Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stewart, Watmough and Matai

Nice Beaver

It was always going to come to a head in some shape or form.

Whether it had been Gift or another player(s), one of this core "older" group was going to be moved on and the rest were going to spit it when it happened.

I love the club and always will. I hate to see players moved on who have been fantastic players for the team and brought us so much success.

BUT at the end of the day, the club has to be run as a business and a sporting team. Its a fine, fine line sometimes. Does any club get it right all the time? No.

If some hard choices are not made then Manly will be running around with six or seven 33 year olds in two years with a couple of hack halves because DCE and Foran have been poached. The fall from the penthouse to the basement would be swift and dramatic.

The club is doing the right thing here. They have to put in place succession planning. Any organisation that does not is geniused (see Aust cricket team 5 years ago...)

I truly think Matai should be released. He has not earnt anywhere near as much as the other veterans and wants to head home for one final payday and be near his sick brother. Love the bloke and would love him to stay but fairs fair.

As for Snake and Choc.....suck it up fellas. Its a business and if you want to keep playing in the finals games the club has to make some tough choices. Loyalty is a 2 way street. The club stuck by Snake in his hour of need. Yes his brother has not been shown appropriate respect (with no contract at all being offered) but move on.

The changing of the guard is happening like it or not playing group. Time for the Hiku's, Tafua's, DCE's, Buhrer's and Gutherson's of the team to take up the mantle of the core playing group for the years to come.

The Pip

Cant wait for the following to occur,

1 Matai to be released to take up the massive offer from the Warriors made to a player under contract for 2015 - its ok if its a pre November 14 negotiation, because Greenburg will say nothing is really happening, there is no offer.:sarcasm:

2 Watmough to extend his contract at Manly for 2 more years cause he cant see himself wearing another club's colours etc etc blah blah....

Its all about securing your future - cant blame them for doing so, they have seen what Glen Stewart copped and they don't want to be next.

Pretty sure Glen Stewart was the main anti DCE activist and that's why he was expendable.

BunniesMan

It was always going to come to a head in some shape or form.

Whether it had been Gift or another player(s), one of this core "older" group was going to be moved on and the rest were going to spit it when it happened.

I love the club and always will. I hate to see players moved on who have been fantastic players for the team and brought us so much success.

BUT at the end of the day, the club has to be run as a business and a sporting team. Its a fine, fine line sometimes. Does any club get it right all the time? No.

If some hard choices are not made then Manly will be running around with six or seven 33 year olds in two years with a couple of hack halves because DCE and Foran have been poached. The fall from the penthouse to the basement would be swift and dramatic.

The club is doing the right thing here. They have to put in place succession planning. Any organisation that does not is geniused (see Aust cricket team 5 years ago...)

I truly think Matai should be released. He has not earnt anywhere near as much as the other veterans and wants to head home for one final payday and be near his sick brother. Love the bloke and would love him to stay but fairs fair.

As for Snake and Choc.....suck it up fellas. Its a business and if you want to keep playing in the finals games the club has to make some tough choices. Loyalty is a 2 way street. The club stuck by Snake in his hour of need. Yes his brother has not been shown appropriate respect (with no contract at all being offered) but move on.

The changing of the guard is happening like it or not playing group. Time for the Hiku's, Tafua's, DCE's, Buhrer's and Gutherson's of the team to take up the mantle of the core playing group for the years to come.

And where are you at if DCE leaves after this contract because of the other decisions you've made?

ManlyMania

Players have to be careful here. Rarely if ever does a Manly player leave and go on to bigger and better things. If the club allow Matai to leave then the next day they may get 2 or 3 others knocking on the door. Also could start other players doing the same thing at other clubs. A contract is a contract - honour it.

As a side point and if Matai is contracted for next year arnt the warriors doing wrong offering him a deal for next year?

ManlyMania

And where are you at if DCE leaves after this contract because of the other decisions you've made?

Reading between the lines the decisions being made are for cherry Evans getting the upgrade he wants - problem is if he takes that much that we end up being like the cowboys with thurston.

LazyDreamer

After the Bulldogs' post-salary cap rort & the players all agreeing to paycuts to stay together & win a comp, I thought the NRL tried to bring in rules to prevent players allegedly* doing this? Guessing it was unworkable then.

*I say allegedly because I think it's bollocks & merely what the players are saying to cover their under-the-table payments. Every player knows they're in the game for a short time, and I find it extremely hard to believe so many players have taken unders for so long just to stay together.

Sea_Eagles_Rock

Keep in mind the tax rates. They would all be on the highest tax bracket. A 50K smaller contract is only about 28K after tax. If you have to sell a house in Sydney to move, you are going to pay that in agent fees alone. Let alone moving expenses and disruption to family life.

eozsmiles

They'll have cash to spend on another halfback, or they'll just find one. They won a comp with Orford ffs, developed Tooves, found Hasler, and now they found DCE. Manly are a winning club, they get shit done. Sad but true.

eozsmiles

After the Bulldogs' post-salary cap rort & the players all agreeing to paycuts to stay together & win a comp, I thought the NRL tried to bring in rules to prevent players allegedly* doing this? Guessing it was unworkable then.

