Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tasmanian Rugby League

Given all the advantages the VRL has had, NRL team, funding etc they still can't beat WA in the affiliated states championships and have fewer registered players despite twice the population. Not sure you'd want them running TRL tbh!

Diesel

WA has done a remarkable job since News cut them in '97 and little help from the east coast centric clubs & competition excluding the Rabbits, even the Gallop years were very lean and decided to take a test away from Perth to play in Townsville in late October.

Giving the TRL one DO with an annual cost of less the $150k is a drop in the ocean.

Hopefully Penrith can do what Souths have and bring a higher profile to Tassie, it's not an answer but it's a start at least

What about if somebody started one of those change.org petitions and promote the hell out of it on here? Not sure if it would help or not but maybe it would make the NRL take some notice?

elbusto

What about if somebody started one of those change.org petitions and promote the hell out of it on here? Not sure if it would help or not but maybe it would make the NRL take some notice?

The big problem is that all of the hard workers are now demoralised and are walking away.

The comp can be saved but I have no idea who is left to save it.

I have had enough. The fact we kept the comp together came down to sheer hard work by about 6 people and we are all shagged out and have better things to do.

I hope you all realise this is not sour grapes.

It is just so disappointing that the players who love the game may very well miss out this year.

I have been around a long time and I hope I have some sense of things.

But I thought the NRL were actually going to actively support us this time around.

Looks like I was wrong.

Perhaps the most demoralising thing from my point of view, is that I wrote a comprehensive strategy for growth down here but, for all I know, nobody ever read it.

You can only handle so much disappointment. C'est la vie!

The big problem is that all of the hard workers are now demoralised and are walking away.

The comp can be saved but I have no idea who is left to save it.

I have had enough. The fact we kept the comp together came down to sheer hard work by about 6 people and we are all shagged out and have better things to do.

I hope you all realise this is not sour grapes.

It is just so disappointing that the players who love the game may very well miss out this year.

I have been around a long time and I hope I have some sense of things.

But I thought the NRL were actually going to actively support us this time around.

Looks like I was wrong.

Perhaps the most demoralising thing from my point of view, is that I wrote a comprehensive strategy for growth down here but, for all I know, nobody ever read it.

You can only handle so much disappointment. C'est la vie!

Here what your saying and the game by 2005 in WA was in very much the same position. A couple of things changed to get the game of its knees here, we started to get more regular NRL games, we got some new blood and new ideas in the warl board and eventually the ARL funded a CEO and some DO's. Since that the game has boomed. Not sure what the hold up is with NRL doing same for Tassie. Are you on the TRL board?

elbusto

Here what your saying and the game by 2005 in WA was in very much the same position. A couple of things changed to get the game of its knees here, we started to get more regular NRL games, we got some new blood and new ideas in the warl board and eventually the ARL funded a CEO and some DO's. Since that the game has boomed. Not sure what the hold up is with NRL doing same for Tassie. Are you on the TRL board?

sent you a response mate

Oh dear. What happened to the sychofantic love for Dave, john and the commish? The saviours. The heroes of the post news rise of RL.

Sorry Tassie. Not enough women, minorities or six year olds involved down there. And you're not in western Sydney. That's an even greater crime. Sort those issues and the NRL might start to give a shit.

elbusto

Oh dear. What happened to the sychofantic love for Dave, john and the commish? The saviours. The heroes of the post news rise of RL.

Sorry Tassie. Not enough women, minorities or six year olds involved down there. And you're not in western Sydney. That's an even greater crime. Sort those issues and the NRL might start to give a shit.

Point taken. I had reason to believe in these guys. I was wrong.

God knows how much they spent so they could put an NRL logo on touch football jerseys but I'd wager it is a lot more than they are funding affiliated states! 2 years in its pathetic they still have no plan for growing the game around the country. Still we got important things like increasing ticket prices and NRL grant increases sorted out soon enough.

sensesmaybenumbed

God knows how much they spent so they could put an NRL logo on touch football jerseys but I'd wager it is a lot more than they are funding affiliated states! 2 years in its pathetic they still have no plan for growing the game around the country. Still we got important things like increasing ticket prices and NRL grant increases sorted out soon enough.

Look, elb has valid points and good reason to be ticked off.

You on the other hand, are a serial complainer.

The NRL could up and move to Perth next week and base 512 teams there at the top level in a knockout playoff system with incredible levels of quality, start paying every WA junior like they were Gina Rineheart and make you their king.

You'd still be on here the next day criticising something.

I'm flattered you've taken such an interest. If you'd like to counter argue the fact the NRL seemingly has no plan and little action in affiliated states please feel free to add to the thread.

Green River Eel

Email Ray Hadley, people might not like him but the bloke gets things done, tell him your story and get him on the case.
Ive spoken to Ray regarding a few issues, two days later he was talking about the info i gave him live on air, and it hit its target too.

Dont give up mate, and respect and kudo's for your efforts.
cheers

TheRam

Sorry to hear it elbusto, but definitely not surprised. These guys are by enlarge massive pretenders overall. They only come out when the shit is flying to do damage cobntrol or to big not themselves, but very little ever changes.

Lets face it league will never really flourish and the sooner we all swallow that bitter pill, I think, me included, we will all actually be happier and move on knowing we gave it as much support as we could, bar running it ourselves.

Extremely sad, but true.

As for Perth Red, yes he complains heaps, but mate so what, he is generally spot on. I mean look at the bunch of wankers over the decades that we have had to deal with. If it weren't our favorite sport, we would all be laughing our heads of at how pathetically run that sport is.

Absolute joke!!!

Desert Qlder

I went down to my local Victorian Rugby League game yesterday and the experience was dispiriting.

It was hard to tell which was aspect was more shambolic, maybe watching first grade teams with different shorts or seeing the reserve grade game without touch judges. Or just the fact it was a few hardy souls in a forgotten outpost of the Rugby League world, literally the furtherest oval at the back of a suburban Melbourne park.

No one there would be described as a representative of the NRL. Yet this is meant to be the premier Rugby League competition in Australia's second most populous state.

With this in mind I find it difficult to see the game becoming the number one sporting code in the country, a goal clearly defined by the CEO. I have been a true believer in this administration but time and faith are slipping away.

While they may not mean much in the games heartland of NSW and Queensland, these people are the frontline soldiers in the NRLs endeavours, and they being left to starve.

And the hungry army loses the war.

Point taken. I had reason to believe in these guys. I was wrong.

Email Ray Hadley, people might not like him but the bloke gets things done, tell him your story and get him on the case.
Ive spoken to Ray regarding a few issues, two days later he was talking about the info i gave him live on air, and it hit its target too.

Dont give up mate, and respect and kudo's for your efforts.
cheers
. I think green river eel Is right, it's time to bring in the big guns and call up ray... he seems to get things done.