reality

Papy will be lucky to make it back to the nrl.

A lot of his own updates don't exactly paint a positive picture.

Teddy has been a great servant of nsw make no mistake.

I'd hardly say he's past it.. but he's certainly not at the level he used to be.

No way Edwards can do what Walsh has done in attack. He's just not that kind of player.

What he brings is the biggest motor in the nrl.. you can vet your bottom dollar he'd put he's hand up for a carry when the rest of the team is out on their feet. You could guarantee he'd do everything in his power to be there to stop any try.. whether he has the attacking creativity needed to be a genuine gun at SOO level I don't know but I think he deserves a shot.

He's been the best fb the last 2 years. He's so so reliable and he simply just gets it done...

Does teddy deserve to go out in front of his nsw fans... no imo.

The future starts now.

Radical changes are needed.

I'd see if matty johns is available to coach. One of the smartest minds in the game I think.
Yep next game sets up next year. Also honestly what options do we have for coach? I wonder if Titans panicked and got Hasler in cause they thought NSW had him?

Girds89

Yep next game sets up next year. Also honestly what options do we have for coach? I wonder if Titans panicked and got Hasler in cause they thought NSW had him?
Gus 1000% won't do it. To old and just not in the interests if his career at this point in time.

I personally think his probably the best man for the job but he just won't do it.

Whilst matty has never coached I feel that's more due to his full time media responsibilities.

He's one of the smartest minds in the game.

He maybe wouldn't have his brothers passion bout I reckon the smarts to get it done.

What nsw need is just a complete rethink.

Freddie got it done earlier in his career playing to a certain style. But he hasn't adapted.

Nsw need a coach that can come up with a brand new game plan. Something not seen at nrl level. Something Billy can't plan for.

Billy himself said he watched qld players all year for there little moments. Things they do on and off the ball.... he watched every qld player all year incredibly closely and broke down the moments..

People think he wasn't also watching nsw players??? Finding out weaknesses...

He knew Freddie would pick cleary and that meant yeo and luai etc...

He knew the game plan and he picked it apart....

We need a coach that's not scared to make their own plans... be brave and revolutionise.

Like I've said sooo many times. I hope Ivan's been watching real close.

Penrith could learn a lot from nsw failings.

We either get ahead of the game or it'll pass us in a big moment.

We moved the game forward with how yeo plays but times have caught up.

I hope Ivan can make common sense changes.

They don't need to be radical at nrl as the defence and skill level isn't at origin standard bit we need ro adapt.

Goonji

Hooper is one of the biggest flogs out there. He's ratings the last 2 games have been a joke.

Luai was one of nsw better players in both games. Yet he's rated him basically as the worst.

He's a joke.

Poor old Jerome.. I mean... he basically doesn't drink. He's an absolute clean skin and never once been in trouble of the field..does a shitload for the community..

He is a character but the game needs that...

I mean the hate he cops from everyone is a joke..

I think Ivan needs to come out and say something publicly.. backing luai and all the great things he does for the game and our club.

I mean even some posters on here have just hammered him yet he's been a 5/8th in the last 3 gfs and winning 2. He's form has no doubt been up and down at times but imo so has nathans but he doesn't even cop 1/4 of what luai does on here.. even though he's on about 500k more....

The reason nsw lost the series had nothing to do with luai..

I hope he keeps his head up.. imo the last 5-6 weeks fir club and state we've seem small little signs to indicate he's closing in on getting back to his best.

Professional players can't always been I'm form. He's been a great panther. Be good to see at least our fans backing him in.

I for one don't think he's up himself or a wander at all..

He's a young kid with plenty of character and emotion. I guess that's to polarising for some and it's easier just to hate him
Well said. I hope Jerome never changes to please others. He is a top.player.

Moving forward. Time to players to step aside.

Full back options
Edwards, Gutherson

Wingers
To'o, Saab, Crichton

Centres
Graham, Burton, Crichton, Mitchell

Halves
Cleary, Moses, Hynes

Edges
Martin, Young, Matterson, Butcher (if eligible)

Props/Lock
Haas, De Belin, Butcher (if Eligible) Murray, Yeo, RCG, Martin, Klimmer, Lenui

Hooker
Korisiou, Robson, B Brailey
Kenny will be in the mix in two years time.

I’m not ready to throw Turbo on the heap yet; but he needs to be playing week-in, week-out at the Eagles to get a look in.

