Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread LXXII - Honouring The White, Off White, Cream & Beige. :-(

McKinnon wanting to take legal action for what happened to him is frustrating. This quote is equally annoying:

That's like suggesting 'Has the government done enough to stop crime?'

While that quote is pretty typical media BS, it's also kinda true. Why did it take a broken neck to rub the tackle out? Particularly after McCracken.

Personally I hope he sues and wins big. If the forklift rolled on me at work I'd sure as shit be doing the same. He's no different to any other injured worker except that he is far luckier and has fans etc. At the same time he's also in one of the worst injury spectrums, so luck is relative.

Congrats mu. I hope everything went well and the three of you are doing well. The first couple of months are a grind, but it will pass quickly!

I kinda feel like i've been spoilt. Bub is 10 weeks old and has been sleeping through the night for the last 3 weeks.

Problem is, i accepted a writing gig for a uk magazine that keeps me up til mid morning.

sensesmaybenumbed

That's great sleeping for that age! Luck or effort?

We sleep trained at about 6 months old, but by even 4 months she was only up once or twice a night at most.

Its amazing how much more human a solid 6 hour block of sleep will make you.

That's great sleeping for that age! Luck or effort?

We sleep trained at about 6 months old, but by even 4 months she was only up once or twice a night at most.

Its amazing how much more human a solid 6 hour block of sleep will make you.

quite clearly whoever invented the phrase "i slept like a baby last night" wasn't a parent...

whenever someone says that phrase to me, i just reply back: "oh really? so you woke up screaming every couple of hours, drank a lot of milk and most likely shat yourself?"

Bulldog Force

quite clearly whoever invented the phrase "i slept like a baby last night" wasn't a parent...

whenever someone says that phrase to me, i just reply back: "oh really? so you woke up screaming every couple of hours, drank a lot of milk and most likely shat yourself?"

Negative. For you see, that term can also refer to the baby in the latter stages before hitting toddler age. They sleep sound and are hard to wake up. The younger bubs, new borns adjusting to life out the you-know-what are the screamers.

YOU of all people should know about this Muz... for shame!

McKinnon wanting to take legal action for what happened to him is frustrating.

see i find it not so much frustrating as know he's going to need a lot of financial support to live a normal life - and the $1.1m + his NRL job may seem like a lot, but whatever he needs for standard living items like housing or transport will need customisation, and that comes at a cost.. not to mention carers, medical bills etc..

things we take for granted - being able to just go out and buy a car that suits us, to live in a top storey apartment (or a multi level house) or even to just get into a taxi when we need to - he won't be able to do any of these things.

lets say he invests the $1.1 into a house - and by the time he gets an adequate house that is kitted out for him there isn't much change left out of that.. and what if, like most people, he wants to move in 5-10 years? similar issue again..

he's still in his early 20's.. so much more of his life to live.. so much more in front of him that is going to cost more than it costs you and i.. simply because whatever he needs is not likely to be 'standard'..

and pretty sure it's not about a greed thing... i'm sure if you ask him if he'd prefer $5m or to be able to be fit & healthy, i guarantee which one he'd choose..

i think about things like being able to walk along a beach, with my daughter on my shoulders, feeling the sand between my toes as i do this.. something he is unlikely to be able to do in his lifetime..

not having a go at you mate, just flagging issues that a lot of people don't know :)

Bulldog Force

What a PERFECT day for 3/4 of your team to take a "sickie" - happens to be on a Friday when everything is absolutely divine.

/sarcasm.

sensesmaybenumbed

Negative. For you see, that term can also refer to the baby in the latter stages before hitting toddler age. They sleep sound and are hard to wake up. The younger bubs, new borns adjusting to life out the you-know-what are the screamers.

YOU of all people should know about this Muz... for shame!

This post clearly shows you don't know shit.

Bulldog Force

This post clearly shows you don't know shit.

Your use of the English language needs a little working on you cryptic fiend:

47205_zpshydvtwcy.jpg~original

Bulldog Force

Yes...back in the world of the employed.

Back in world of the employed... now for those bludgers in my team who decided to take a sickie today... I have given the rest of the team SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS not to pick up their slack. Those morons want to take an obvious sickie today, they'll cop it on Monday when they'll realise their workload hasn't subsided :lol:

DB

Over working your team sounds like a great idea... I would just get them to bring in a medical certificate, but each to their own.