Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread LXVI: Honouring Whinging Dragons Fans

sensesmaybenumbed

I felt bit bad for trolling this women on the Knights page.

Kathryn Saunders Your a wanker mate. Every week twice a week I take my 7 yr old son to footy training and them to the game. I get up at 6am on sat mornings for home games to help set up the ground. Go and crawl back into the hole you came out of you shithead......!!

God-King Dean You want a medal because you can drive, & have an alarm clock?

Haven't had this much fun in a while.

LOL. Quality bait there sir.

sensesmaybenumbed

The most obvious solution is that the Liberals are just a worse party, and that they piss off a more vocal portion of the population. Labor typically piss off the wealthy, who are less likely to be on forums or participating in marches to voice their displeasure.

They'll just bribe/finance a politician who'll better represent their interests.

Bloody effective too.

Drew-Sta

Please Drew, read the bit I wrote about opportunity cost. Then go and read up on the concept. It is something which is completely non-controversial between all the schools of economic thought I'm familiar with.

Mate, I'm very aware of the concept of opportunity cost. The problem is you're starting from the point that the government should play absolutely no role in the economy except to allow free trade and markets to rule. Its the presupposition you use.

Consequently, you claim the government stifles those markets and trade whenever it dribbles its feet in the water. This is the opportunity cost; government jobs or free market jobs.

The issue is you've distorted an economic principle to suit your own view of how the economy should run. If I have an apple and an orange, and can only purchase one, the opportunity cost is I miss out on one to get the other. Its very simple. But you're suggesting the government, the purchaser, should not buy the apple or the orange and allow other people to buy them.

Where your argument falls down is someone needs to actually buy the apple for the seller to get the money. You're suggesting it is better for free markets to determine it all, but I'm suggesting governments are a viable entity when run correctly and should be allowed the chance to buy the apple if it means it can pay someone or feed someone or contribute to the furthering of the society we live in.

After all, markets are only there to allow society to continue; they are not the sole entity from which everything circles.

Besides, no government = anarchy, and frankly I don't want that.

To address your specific example: the government has no funds of its own to build an airport. The government can only build said airport by confiscating the funds from the private sector (either in the form of tax or debt, or both). This siphoning of funds shrinks the economy, by definition. It slows growth, it costs jobs, it shrinks the overall wealth of the people. Now the government funds the airport, and the money flows back into the economy. The question is, what is the net overall benefit or cost of this transaction? Does it really stimulate more economic activity than it destroyed to obtain the funding?

Look at it this way: every dollar the government takes, no matter where it is redirected, would have been used for some activity or other in private hands (either now or in the future). The question is, who are the more productive, efficient directors of economic activity: private citizens, or bureaucrats? Who are better at investing wealth in ways that generate more wealth: the people or the government?

You do realise Adam Smith wasn't totally right, and Alan Greenspan was if not directly responsible for the GFC, then at the least a major reason for it? Complete government deregulation leads to market meltdown because noone can then control the greed of the super rich. Bloody hell, it is that simple.

You are so so so wrong on so many things. I honestly do not know if I have the time to invest in showing you why.

I will say one thing though.

Now the government funds the airport, and the money flows back into the economy. The question is, what is the net overall benefit or cost of this transaction? Does it really stimulate more economic activity than it destroyed to obtain the funding?

The market sees more consistent returns over the years BECAUSE the project was enacted. If the airport cost 1000 dollars, and there were 1000 citizens, and the average revenue was 5000 per year and the average wage per year 50 dollars, and the number of jobs created were 100, then of course if makes sense for the government to tax the citizens 1 dollar each, to create 100 citizens a job, then tax the revenue of the airport so it can make FUTURE infrastructure investments that generate more jobs.

So in essence, yes - the government doing it is right. The issue is the current process is prone to greed because of free markets and so the government isn't able to actually produce the airport for the right cost.

Have you read Lenin and Marx? Have you read Smith, Greenspan? Have you read Owen and Hayek? Economic thought is so varied and diverse and dependent on so many things. The West's fixation with capitalism and free markets have completely destroyed the natural economic movements a free market should have through greed and wealth hoarding.

You need to open your mind a bit. Government intervention in economic situation is, when applied correctly, a positive thing to market stimulation.

Shouldn't the respective, tax exempt churches pay for the ability to spread their religion to impressionable children? If we're talking counsellors, I'm all for it, but given who is in power, I sincerely doubt he's worried about something airy like 'feelings'.

Its more complicated than that [/QUOTE]

f**k me Labor supporters are blind. Both major parties routinely screw over their constituents. It is what political parties do. Labor are just more subtle and clever about it.

Rubbish. Both are as good as the other. Liberals maintained the longest two stretches of government (Menzies and Howard) through excellent propaganda machines.

Apey

I'm a supporter of neither party, the voters who hurt us the most are the ones who pick a side.

Funniest and honestly most batshit insane thing I've seen in 4C is still Pantherjim saying people who don't pick a side and stick with it (no matter what) are the problem :lol:

Apey

Kathryn Saunders Your a wanker mate. Every week twice a week I take my 7 yr old son to footy training and them to the game. I get up at 6am on sat mornings for home games to help set up the ground. Go and crawl back into the hole you came out of you shithead......!!