I’d move Yeo to prop to him and Murray into the same starting line-up.

I don’t really understand the Saab call; just a taller, less charismatic version of the Fox. Come to think of it, I’m not ready to call time on the Fox either; gotta be fit though.

NSW really needs to find a utility for the bench that can contribute without injury. Burton is about our best option at the moment, but you would only bring him on if someone went down injured. I know I am going to get shouted down, but maybe Brooks; I see him with potentially interesting half/hooker versatility; needs to be able to play in the centres though. Maybe Alamoti from the Dogs if we could get 10-15 minutes of good hooker from him. I know Tiny was a hooker coming through the grade. But I’m stretching because there isn’t an obvious candidate out there.

Overall though, a fair effort though Bossley!!

Gus 1000% won't do it. To old and just not in the interests if his career at this point in time.

I personally think his probably the best man for the job but he just won't do it.

Whilst matty has never coached I feel that's more due to his full time media responsibilities.

He's one of the smartest minds in the game.

He maybe wouldn't have his brothers passion bout I reckon the smarts to get it done.

What nsw need is just a complete rethink.

Freddie got it done earlier in his career playing to a certain style. But he hasn't adapted.

Nsw need a coach that can come up with a brand new game plan. Something not seen at nrl level. Something Billy can't plan for.

Billy himself said he watched qld players all year for there little moments. Things they do on and off the ball.... he watched every qld player all year incredibly closely and broke down the moments..

People think he wasn't also watching nsw players??? Finding out weaknesses...

He knew Freddie would pick cleary and that meant yeo and luai etc...

He knew the game plan and he picked it apart....

We need a coach that's not scared to make their own plans... be brave and revolutionise.

Like I've said sooo many times. I hope Ivan's been watching real close.

Penrith could learn a lot from nsw failings.

We either get ahead of the game or it'll pass us in a big moment.

We moved the game forward with how yeo plays but times have caught up.

I hope Ivan can make common sense changes.

They don't need to be radical at nrl as the defence and skill level isn't at origin standard bit we need ro adapt.
I feel both NSW and Penrith need to kick earlier in the tackle count.

Fangs

Some good names being mentioned but none of them are crazy enough to coach NSW.

Sterlo has said repeatedly in the past he will never take a head coach role and is now retired. And I'd be stunned if Matthew Johns did it as well, he has got a much better gig already.

I reckon it will be someone far less notable like a Dean Pay, John Cartwright or god forbid Trent Barrett.

Iamback

Some good names being mentioned but none of them are crazy enough to coach NSW.

Sterlo has said repeatedly in the past he will never take a head coach role and is now retired. And I'd be stunned if Matthew Johns did it as well, he has got a much better gig already.

I reckon it will be someone far less notable like a Dean Pay, John Cartwright or god forbid Trent Barrett.

None are good with the media.

It is media crap 10 months of the year, Just do what Mal did get better assistants for the technical stuff

For me someone like Buderus, has done a bit of coaching but is Media savy. In a man manager role and get some good assistants around him

Girds89

Luai is clearly a dickhead but most sides have a few
Whys he a dickhead??

Cause he is different.... cause he carries a speaker around and doesn't fit the mould of what you think a nrl player should be lol.

Get a grip you flog.

Deadset an absolute role model for every Polynesian kid and all of mount druit rl players.

Is a fine young man with a family who does his bit for his community and panthers on the prowl.

Never ever once been in trouble..

He doesn't fit the mould of what you think is ok so he is a dickhead lol.

So many players out there involved in absolute bs stuff like coke and are just avg humans. Yet you call luai a dickhead cause he acts different to what you think is normal haha.

You're a goose

Whys he a dickhead??

Cause he is different.... cause he carries a speaker around and doesn't fit the mould of what you think a nrl player should be lol.

Get a grip you flog.

Deadset an absolute role model for every Polynesian kid and all of mount druit rl players.

Is a fine young man with a family who does his bit for his community and panthers on the prowl.

Never ever once been in trouble..

He doesn't fit the mould of what you think is ok so he is a dickhead lol.

So many players out there involved in absolute bs stuff like coke and are just avg humans. Yet you call luai a dickhead cause he acts different to what you think is normal haha.

You're a goose
The problem I have with all of this is when Munster does exactly the same stuff that Luai does he is a larrikin and celebrated.

When the kids from Mt Druitt do it they are crass.