Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tail Gate Parties....how come we don't do them in Australia?

Dr Crane

no doubt the racist anti-usa crap is going on big time in here.

i've been to countless warriors games and one nfl game. let's just say the one nfl game, walking through the carpark to get to the stadium was amazing. give americans the shit you want (hell, i do, and i'm marrying one), they know how to do sport. they're even funny bastards when they sledge in the carpark.

we'll never do it here for a few reasons. the key one is in most cities it doesn't get cold enough. you don't get the same community sense in 14 degrees as you do at 0.

insert other stuff.

bobmar28

i've been to countless warriors games and one nfl game. let's just say the one nfl game, walking through the carpark to get to the stadium was amazing. give americans the shit you want (hell, i do, and i'm marrying one), they know how to do sport. they're even funny bastards when they sledge in the carpark.

we'll never do it here for a few reasons. the key one is in most cities it doesn't get cold enough. you don't get the same community sense in 14 degrees as you do at 0.

insert other stuff.

It's not racist it's PC crap driven by inner city yuppies and ABC snobs. I'm not a big fan of tailgate parties by the way.
A great way to save on food etc but there are other ways like bring some of your own food and drinks.

Ron Jeremy

insert other stuff.

I wouldn't worry, their is a reason why even the AFL puts the NRL to shame:lol:

NFL is the greatest sporting competition in the world, the NRL....some crappy, barely professional competition played on the east coast of Australia, for which 3/4's of them haven't made a profit in years, and rely on bailouts lol

Been hearing for years that people say the NRL crowds should be better, well their probably is a very good reason why theyre not, its simply overrated.

The NRL is the most competitive competition in the world?:lol: based on what? in the NFL any team can win on there day, absolutely any team, the line between a wining and loosing season is so fine.

I would love tail gate parties to happen, but people would rather drink at a pub:lol: give me drinking outdoors with a bbq mingling with people then sitting in a shit smelling Newtown pub any day of the week.

The Colts are doing well :lol:

Lol @ these NFL androtrops like Ron Jeremy and legend who want everyone to admit how great the seppo game.

Ron Jeremy

The Colts are doing well :lol:

Lol @ these NFL androtrops like Ron Jeremy and legend who want everyone to admit how great the seppo game.

You just proved my point on the NFL, one player goes down, and a play off team goes to winless LOL

Buffalo lost Kyle williams havent won a game since.

The NRL, pissy little competition that even the AFL puts to shame :lol:

Rabbs, vossy...:lol:

Even the NFL can sell out games at Wembely :lol:

So we should start following the premier league then? :lol:

AlwaysGreen

Wow. So all of a sudden you're not passionate about a sport because you choose to eat a sausage sandwich at home with your family rather than in a carpark with a bunch of strangers.

Probably may have been mentioned by a more sensible poster, but do you think attendences in the NFL might be influenced by the fact that the population is 16 times bigger than Australia? :shock: and that some cities that have an NFL side have populations bigger than the whole of nsw? :shock:

legend

My Broncos started 1-4 and are now 5-5 and in the hunt for a playoff spot and division title.

The NFL have the draft and free agency to provide parity and msot teams remain competitive each year. The Colts lost Peyton Manning to a neck injury for the year, hence their woeful record.

The New Orleans Saints and the New York Jets used to be the joke of the league, called the "Aints" and "Just End The Season" . They are now two of the high profile teams in the NFL.

There will always be perennial contenders such as the Pats and Packers, just as the NRL has Manly, Melbourne and St George whoc have been near the top for a sustained period.

I maintain the NRL is like sub-standard park footy compared to the NFL. Does the NRL have potential to improve and become a world class sport? Absolutely but the game has been listing for years now, with no direction, no forward planning and no initiative.

Youa re right TT, give me the NFL any day.

legend

The NRL needs more private ownership to improve the bottom line of clubs. Crowe has been a saviour for Souths and Tinkler will do the same for Newcastle.

Too many ex players have too much involvement with clubs administration and most have no formal qualifications and would struggle to run a chook raffle.

If anyone here thinks the NRL is a well run game, then you are easily pleased.

I mean, look at the premiership winning side. Worst ground in the NRL and a ground no professional sporting team would train on, let alone play on. Shambolic board and administration. Infighting, backstabbing which has forced a mass exodus of coaching talent.

It's a credit to Manly they won in spite of all their hurdles but does their future look all that rosy at the moment?

At least with a private owner there is sole responsibility and things are more likely to get done.

Ron Jeremy

Wow. So all of a sudden you're not passionate about a sport because you choose to eat a sausage sandwich at home with your family rather than in a carpark with a bunch of strangers.

