Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Storm Rorts Report

doesn't matter whether its 1 year or 4 years, still comes out of next years cap, according to what I have read

I also read their concessions wont apply till they demonstrate they are under the cap, which maybe they do by releasing the details of the audit

macavity

I hope so, we can build a team around them and move forward at long last.

Are Storm fans actually getting any sympathy from fans of other clubs? I can feel for the supporters, but geez your franchise f**ked you over.

I personally think the only fair punishment is for all Storm players (inc u20s), irrespective of current contract, to be put into a silent auction - top bidding NRL team gets them.

The Storm can bid too - and can start putting together a team again after the auction is over. If they only end up with a few players, well they can use their "renowned recruitment network" to fill their squad from lower grades. Lets see how they do it without offering double.

I know it won't happen, but it is really the only fair way to disassemble an illegally assembled team. The Storm don't deserve any favours here.

Last edited by a moderator:

johns_reds

I read in the article below that the storm players (cronk, inglis, smith, slater) have negotiated thier contracts to 2.2m for next season, so storm have 2.1m left for the rest of the squad, i read somewhere earlier in the year they weren't allowed to renegotiate and if storm keep the players they have to pay them what they negotiated during the cheating, is this still correct????

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...etain-superstars/story-e6frexnr-1225891355600

jc155776

That merkin of a club cheated my team out of a chance to play in the 08 Decider.

Scum.

So are any of their supporters that stand by them for what they did.

petetheileet

Are Storm fans actually getting any sympathy from fans of other clubs? I can feel for the supporters, but geez your franchise f**ked you over.

I personally think the only fair punishment is for all Storm players (inc u20s), irrespective of current contract, to be put into a silent auction - top bidding NRL team gets them.

The Storm can bid too - and can start putting together a team again after the auction is over. If they only end up with a few players, well they can use their "renowned recruitment network" to fill their squad from lower grades. Lets see how they do it without offering double.

I know it won't happen, but it is really the only fair way to disassemble an illegally assembled team. The Storm don't deserve any favours here.

Top idea Mac!!!

Goddo

+1. I know they want to make players move on and get the same money so it preserves their income, but what if the players were complicit in the cheating?

The other reason is to make sure they move on at market value, but why shouldn't the other clubs get a chance for bargain prices at the expence of melbourne?

joseph1

Hate the storm for what theyve done. And will not forgive them while their directors are being a bunch of sore loser twigs and refuse to let players go abd try taking the nrl to court. Kick them out of the comp

That merkin of a club cheated my team out of a chance to play in the 08 Decider.

Scum.

So are any of their supporters that stand by them for what they did.

mate the sharks would have lost to a walnut in that game. we were hopeless.

Noa

Funny how the most important thing to News was that the four independent directors step down.
Almost sounds like they were trying to dish out dirt on them more than anyone else.

Yep, but they didnt ask that of there own directors, funny that.

Are Storm fans actually getting any sympathy from fans of other clubs? I can feel for the supporters, but geez your franchise fcucked you over.

Maybe wouldn't go about it that far, but any contracts should be torn up and then they can keep who they can keep and any club should be able to able to bid.

Deadset the fact that clubs agreed to leave their players alone til all this was sorted was the biggest fallacy ever, it should have been open season on them from the get go.

meltiger

They were, until many of them started acting like peanuts all over the web. The particular individual you were addressing is deserving of nothing but ridicule.

------

What's with the "4 years stuff" people keep saying

Doesn't the report say 2006 through to the end of this year? Last time I checked, that was 5 years lol

Chook Herron

I'd say most league supporters would feel the same way if any other club was found to be cheating the cap to the same degree. In fact I wouldn't mind these independent auditors going through the books of the other 15 clubs to make sure

dollyhands

Cool beans, good idea........ Def won't happen though

dollyhands

Why is everyone saying 3.2mil over 4 years?? '06 '07 '08 '09 '10. Now i can't count that good but i think that makes 5, not including '11(not sure if 3.2mil is taken from next year too)

dragon_around

And Gould said just cull 1.7m worth of talent to get them under the cap and let them play for points this year!

which one of their 2 or 3 contracts each do you use to value the $1.7m worth of talent.

Dont think Gus put much thought into that