Made the mistake of accepting my mother's friend request on FB so I'll stay clear of this one just in case...

I'm in electronics. Who's your Dad?

BTW F35 (from what I understand) will be based in S.A. How dumb is that if we want to use them up north?

Nah the commander (not his rank just what we call him) was a ship driver and then Intel. Plus I remembered you're probably a lot younger lol. But, and no offence, the only thing I trust my dad on its military stuff. He's never known or really cared about much else. He says the F35 will be onboard within ten years, I have no reason to disbelieve that. Particularly as he would have a lot to do with the people in charge who are all old college mates. They will be at Williamstown too fyi.

Misanthrope

It's all well and good to say it's more complicated than that, drew; but I'm hardly going to be able to understand your position if that's all you say.

Apey

And your challenge is to respond without mentioning Jesus/God :sarcasm:

The most obvious solution is that the Liberals are just a worse party, and that they piss off a more vocal portion of the population. Labor typically piss off the wealthy, who are less likely to be on forums or participating in marches to voice their displeasure.

They'll just bribe/finance a politician who'll better represent their interests.

As a political neutral I see very little difference between the two parties.

ek999

Just saw that page, f**king awesome. Who is Pat Hossack? He's got some quality trolling going on with Kurt Gidley for Origin

Ozzy

Nah the commander (not his rank just what we call him) was a ship driver and then Intel. Plus I remembered you're probably a lot younger lol. But, and no offence, the only thing I trust my dad on its military stuff. He's never known or really cared about much else. He says the F35 will be onboard within ten years, I have no reason to disbelieve that. Particularly as he would have a lot to do with the people in charge who are all old college mates. They will be at Williamstown too fyi.

Bazal no offence taken. I'm one of the civilians that repairs their electronics. What ship did he serve on? My knowledge comes from what projects come up. The Spanish ships were talked about for quite a few years. If the F35's are going to be mated with the ship, at least someone used their brain and will place them at Williamtown.

Dad was on HMAS Yarra for years. Dunno about before that, he was on some small vessels prior and then went into Intel after Yarra. He was at Garden Island for a long time in that role and then went back a few years ago which is why I asked. But he's in Brisbane now.

sensesmaybenumbed

It's all well and good to say it's more complicated than that, drew; but I'm hardly going to be able to understand your position if that's all you say.

I think Drew is politely saying that his POV and mine (and perhaps yours) simply will not share common ground and a forum like this is not the time or place.

why can't he mention me?

You don't exist!

Drew-Sta

Agree to disagree then Drew. I see much more vehemently anti Liberal sentiment than I ever did for Labor. But maybe that comes from living in a pro Labor/Greens town

That's fair enough.

Secular society is just a worldview of how church and state should exist. I agree the church should not interfere with the state per se, but you can't exorcise what a person believes from how they then represent as a politician. Even politicians who don't believe in God still have constituents that do, and so they must understand that these constituents will vote with their faith in mind / with principles of religion existing in what they want from their politician.

Consequently, some parents will want a religious figure in the school to teach about their religion. Given the state, rightly, does not want to teach about religion, then the need for a counselor, teacher, pastoral care etc comes to the fore. Given religion is a bit part of society also (inescapably so), there should be a duty by the government to give kids as rounded an education as possible by providing chaplains / mufti's to teach the kids about religion.

Since the churches themselves (and this is generally speaking, some are not in this category), while being tax exempt, are reliant on the funds of parishioners to pay for ministers etc (which is why they are tax exempt - they are essentially all reliant on tithing) it is somewhat impossible for them to pay for their minister and then pay for a chaplain for each school in their parish.

Therefore, I do believe the hiring and support of chaplains is a worthwhile exercise. But I don't think it is a priority for this budget, given the way the poor, the sick and the elderly are getting shafted.

Its easier taking face to face about this. A lot of political / social philosophy involved.

And your challenge is to respond without mentioning Jesus/God :sarcasm:

Drew-Sta

I think Drew is politely saying that his POV and mine (and perhaps yours) simply will not share common ground and a forum like this is not the time or place.

Pretty much. But he asked twice so I answered as best as I could.

I don't think anyone will agree with it - which was my reluctance to share it.

Misanthrope

That all makes sense, Drew. I need to think broader than the very rich Catholic and Protestant churches when considering chaplaincy.

sensesmaybenumbed

Pretty much. But he asked twice so I answered as best as I could.

I don't think anyone will agree with it - which was my reluctance to share it.

Well stated, but not my cup of tea. If parents want religious instruction, they should be responsible for it instead of fobbing it off on schools and taxpayers.

Sunday school, not actual school.

afinalsin666

f**k that drew, you are our only connection to that particular view, share the shit out of it. We ain't gonna bash you for it.

Ozzy

Dad was on HMAS Yarra for years. Dunno about before that, he was on some small vessels prior and then went into Intel after Yarra. He was at Garden Island for a long time in that role and then went back a few years ago which is why I asked. But he's in Brisbane now.
never been on the Yarra. I was on one refit when I started as a trainee on HMAS Brisbane (now a diving platform) towards the end of the refit. Since then I have done electronic repairs on different ships.