Probably may have been mentioned by a more sensible poster, but do you think attendences in the NFL might be influenced by the fact that the population is 16 times bigger than Australia? :shock: and that some cities that have an NFL side have populations bigger than the whole of nsw? :shock:

Nope, just against people who think its stupid, dont care if you don't like it, but really whats not worth not liking about the idea? unless you suffer from social anxiety or a perennial tight arse;-)

doubt it, look a the college crowds, COLLEGE :lol: places like Buffalo, Green Bay have populations on par witn Newcastle:lol:

legend

I would say only Chicago and Washington have cities with the population bigger than NSW. New York does but they have multiple teams.

College football crowds are simply jaw dropping. 101,000 between LSU and Alabama a few weeks back. Unbelievable if you ask me.

Teddyboy

Tailgate parties are big in US football.
For those who do not know what they are, fans arrive a few hours before the game, and share beers, a bbq and a few laughs in the car park before the game kicks off.
I think they are excellent, especially for day games.

Some vans/utes in the US are really decked out with fold out barbecues, plasma screens and huge speakers.

I would love to see them here.

Why don't we do it?
Would you guys be keen?
I guess the usual suspects would whinge that we would be taking away from the overpriced caterers inside the ground....and perhaps problems with drinking in public.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tailgate_party

They got to be blind drunk before facing an NFL game.

Ron Jeremy

The NRL needs more private ownership to improve the bottom line of clubs. Crowe has been a saviour for Souths and Tinkler will do the same for Newcastle.

Too many ex players have too much involvement with clubs administration and most have no formal qualifications and would struggle to run a chook raffle.

If anyone here thinks the NRL is a well run game, then you are easily pleased.

I mean, look at the premiership winning side. Worst ground in the NRL and a ground no professional sporting team would train on, let alone play on. Shambolic board and administration. Infighting, backstabbing which has forced a mass exodus of coaching talent.

It's a credit to Manly they won in spite of all their hurdles but does their future look all that rosy at the moment?

At least with a private owner there is sole responsibility and things are more likely to get done.

If the NRL was that great of a product each club would've been privatized years ago, every big American/Chinese etc business would've been knocking down each clubs doors to buy in, why would anyone want to buy a club which struggles year in and out tomake a profit of a couple of thousand, and or RL need now is for a TV deal to fall through and its rat shit.

Ron Jeremy

I would say only Chicago and Washington have cities with the population bigger than NSW. New York does but they have multiple teams.

College football crowds are simply jaw dropping. 101,000 between LSU and Alabama a few weeks back. Unbelievable if you ask me.

true, just shows how small really is when even college games get 100,000 to watch it :lol:

AlwaysGreen

Nope, just against people who think its stupid, dont care if you don't like it, but really whats not worth not liking about the idea? unless you suffer from social anxiety or a perennial tight arse;-)

doubt it, look a the college crowds, COLLEGE :lol: places like Buffalo, Green Bay have populations on par witn Newcastle:lol:

So you're suggesting I should hang out in a carpark and eat sausages as a way of quelling social awkwardness? Why not go to your local kmart carpark and watch the game? Or does it have to be in front of a stadium where you look desperate? Gee I might throw a webber and an esky full of snags in the back of the ute and just travel from carpark to carpark looking to be sociable.

As for crowds, I'm not sure where I said that the US population was the only reason why crowds were big in the NFL. Come to think of it I'm not sure where I criticized the NFL at all. :crazy: (look! I can use smilies as well!).

Ron Jeremy

So you're suggesting I should hang out in a carpark and eat sausages as a way of quelling social awkwardness? Why not go to your local kmart carpark and watch the game? Or does it have to be in front of a stadium where you look desperate? Gee I might throw a webber and an esky full of snags in the back of the ute and just travel from carpark to carpark looking to be sociable.

As for crowds, I'm not sure where I said that the US population was the only reason why crowds were big in the NFL. Come to think of it I'm not sure where I criticized the NFL at all. :crazy: (look! I can use smilies as well!).

ffs you dont have too, but its part of the occasion, its like a party drinking, eating and mingling with other fans of the game, whats there not to like about it? jesus christ you sound boring :lol:

You were eluding.

smilies are sick :D

Teddyboy

same in league, just go to a game of RL and see the quality likes at a Souths game, or to put up with the single mums with missing teeth screaming at their kids :lol:

At least in Rugby League and Union I know when to catch the bus or train as most games finish after 80 mins yet your game know's no time as it's shorter then all Football codes yet last's for around 4 hours,no wonder your country is fat as f**k plus I feel sorry the big bastards players who never get a hand on the ball.

AlwaysGreen

ffs you dont have too, but its part of the occasion, its like a party drinking, eating and mingling with other fans of the game, whats there not to like about it? jesus christ you sound boring :lol:

You were eluding.

smilies are sick :D

I'm boring because I don't hang out in a carpark?

And it's alluding not eluding. I wasn't hiding from anyone. :p

Ftr I appreciate and respect the football culture of the US, particularly the college system. But just because something works in the US doesn't mean it will work here. And it certainly doesn't mean it's automatically better.