Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread LXVI: Honouring Whinging Dragons Fans

I've never paid for a doctor in my life as well. No regular gp is worth the cost if there is a bulk billing one around. And every town and city has enough choices so nobody is forced to pay.

The gptax doesn't affect me. I haven't been to a doctor since I was in primary school. I don't care if I have to pay $7. I will if I have to. But I genuinely fear for our poorest and our sickest. Unlike some I know that $7 is a lot to some people. Our poorest and our sickest live paycheck to paycheck. They don't have enough money to have savings. Hitting them for 7 bucks every time they need a doctor is enough to make them go to a doctor less often which will only lead to the taxpayer paying more down the line. Terrible policy.

You really are brainwashed aren't you? Why have you not answered exactly how it's going to cause major issues when five times that fee doesn't in Canberra? Or are you so smug that discovering one free clinic validates your borrowed opinion?

Misanthrope

I was surprised by that, if I'm honest. While I think Chaplains are great and should be in every school, I didn't think it would be money spent this time round given the supposed cuts they were trying to make.

Shouldn't the respective, tax exempt churches pay for the ability to spread their religion to impressionable children? If we're talking counsellors, I'm all for it, but given who is in power, I sincerely doubt he's worried about something airy like 'feelings'.

There is barely any money for mental health as it is.

Sad, but true.

The 6 months before dole has me puzzled...shouldn't it be the other way around? I mean, I've got no problems with paying taxes for somebody who loses their job to get back on their feet. It's the ones who make a lifestyle of it who piss everybody off.

It seems ass backwards to me too. I'd have thought that offering support initially would make sense, given that's when a person is likely to actually need it. Are they expecting everybody to start an 'If I get fired nest egg' regardless of income?

yes it does and Palmer has already stated he will block certain points, particularly the $7 doctors visit

When did Palmer not only become a voice of reason, but the defender of the little guy?

Jeez the responses on my Facebook are pretty in line with muzby's post :lol:

Lots of silver spoon babies going "It's only a $7 payment/etc, mother will cover me"

Whenever I see a certain person (or persons) has commented on my budget status, I can be sure I'll be in for a tongue lashing from the privileged ones.

Yep, fun times. The "support" worker at centrelink tried telling my brother he could work and there was nothing wrong with him, despite psychologist letters and doctors reports and shit. My brother can't go to a shop without having a monster panic attack. Sounds like a great worker to me.

One of my brothers had this issue with his social anxiety disorder. He had to leave school in year eight despite being popular and doing well both academically and athletically. It's only now, at 24, that he's finally been able to slowly come out of his shell. He's got a job, he's done some travel, and he plays football (soccer) these days.

None of this is budget relevant, but hopefully it's cause for hope for your brother. Leigh has achieved a lot thanks largely to the attention and assistance of the family.

Because Labor did it. And there wasn't an irrational hatred of the Labor govt

You kidding? Have you ever been into 4 Corners?

Furthermore, could it be that the average person doesn't have an "irrational hate" of Labor because they don't routinely screw over their constituents?

Red Bear

Is it? You only have to look at the source...where was the March in March for Rudd or Gillard? Where were the Facebook groups likening them to Hitler and calling for violent revolution? It's hardly the same
juliar-bitch-737828.jpg

Ju-liar.jpg

https://www.facebook.com/pages/I-HATE-JULIA-GILLARD/136704529674794?fref=ts

Ozzy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HMAS_Canberra_(LHD_02)

The Canberra class are large LHDs, equipped for both helicopter landing operations and short distance or vertical landing jet fighters. Much like the F35 Joint Strike Fighters we've just purchased. We probably won't see the F35s on board until several years at least after the ships are launched on active service because of the training aspect of it. But you can't put an F-18 on the deck of one of these, its that simple.
It's a troop transport/support ship, not an aircraft carrier. It's a replacement for HMAS Tobruk.

Jason Maher

f**k me Labor supporters are blind. Both major parties routinely screw over their constituents. It is what political parties do. Labor are just more subtle and clever about it.

Drew-Sta

Treating institutions like healthcare and education like any other market seems like madness to me. Charging at emergency wards? Seems to go against alot of our longterm, healthcare culture.

This, to me, is the biggest issue. We're heading down the path America has taken and its a scary future.

