Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stephen Kearney and Parra

SDM

Some bastard offered me a wooden spoon, but when I held my hand out to accept my free cooking implement, the bastard took it away and said it was just a joke. So I called him an Indian Giver as I was drunk as, but in hindsight he was just a tight arse.

That's the thing mate.
I don't see too many here giving SK a wrap. His supporters are quite rightly suggesting we give him time.
No one is happy about the position we find ourselves in. It was embarressing yesterday having the words "wooden spooners" thrown at us all afternoon.
I for one am highly disappointed with our season. It's been absolutely diabolical results wise. But I can also see what he is trying to achieve, and am prepared to give him time to produce it.
If we are again wooden spooners next year, it will be becoming much clearer that maybe Keaney wasn't the right choice. But until then, I'm not prepared to death ride him.

Very good points Suity. Point taken.

Stay tuned.

Exactly.

They're hardly going to start their membership drive while the media focus is on our battle for the wooden spoon.

Our marketing for next year will focus on the new players, and it would be disrespectful (and probably not possible anyway) to do that while they're still playing for their current clubs.

DeanPay98

How do you define "quite well"? Finishing last?

We've been pretty competitive in a heap of games and have lead sides for significant portions of certain matches. We have really played an entire season without a recognised halfback or five-eight. Our only playmaker is Hayne and his running game at fullback has been hurt by having to play at 5/8. Casey McGuire has had to move from hooker to halfback. That has hurt his game as well. It has meant that Keating has had to play a full 80 minutes. Plus we now have two backrowers playing in the centres. Thats four players right there playing 80 minutes when under ordinary circumstances they would get subbed and rested. That kind of puts our second half fades into context.

We also have some diabolical options in the backs (Hicks, Etu etc). Morgan is inexperienced so much so that he's playing wing rather than center (he's been displaced by a forward).

Thats not even addressing the loss of Grothe, Tahu, and the absence of Reddy, Poore for the bulk of the season and the injury to Loko just as he was hitting form. Not to mention the Walker and Webb disappointments or Whatuira. Then there's cutting Mitchell --- but that might have been wise in light of cap issues.

Given the appalling personnel situation Kearney has done pretty well. We can see what he is trying to do. It remains to be seen as to whether he can achieve it with a better squad. I hope that he can.

The only blemishes for mine are his use of the interchange bench and the Billy Rogers saga.

This team might get the wooden spoon. But frankly, this is the most competitive wooden spoon team I've ever seen in all my time watching rugby league. This team deserves better than to be 16th. But sometimes it just does not go your way.

Wise Old Eel

Put everything in perspective 1.how well do you think Anderson would have gone with the same team this year? He had a team that made a grand final in 09 2. then added Poore Timana and Shack, we went from Grand Final to nothing.

Mooks was given this team this year, next year he will have a team that he wants and his tenure should be judged from next year on.

Mooks has made this club consistent we had a 10 week period where we were in every match we have played all year with no7 , no 6 and an average 9 and our best option for fullback playing 6 because he has to.

next year we will have a 7 and a 6 and hayne will go back to full back, we will have centers and we will be even more competitive by having the class to actually score points and finish of the games.

Mooks will be a good coach for the eels short term pain for long term gain ...

1. I am of the belief that we would not have run last under Anderson - but, of course, that is all hearsay. No one really knows what would have happened.
2. Anderson has stated publicly that the only players he wanted to bring to the club were Poore and Shackleton. The rest were added by Osborne and/or the board. Anyone who thinks DA had complete control of what was going on last year is kidding themselves.

I am yet to buy into all this hype surrounding Kearney. He was supposed to bring us structure. He gave us a boring, repetitive, easily contained game plan that other teams can see coming a mile off. He was supposed to instil a mental toughness that has never before been seen at Parramatta, yet how many games have we lost (choked) this year after being in a winning position? What he has delivered is the first wooden spoon in a LONG time. Not much of an achievement for a rookie coach that many were lauding as the next Wayne Bennett - let alone anything to warrant having faith in him for 2012.

Yes, next season, we will have a genuine halfback and a couple of decent centres (I could take or leave Ben Roberts). And yes he is supposed to be overseeing a change in how we bring our juniors through. It is all talk so far. I have not seen anything in this year's playbook that instils me with great optimism for 2012. I hope I am wrong, I really do.

