Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread LXIX - Honouring Mork from Ork - RIP Robin Williams

you can make $70 work..

say you get frozen meals from the supermarket as your dinner. pick whichever is on special that week, as there is always one around $5. or given dominos are now doing $5 pizzas every day of the week, you could substitute those in instead for a bit of variety..

so that's 7 x dinners = $35.

for lunch, get a loaf of supermarket branded bread ($2) and some butter + condiments like vegemite & jam. say $3 week (once you amortise the total cost of the butter + condiments across the number of weeks they would be used)

so there's 7 x lunches = $5

then for breakfast get a box of conflakes each week ($5) plus some milk ($2)

so 7 x breakfasts = $7

that's a total of $47, which would leave you $23 for incidentals such as treats, toiletries, or the occasional subway or pub dinner etc..

having moved out of home and been self sufficient from an early age, i learned to live cheap. it's not fun, but you cope.

I spend at least $10 / day on lunch alone.

I very rarely, if ever make my own lunch.

Bad habit, I know, but I don't like to lock myself into what I'm having for lunch 4 or 5 hours before I eat it.

AlwaysGreen

You can definitely live on $10 of food a day. You might be eating shit and reducing your life expectancy but it can be done. Do it BM.

In saying that, it hasn't always been that way for me. When I was a poor uni student living out of home, I lived off sandwiches and 2 minute noodles with the odd cheap Tuesday pizza thrown in for good measure.

BBQ and salad also used to be a staple at my place. It's amazing how cheap and easy it is to whip up a good garden salad. Couple that with a few snags or some rissoles and you have a pretty cheap feed. Of course, you could also couple it with a nice piece of rump on pay day.

that's sad..

everyone should get to spend their lunch hour with others..

next time i'm up your way, i'll meet you for lunch so you aren't spending it alone, at least for one day..

Lame joke aside... I would take you up on that offer and break bread with you Muzby if I knew you actually meant it.

I reckon you have some weird pre-conceived ideas about what I'm actually like and a lunch meeting may actually help to break that down.

You certainly wouldn't be the first person I've met from this forum and I think I can say that all that I have met would think that I'm a decent sort of a bloke.

Lame joke aside... I would take you up on that offer and break bread with you Muzby if I knew you actually meant it.

I reckon you have some weird pre-conceived ideas about what I'm actually like and a lunch meeting may actually help to break that down.

You certainly wouldn't be the first person I've met from this forum and I think I can say that all that I have met would think that I'm a decent sort of a bloke.

i knew it.. i knew this was you on the opera house..

852431-276b24c2-d8dc-11e3-8125-0ad81a58de5e.jpg

BunniesMan

It is a myth that healthy food is more expensive than junk food.

My $70 a week budget assumes eating out only once a week, and that's a cheap Maccas or Pizza or Chinese feed for around $10.

Breakfast:
6 good days a week: 4 weet bix, a glass of milk, a piece of fruit. 25 cents for a glass of milk, 41 cents for 4 weet bix. One serve of fruit: approx $1.
1 naughty day a week: 100g bacon, 3 eggs. Bacon: 86 cents. 3 eggs: 91 cents.

So a weeks worth of breakfast is $11.73.

I won't bother going into detail for the lunch and dinner but that means over $58 those 14 meals. Easy. My snack food is a $3 bag of unsalted nuts that last a couple of weeks. And maybe for dessert a $3 brownie mix that has enough serves for a fortnight.

$70 a week or $10 a day goes a long way if you don't eat out. You can easily afford a nutritious diet on that budget.

t-ba

Can almost guarantee that someone not disciplined enough to even remotely attempt to move even an inch forward in their life and not move out of mummy and daddy's house until their mid 20's will lack the discipline to keep to such a strict regimen...

BunniesMan

Can almost guarantee that someone not disciplined enough to even remotely attempt to move even an inch forward in their life and not move out of mummy and daddy's house until their mid 20's will lack the discipline to keep to such a strict regimen...

I already eat like that. That wasn't about just when I move. I've been feeding myself on $70 a week for a while. And IMO I don't see it as overly strict and disciplined.

It is a myth that healthy food is more expensive than junk food.

My $70 a week budget assumes eating out only once a week, and that's a cheap Maccas or Pizza or Chinese feed for around $10.

Breakfast:
6 good days a week: 4 weet bix, a glass of milk, a piece of fruit. 25 cents for a glass of milk, 41 cents for 4 weet bix. One serve of fruit: approx $1.
1 naughty day a week: 100g bacon, 3 eggs. Bacon: 86 cents. 3 eggs: 91 cents.

So a weeks worth of breakfast is $11.73.

I won't bother going into detail for the lunch and dinner but that means over $58 those 14 meals. Easy. My snack food is a $3 bag of unsalted nuts that last a couple of weeks. And maybe for dessert a $3 brownie mix that has enough serves for a fortnight.

$70 a week or $10 a day goes a long way if you don't eat out. You can easily afford a nutritious diet on that budget.

This should come with the following disclaimer-

*Supplemented with an unlimited supply of "protein shots" out the back of a single sex night club that BM frequents every night of the week.

Misanthrope

As healthy and economical as that sounds, BM - what is the point of living like that? I mean, aside from ensuring you're bored enough with life that you'll somehow find Melbourne remotely enjoyable.

Misanthrope

All this talk of living like a pauper makes me sad. Life's too short to piss it away on counting coins.

see that is hard to believe when you then say stuff like this:

This should come with the following disclaimer-

*Supplemented with an unlimited supply of "protein shots" out the back of a single sex night club that BM frequents every night of the week.

decent blokes wouldn't say that...

how could i trust entering into a meal arrangement with you when you say one thing but act another way?

soc123_au

$70.00 a week? f**k that. I would spend about that on Coffee. Life is too short to be that tight.