I like the balls on Hockey to discuss how the co-payment will go towards medical research "Because Australians are good at research and we can find answers to these issues," in the same budget where he has slashed funding to the CSIRO, a body that has not only discovered a range of important advances including Wifi but makes money. A budget that slashes innovation in other areas (clean energy, renewables etc etc). A budget that slashes public education funding (but it's all good, we've got school chaplains).

The vast majority of people on the dole, particularly under 30, use it because they are searching for work, they need some support whilst unemployed and also paying rent, eating, etc etc. Not being eligible for 6 months is madness, particularly in a time of high youth unemployment.

But it's ok because high income earners are chipping in as well. That extra 7 bucks they pay a week means everyones pitching in.

$250 million for school chaplains more than makes up all the money being slashed from indigenous programs, education, youth unemployment support etc.

Re the dislike of Abbott, he campaigned aggressively over the Carbon Tax, how the government lied to voters for three years and in doing so generally behaved like a merkin, then came in and broke a bunch of election promises. Not surprising, but certainly disgraceful.

Well said.

I can agree to this. I'm just vehemently secular.

Which is totally fine :)

Is it? You only have to look at the source...where was the March in March for Rudd or Gillard? Where were the Facebook groups likening them to Hitler and calling for violent revolution? It's hardly the same

Rubbish. It might have something to do with the breaking of international human rights laws, the utter contempt they've shown asylum seekers and the general disregard for the poor / elderly / sick.

As bad as Labor were at running the country, and recognizing they initiated some of the asylum seeker plans, they were not intending to throw their moral compass out the door like Abbott certainly has. His claims to be a Catholic despite his asylum seeker policy and damage to welfare for sick, poor and elderly PLUS his education reforms are so completely un-Christian that it is hard to see how he is in it for anything but money. Seriously, where is his love for his neighbour in all this?

Also, re the FB groups:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/I-HATE-JULIA-GILLARD/136704529674794

https://www.facebook.com/GillardMustResign

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Julia-Gillard-PM-What-a-JOKE/132685003425739

Agree to disagree then Drew. I see much more vehemently anti Liberal sentiment than I ever did for Labor. But maybe that comes from living in a pro Labor/Greens town

ek999

4 Corners hopefully isn't indicative of the wider population. The regular posters there are nut jobs regardless of political persuasion.

BunniesMan you keep going on and on about how John Howard f**ked the Budget with his last year or two of tax cuts. You do realise that if he hadn't we would have been in a worse position because there would have been less money in the economy to stimulate growth. I don't know if you're old enough to remember or receive the $900 stimulus payment which was the cornerstone of their efforts to keep us out of recession. Without the lower tax rates they would have had to do a lot more.

Ozzy

It's a helicopter/vertical jump landing craft
Bazal I work down on the Island and it is a replacement for Tobruk. It has those capabilities but it's function will be transport/support. We don't even have vertical jump fighters.

No we don't, that's why we bought the F35, which you'll know is. a vertical/short strip capable aircraft. Where on the island/how long? You.might know my old man!

God-King Dean

I felt bit bad for trolling this women on the Knights page.

Kathryn Saunders Your a wanker mate. Every week twice a week I take my 7 yr old son to footy training and them to the game. I get up at 6am on sat mornings for home games to help set up the ground. Go and crawl back into the hole you came out of you shithead......!!

God-King Dean You want a medal because you can drive, & have an alarm clock?

Haven't had this much fun in a while.

RHCP

I'm a supporter of neither party, the voters who hurt us the most are the ones who pick a side.

Ozzy

No we don't, that's why we bought the F35, which you'll know is. a vertical/short strip capable aircraft. Where on the island/how long? You.might know my old man!
I'm in electronics. Who's your Dad?

BTW F35 (from what I understand) will be based in S.A. How dumb is that if we want to use them up north?

RHCP

"how many women put their bodies on the line?"

:lol: Sad thing is I could imagine one of the DT flogs actually writing that.

The WIL post has snagged quite a few bites.

Misanthrope

Agree to disagree then Drew. I see much more vehemently anti Liberal sentiment than I ever did for Labor. But maybe that comes from living in a pro Labor/Greens town

The most obvious solution is that the Liberals are just a worse party, and that they piss off a more vocal portion of the population. Labor typically piss off the wealthy, who are less likely to be on forums or participating in marches to voice their displeasure.

They'll just bribe/finance a politician who'll better represent their interests.