Go the Eels.
WOE

I too am a little worried that sandow and Hayne wont fit into the style of structured footy.
I dont understand how you can call a game plan hit it up 5 times kick and chase.Only attack in red zone and on 5th put up the bomb. Anyone could coach that.
But i hold my opinion for next year.Perhpas Kearney has said look with this squad we need to play like this to stay competetive.
Part of me thinks he is a one trick pony and is trying to do a storm which wont work.Ive only started to think this in the last few weeks .We have nothing to play for so i wonder why arent we tossing it around bit for the fans...
Lets just wait and see thou.And as much as people say we will be even better in 2013...Hmm i think 2012 is our chance.HIndy-Burt will retire-Moi Moi may also and there will be big changes in 2013-Unless we recruit well we may have a weak squad

I too am a little worried that sandow and Hayne wont fit into the style of structured footy.
I dont understand how you can call a game plan hit it up 5 times kick and chase.Only attack in red zone and on 5th put up the bomb. Anyone could coach that.

Anyone could coach that but like Wayne Bennett says - coaching is 5% tactics and 95% man management.

The reason we've played this shit style all year is because it suits our players - up the guts for 4 and then give it to Hayne. Everyone else tackle, and when the ball comes to you catch it.

Sadly it was our best hope this year.

We won't play such a conservative game next year - Kearney had the Kiwis throwing the ball around when it suited their strengths. He might've been born yesterday but he started learning about footy long before that.

We have nothing to play for so i wonder why arent we tossing it around bit for the fans...

I guarantee we would see some of the ugly footy dished up from about mid-last year, lose 60% of possession and get destroyed.

I hate to say this but I think the market has delivered its verdict on DA. He just hasn't been considered when coaching jobs have come up.
Considering he would have had a hefty pay-out for the final year of his contract, maybe he wasn't putting his hand up for any coaching positions this year?

After uprooting his family from the other side of the world to come back for the job at the Eels, the guy is probably enjoying his paid year off work in 2011, thank you very much. I'd be surprised if DA isn't considered for coaching vacancies from 2012 onwards.

yy_cheng

what I don't like is that we don't attack an opposition weakness. we just do our preprogrammed robotic stuff. when hoppa was limping we didn't want to go near him

Willface

Are you DA's long lost bloody nephew. Christ the way you morn for this guy is unbelievable. He was treated harsh but s$@t the guy is gone and you have a cry about him in every other post will not bring him back. How about you put that support you so obviously have behind the team which now includes Kearney. God the guy has had one year with players that would struggle to get a starting spot in any other team (bar the obvious handful). Let the guy get the team he wants, rid us of the mistake plagued footy that has haunted us for the last ten years and get on with winning a premiership.

SDM

So tired today, up all night tossing and turning over DA losing his job almost 12 months ago.

84 Baby

I wonder if by some miracle we turn into 2012 minor premiers after being 2011 wooden spooners, if the papers will jerk as hard as they have been over Melbourne

parra pete

Jack Gibson ideas on coaching was to 'leave the joint in better shape than it was before he arrived.'
If Steve Kearney left now, would he be able to say that he did?
My own belief is yes he has...even though the Club looks doomed for the spoon.
An interesting stat would be..."If games were 75 minutes and not 80, how many competition points would Parramatta be?"

Strangely enough Pete, you're 100% correct don't worry about the results, the sort of systems put in place below the surface will assure that by next year onwards the results and development of players will come to the fore, also, look to more NYC players to be playing state cup next year!

Maroubra Eel

Strangely enough Pete, you're 100% correct don't worry about the results, the sort of systems put in place below the surface will assure that by next year onwards the results and development of players will come to the fore, also, look to more NYC players to be playing state cup next year!

Sounds really good. I'm looking forward to it.

parra pete

I am certainly not a member of the SK fan Club. Just watching the team perform this season it has been as stiff as cheddar not to have won the six or seven close matches that were decided in the dying moments. The team as a whole has improved, imo, even if results have gone south...
I would rather watch a team give it 100% and lose, than 50% and win.
If the opposition is too good, there is nothing you can do about it.
Like the coach who said to his player...."We are paying you $300K a season to stop that bloke". to which he replied "Yeah, but he's getting $400K a season to get around me!".
Just a few blokes making mistakes at the death of a game cost wins. It's frustrating for you people who follow the Eels..But that's the way it has always been.
When the Eels are leading by 16 points, do you ever feel comfortable they will win?
When they are trailing by 16 do you ever think they will catch up?
The answer to both is NO...
If Kearney can turn that attitude around, I reckon he will make a vast improvement. PLUS, there are several blokes in your team who WOULDN'T play first grade at other Clubs - and a couyple of players who have outlived their use by date. If you couldn't win a comp with them in 2009, you won't win one with them in 2012...

BigErn

When the Eels are leading by 16 points, do you ever feel comfortable they will win?
When they are trailing by 16 do you ever think they will catch up?
The answer to both is NO...
If Kearney can turn that attitude around, I reckon he will make a vast improvement.

...And what exactly has Kearney done to "turn that attitude around"?
If anything he has compounded those fears, and thrown in a couple of other things to worry about.