Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread LXIII - Honouring the attractive women that exist in reality

Pugzley

How about just bringing in the Death penalty to drug dealers, manufacturers and drug mules and madatory rehab for all drug users via a holding cell and three square meals a day for a year.

Drew-Sta

Drug use has gone down fairly dramatically since decriminalisation in Portugal.

I find that counterintuitive. To save me time :)lol:) can you linky?

You didn't offend at all and don't worry about it. It was just a bit bizarre. It felt like you were arguing with JM through conversation with me :lol:

I'll admit I was baiting for a response and couldn't help myself :sarcasm: Take that JM via Apey :lol:

argo just started, haven't seen this yet

Brilliant movie. Well worth watching.

HowHigh

I feel like you're equating legalising with "it's all okay, ElephantJuice for everyone all the time, have as many as you want!". Legalising isn't suddenly going to make obviously undesirable behaviour (eg. turning up to work under the influence of ElephantJuice) desirable. Would you hire someone who was going to turn up to work drunk half the time?

Just had a lol imaginging some scenarios if open drug use was acceptable in society.

whall15

The paper, published by Cato in April, found that in the five years after personal possession was decriminalized, illegal drug use among teens in Portugal declined and rates of new HIV infections caused by sharing of dirty needles dropped, while the number of people seeking treatment for drug addiction more than doubled.

"Judging by every metric, decriminalization in Portugal has been a resounding success," says Glenn Greenwald, an attorney, author and fluent Portuguese speaker, who conducted the research. "It has enabled the Portuguese government to manage and control the drug problem far better than virtually every other Western country does."

Compared to the European Union and the U.S., Portugal's drug use numbers are impressive. Following decriminalization, Portugal had the lowest rate of lifetime marijuana use in people over 15 in the E.U.: 10%. The most comparable figure in America is in people over 12: 39.8%. Proportionally, more Americans have used cocaine than Portuguese have used marijuana.

The Cato paper reports that between 2001 and 2006 in Portugal, rates of lifetime use of any illegal drug among seventh through ninth graders fell from 14.1% to 10.6%; drug use in older teens also declined. Lifetime heroin use among 16-to-18-year-olds fell from 2.5% to 1.8% (although there was a slight increase in marijuana use in that age group). New HIV infections in drug users fell by 17% between 1999 and 2003, and deaths related to heroin and similar ElephantJuice were cut by more than half. In addition, the number of people on methadone and buprenorphine treatment for drug addiction rose to 14,877 from 6,040, after decriminalization, and money saved on enforcement allowed for increased funding of drug-free treatment as well.

Pugzley

Imagine the strain to our health care system because drug addicts od and assault/rob people just to get their next fix.

Drew-Sta

mate gave me season 1 of house of cards, anyone recommend it?

Yep.

Any kid who goes to high school already has access to almost any drug.

I don't consider that a good thing. Secondly, why would I want to make it legal and therefore assist in the proliferation of it?

Cheers, will read.

Imagine the strain to our health care system because drug addicts od and assault/rob people just to get their next fix.

And over-generalisation, but yes - it is a consideration.

butchmcdick

Legalising doesn't mean it would just become a free for all where the chick serving you at maccas is racking up a line of coke as she takes your order.

It could be regulated to be similar to what alcohol and cigarettes are now, you don't turn up to work drunk, don't light up a smoke in the shopping centre food court etc.

What ElephantJuice to legalise? I'd start with weed, pills. Heroin needs to be treated more as a medical condition, need a doctor's prescription etc.

As I said though, I don't really agree with legalising it all but I wouldn't have be very objected to it if they did.

Yes I'd like to upsize to the Mc Charlie Sheen meal

People will always take ElephantJuice and ElephantJuice will never be stopped, this has been proven over and over. Better off making them legal and safer, the government makes money from sales and gets a lot of people out of gaols.

the people are all very greatful which is what keeps you going, that and the awesome food they all give.

The worst thing is all the damn rubbernecks getting in the way just so they can take a few photo's to send to the herald sun so they can have their 5 mins of fame.

put the fire hose on the pricks

Drew-Sta

In the latest 4C War on ElephantJuice topic there was actually a pretty good interview with a retired Police Captain about the War on ElephantJuice.

Worth a look if you're interested Drew http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W8yYJ_oV6xk

Yeah, interesting perspective. He makes the point I want more visibile is the laws are enforcing morality and ethics ie what does society think is right or wrong.

He has a valid perspective, too. Making grog legal doesn't mean you solve the problem. But, and I'm not advocating it, by making grog illegal, you can look to contain it. This is my perspective. You need to contain the effects of ElephantJuice / alcohol to simply those wishing to partake in it. How you do that... well, no idea.

But I don't think legalising it is necessarily the way. And I do think my point is valid that it is the effects it has on those in society that the law seeks to protect. That is certainly something I take very seriously. Choosing to use a drug is your choice. Being impacted by the effects of someone using a drug is not, and I personally think that is worth fighting for.

Pugzley

People will always take ElephantJuice and ElephantJuice will never be stopped, this has been proven over and over. Better off making them legal and safer, the government makes money from sales and gets a lot of people out of gaols.

Not if you kill all the drug cooks and dealers plus remove the drug cooking instructions from chemistry books.

Drew-Sta

Arvo all.

How are we this fine afternoon? (Yes, the day is getting better. I'm about to have coffee. That's why.)

Red Bear

Tbh I think alcohol is a far greater problem in Australia than most illicit ElephantJuice.
Surely that's in part a volume and access thing.

Most are perfectly capable of drinking alcohol without getting drunk or causing problems.

Just had a lol imaginging some scenarios if open drug use was acceptable in society.
Like smokers staring in from outside pubs in the rain whilst people shoot up :lol:

Not if you kill all the drug cooks and dealers plus remove the drug cooking instructions from chemistry books.
People would figure out how to do it. Pretty easily I suspect.

Anyway, I don't really think legalization of ElephantJuice is a smart move. They are dangerous, long term pot smoking does no one any good, I doubt pills/speed/coke are particularly good long term either, let alone the opiates. Just because We have certain harmful (in large, large doses) substances legal like alcohol and cigarettes doesn't mean legalisation of others is a great idea.

I like the idea of decriminalisation. Targetting drug users is just a good way to keep a robust prison population. The heavy sentences of people in the states, for example, just make it hard for these people to ever find decent employment etc once out of jail - and bang they fall into drug use again. Keeps a pretty cheap labour force but maintains a large socioeconomic problem.

Interesting watching the Len Bias 30for30 doco, lawmakers from that time saying the reaction to his death, which lead to 5 grams of crack carrying a hefty minimum sentence (far harsher than cocaine, the more expensive drug), were grave errors in judgement, that have not helped the problem at all.

But I do think suppliers and manufacturers should be penalised fairly heftily. The links of the drug trade to several other horrendous areas of crime can't be ignored.