Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Take Action on the Development.

IF you go & do the sunset at cable beach resort you need to get there early if you want a table at the front. There is literally nobody there an hour before & then you cant get in. Dont buy food just he beers. Or, take some Matso down to the park in front & join the back packers.
The pub just up the road from Cable beach resort is not bad if there is a band on. Otherwise the main pub in town with the big beer garden nightclub. it's pharken feral over there though. f**k me. Keep out of trouble & dont be last to leave.

I am staying at Cable beach resort reef.
I am driving the Gibb River road from Katherine I think it starts???
Going through the kimberleys , el questro, bungles, kakadu fitzroy crossing, derby ( bet that is a shithole ) .

sorry not from Katherine ...Kununurra ...or there abouts.

driving from darwin to broome....we have a guide and his 4wd setup taking us.
The gibb river road starts at Kununurra ...I think.

I have done the hwy before but not this particular road.

taking my mum on the trip of a lifetime.
She has never seen anything out there before.

Sorry Reefy just read the last part of your post about it being feral.
I went there in 91 and was one of 3 white men in the pub watching a band called Tin Dog who were an off shoot of scrap metal.

It was a little scarey

I am staying at Cable beach resort reef.
I am driving the Gibb River road from Katherine I think it starts???
Going through the kimberleys , el questro, bungles, kakadu fitzroy crossing, derby ( bet that is a shithole ) .

sorry not from Katherine ...Kununurra ...or there abouts.

had my tonsils out there in '92.
Yeah it wasn't the best place but the doc there was better than Broome, who just kept telling me to get myself to Perth. The fella in Broome wasn't a specialist but he got the job done.
All the fellas from Broome would hop in station wagons and drive the 250k's to Derby as the Woolies was half the price of Broome.
When I arrived in Broome I had 3 weeks of surf, they hadn't seen any waves for 3 months.
Though i only got one hour a day because of the tides.

carch if you dont have the Warumpi Band-Big Name No Blankets CD then get it before you cross that area. I played this song on the drive heaps of times

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9hJdqqMscQs

While I was there they had the first Stompen Ground festival, it was filmed live on rage all night.
Anyway Warumpis were playing Fitzroy Crossing and I"m singin along havin a good ole time and me mate pokes me and points, they have a had a camera on me the whole time.
Next time i rang home i had all these messages from people in sydney saying how they'd seen me in Broome singin and skylarkin about.
Pretty damn good feelin.
I still play Fitzroy in my solo sets occasionally, always brings a smile to my face.

I tell you that band tin dog were shit hot.
They had those brothers from scrap metal in the band.

I have a warmupi album called too much humbug
It is one of greatest beer drinking albums ever

The Pigram brothers are real legends of the area.
They even brought Scrap Metal back for that Stompen Ground. Bloody awesome.

Pigram that's them!

I learnt to drink emu export that night.

Had about 50 new best mates by the end of the night.