*I say allegedly because I think it's bollocks & merely what the players are saying to cover their under-the-table payments. Every player knows they're in the game for a short time, and I find it extremely hard to believe so many players have taken unders for so long just to stay together.

TPA's aren't part of the club's deal, so they can be scrapped if need be. I read that this is what a couple of Manly players have done in recent seasons. And I'm pretty sure I've heard a contract can be downgraded by no more than 10%, but that may have changed.

I don't think pay cuts have been common, more that players have accepted smaller deals or backended deals to stay. They aren't pay cuts, just bad deals lol

Nice Beaver

What? Like cutting the bloke who seems to be the biggest instigator of shit re DCE's money? Yeah sounds like a reason for him to leave....

DCE will get the upgrade, a couple of older players will leave or retire and Manly will keep on winning.

Oh, and Souths will continue to under deliver year after year :D

betcats

Whos the biggest instigator? Heard manly are negotiating an extension for Choc on the radio today.

zombie jesus

Whos the biggest instigator? Heard manly are negotiating an extension for Choc on the radio today.

Watmough's first reaction to Stewart leaving was to get his management working on an extension with the club. Rumours have flown since but he couldn't have been too upset with the club, he'll stay.

oikee

Manly is holding back players from becoming true superstars of the code. ???

You look at the Manly roster and realise the waste of great players all trying to make a name for themselves, yet all bundled up in a Manly team where they dont look like superstars individually.
So by playing at Manl;y and apparently being paid peanuts to do so, they have wasted a career at top level and being paid superstar wages.
Cherry Evans, Queensland and Australian halfback in waiting, Forun, Kiwi half and hardly gets noticed. Watmough, Stewarts and Ballin, all just Manly players. Lyons and Matai, now unwanted except at Manly where they grow older without much fanfare, only by Manly fans, they will never go down as all time greats of anything. Forgotten when the next lot of kids take their spotlight, all because they got caught up in the Manly bubble. There stature has been diminished because they all wish to stay at a club where their true value and status is being undervalued because of the talent this club refuses to let go to get true value for the players.
Nobody wants old Manly rejects now on their last legs, and the only player wanted by clubs is Cherry-Evans. If he stays at Manly he will forever flog a dead horse because other clubs are bigger, stronger, and growing at twice the pace of Manly and their bubble.

Manly as a club seem to be selfish with players, and promise them the world with back-handed deals, ? what, for pensioners.
This club needs to fall in line with other clubs and stop doing backhanded underhanded deals.

Scaven

You look at the Manly roster and realise the waste of great players all trying to make a name for themselves, yet all bundled up in a Manly team where they dont look like superstars individually.
So by playing at Manl;y and apparently being paid peanuts to do so, they have wasted a career at top level and being paid superstar wages.
Cherry Evans, Queensland and Australian halfback in waiting, Forun, Kiwi half and hardly gets noticed. Watmough, Stewarts and Ballin, all just Manly players. Lyons and Matai, now unwanted except at Manly where they grow older without much fanfare, only by Manly fans, they will never go down as all time greats of anything. Forgotten when the next lot of kids take their spotlight, all because they got caught up in the Manly bubble. There stature has been diminished because they all wish to stay at a club where their true value and status is being undervalued because of the talent this club refuses to let go to get true value for the players.
Nobody wants old Manly rejects now on their last legs, and the only player wanted by clubs is Cherry-Evans. If he stays at Manly he will forever flog a dead horse because other clubs are bigger, stronger, and growing at twice the pace of Manly and their bubble.

Manly as a club seem to be selfish with players, and promise them the world with back-handed deals, ? what, for pensioners.
This club needs to fall in line with other clubs and stop doing backhanded underhanded deals.

Haha, thanks for the laugh, that's the best thing I've read for a looonnnggg time.

Yeah other clubs are bigger and stronger than Manly (the most successful club in the last 10 years, and who are currently leading the comp).

They are apparently doing backhanded deals too, must be why they let Glenn Stewart go and Kite, Rose etc etc.

Great read 5 stars...

thorson1987

BROWN-BOTTLE.gif

Nice Beaver

:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

What is it that runs through your clearly pea sized brain that makes you put this shit in actual writing for the world to see?

Time after time you just show what an absolute dickhead gibberer you are. It is so amazingly consistent.

Manly and its supporters will console ourselves with our crazy methods by celebrating more grand final appearances and wins while "forward thinking" clubs like the powerhouse that is the Bronco's continue to show the way with its stellar performances over the past 5 years.

You are a Bronco's supporter aren't you? The club under investigation for salary cap breaches??? Worry about your own f*cking shambles of a backyard you geniused dimwit.

The Pip

Mate, trying to read your garbage gave me a headache - what did your diatribe actually mean? Btw, admire your use of the English language...don't let grammar get in the way of your crap.