Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Switching codes? Warriors approach Spencer

shiznit

mate, you can cry if a family member or friend has passed away or something personal has happened.
you can cry if your finnishing in a sport or team youve played in for alot of your life.
hell, you can even cry if youve won a Gold Medal or World Cup.

but who the hell cries because they lost a grandfinal. Jason Taylor had more of a reason to cry then he did.
passion my arse!! i call that being a pussy!!

Misty Bee

you mention Jonah Lomu in the same vein as Wendell Sailor? Jonah was twice.... wait.... 10 times better than anything Wendell had to offer. Jonah at his peak was the best winger to ever lace a boot. in both codes. the likes of Wendell, Lote, both Guru Snr and Jnr had nothing on him.
if you cant see that then your dillusional.
as for hindy,
look..... im a parra fan. have been since i was about 5 years old. but dont get me started on hindy. hes physically strong and has speed to burn. hes quite an athlete. but sometimes i jusr get the feeling hes soft upstairs. he seems to be awesome in the premiorship games. but when it comes to the big stuff, he seems to be mentally abit weak. infact, the bloke pissed me off after we lost to the knights in 01'. the guy started crying!! brian smith had to hold him like his little daughter!! and hes the leader of our forward pack? yeah, im sure Los' will be quaking in his boots.

Fair dinkum,if you were a Parra fan, you wouldn't ever doubt the head of Nathan Hindmarsh. Nor would you make that rediculous statement re Grothe snr.

Comparison between Lomu - Union's second best ever winger behind turnstile Campese - and Grothe - Leagues best winger since Ken Irvine: Lomu made his fame on the South African hosted world cup in the early 90's, by running through the English union backs to score. Grothe made his name in a semi final v Canterbury in the mid 80's, by running through their pack and pushing off 5 defenders to score.

Comparing Canterbury's almighty pack in the mid 1980's with the English Union backs with the likes of Underwood and Carling is like comparing the walls of Fort Knox with a tent! Preston Campbell would have been a wrecking ball through that lot!

As for Hindy crying - I recall Ray Price crying after the 86 decider. Big sook, just like Hindy ay?

Misty Bee

e, you can cry if a family member or friend has passed away or something personal has happened.
you can cry if your finnishing in a sport or team youve played in for alot of your life.

but who the hell cries because they lost a grandfinal. Jason Taylor had more of a reason to cry then he did.
passion my arse!! i call that being a pussy!!

Grand finals probably don't mean much in Union because no one turns up to watch. However, in League, it's annually the biggest crowd and most watched sporting contest in the Australian sporting calendar. If playing in one doesn't stir your emotions, your problems are a lot more than an overactive tear duct!

I guess Mick Cronin was a shit goal kicker, and Steve Ella a fat slob in your books as well?

girvie

http://au.geocities.com/jules_tnz/photos3.html

I think he would be able to handle league for sure. He would be worth it for the Warriors just for the amount of exposure he would bring them over there. As long as they didnt blow too much of their salary cap on him then i think he would be great for them.

ThrashViking

He's a crap defender & breaks down under pressure.
Not worth the money, Warriors should be holding on to Stacey.

Misty Bee

Question for Kiwi residents - woud a Spencer defection gain the Warriors similar publicity in NZ to Sailor's union signing did in Oz?

Look, I'd never knock a Union signing. If it works, great.

ThrashViking

Sure, if he does well for the Warriors more people especially from the Auckland area would take a bigger intrest in League.
I really dont think he's good enough to clean Staceys boots though, most teams would have a field day running towards him.

Matt M

shiznit said:

You cry when you win a gold medal!? Man you must have a really s**t life if you are that depressed.

Umm can we get back to the original topic? it's ok if some of you guys don't like Union but this is just getting ridiculous.

Jonah in his prime was the best winger in the world no doubt about it.

Now to Carlos, I can without a doubt say I would welcome "King" Carlos to League, he was probably my favourite player growing up and I have always wondered what it would be like if he came to league. Sure he is getting a bit older and he has been a bit out of form lately, but maybe this is just what he needs a fresh start in a new direction. That being said I'm very doubtful about this happening, I can't see the Warriors matching the money that European or Japanese Rugby can come up with, the only real advantage the Warriors have is that Carlos has stated on numerous occasions he doesn't want to leave NZ.

Oh and postions I could see him playing would be either 5/8, half back or even fullback.

If he did switch it would be quite ironic though, Carlos is forced out of the Blues by a league reject in Lavea and hence becomes a union reject coming to league. :oops:

Now the situation with Stacey Jones, what you got to understand is that Stacey is approaching the end of his career and when he comes off contract the end of this year his next one will probably his last, so he is understandably looking towards England to set him up for a few years. On the other side of the coin the Warriors are looking for new a direction in their team and are looking to sign some quality players which requires a fair bit of cash so it's pretty much mutual.

iggy plop

Tighthead said:
The fact that Wendell was constantly monstered by Adam MacDougall escaped Union's notice. Young Eric Grothe didn't do a bad job on him either.

Must have escaped league's notice too, given their respective representative records.

Big fan of revisionist history are you.

"Wendell only went to union because he was a failure at league."

Wendell was a dud in origin and Mad Dog would have played heaps more rep footy had he not been suspended or had such a horrific run with injury. He only just clocked up his 100th first grade game.

ozbash

Question for Kiwi residents - woud a Spencer defection gain the Warriors similar publicity in NZ to Sailor's union signing did in Oz?

maybe for a couple of weeks.

You cry when you win a gold medal!? Man you must have a really s**t life if you are that depressed.

and that, thank christ, is the difference between aussie and nz.

aussie buy their sporting sucess - means SFA to most australians.

NZ earn their sporting sucess, we have no govt propping them or an AIS up.
sucess is personal to kiwis, the atheletes represent the country over here, not the f**king sponsors.

jonah rocks !

gunnamatta bay

sucess is personal to kiwis, the atheletes represent the country over here, not the f***ing sponsors.

Hilarious stuff. Last time I looked the kiwi teams representing all sports are fully sponsored.

strong_latte

ozbash said:

maybe for a couple of weeks.

and that, thank christ, is the difference between aussie and nz.

aussie buy their sporting sucess - means SFA to most australians.

NZ earn their sporting sucess, we have no govt propping them or an AIS up.
sucess is personal to kiwis, the atheletes represent the country over here, not the f***ing sponsors.

jonah rocks !

You think we're bad??? Do yourself a favour and don't ever go to the USA....