Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tasmanian Rugby League

StormHi

Sad to hear EB I went to the storm game in tassie and the support and intrest shown by people was seemed pretty good shocked and appalled that you don't even seem to get any form of response from management at all.

elbusto

As someone running rugby league in a small European country, I can assure you that the RLIF and RLEF only fund the minimum number of development officers that can be justified, i.e. zero. I read the initial post with empathy, it is tough going and sometimes it is just hanging on until a breakthrough happens.
I suppose the difference between Tassie and a 'small European country' is that we have an established comp, and an established and large Rugby League watching population - SOO and NRL Grand Final TV figures reach 50000 down here which is 10% of the State.

15000 attended an NRL trial match down here.

We have to turn kids away each year as we cannot offer them any comps.

There is no plan to develop the game here I am aware of and there is simply no excuse for this. If there is such a plan then we are unaware of it and that makes absolutely no sense.

I think I am starting to sound like a frustrated old idiot but it is just sad to see so much hard work go nowhere.

If I could point to two things that annoy me the most they would be:

1. The fact no NRL Club has bothered to pick us up and run with us. The Storm were the obvious choice but seem to have lost interest (if they ever really had any); and

2. The attitude of the East Coast centric NRL admin. I remember a conversation I had with an NRL official who asked me why we had such a low player base (120) in a State with over 250000 males in it. I simply told him what our budget was and said 120 players is what you get for that sort of investment.

We have had our trials and tribulations down here with player and Club behaviour, Club mismanagement and the normal stuff that goes on but we have managed to hold things together against the odds.

The lack of a clear vision for the game down here and the lack of a DO working with the local Clubs are two of our biggest issues, but perhaps the biggest problem is that nobody in the game really seems to care apart from a small number of devoted league loonies who are running out of puff.

TheFrog

Email Gould?

Yes, I would write to Phil Gould, C/- the Panthers football club, referencing that the Penrith club were until recently interested in playing a game in your state, and asking for his advice at least. They don't come any more knowledgeable or influential than this bloke.

I think you'll find that Penrith are no longer interested in playing in Tasmania in the short term, as they have made an agreement to play one home game per year in Bathurst for three seasons, the first being against the Sharks in Round 20. More than one home game a year taken elsewhere would have supporter repercussions one would think.

Maybe you are a chance in 2017, who knows?

Dogs Of War

Yes, I would write to Phil Gould, C/- the Panthers football club, referencing that the Penrith club were until recently interested in playing a game in your state, and asking for his advice at least. They don't come any more knowledgeable or influential than this bloke.

I think you'll find that Penrith are no longer interested in playing in Tasmania in the short term, as they have made an agreement to play one home game per year in Bathurst for three seasons, the first being against the Sharks in Round 20. More than one home game a year taken elsewhere would have supporter repercussions one would think.

Maybe you are a chance in 2017, who knows?

Or hopefully Phil can suggest another suitable club. It's not like clubs don't have poor drawing games. Really any Sydney team playing the Storm should at least be curious about taking a game to that area because the crowd would have to be better. That said, it would also probably require the TAS govt to underwrite the match. Whether they would do that is another story.

100%green

I suppose the difference between Tassie and a 'small European country' is that we have an established comp, and an established and large Rugby League watching population - SOO and NRL Grand Final TV figures reach 50000 down here which is 10% of the State.

15000 attended an NRL trial match down here.

We have to turn kids away each year as we cannot offer them any comps.

There is no plan to develop the game here I am aware of and there is simply no excuse for this. If there is such a plan then we are unaware of it and that makes absolutely no sense.

I think I am starting to sound like a frustrated old idiot but it is just sad to see so much hard work go nowhere.

If I could point to two things that annoy me the most they would be:

1. The fact no NRL Club has bothered to pick us up and run with us. The Storm were the obvious choice but seem to have lost interest (if they ever really had any); and

2. The attitude of the East Coast centric NRL admin. I remember a conversation I had with an NRL official who asked me why we had such a low player base (120) in a State with over 250000 males in it. I simply told him what our budget was and said 120 players is what you get for that sort of investment.

We have had our trials and tribulations down here with player and Club behaviour, Club mismanagement and the normal stuff that goes on but we have managed to hold things together against the odds.

The lack of a clear vision for the game down here and the lack of a DO working with the local Clubs are two of our biggest issues, but perhaps the biggest problem is that nobody in the game really seems to care apart from a small number of devoted league loonies who are running out of puff.

I would say spam Mascord, Debbie Spliane, The MMM Grill Team, FOX, The Footy Show (Molan especially as she seems like a soft touch or get that Fat idiot to come down and do his kids bit there if he can), Hadley (If your that desperate LOL) and the News jurnos etc....

If the affiliated state situation is that bad are you all able to do something on mass that the ARLC would not be able to ignore?

Also is there anything the fans can do? be a shame to lose the work that you guys have done and the opportunities in Tasmania.

100%green

Also ask the Raiders, given their situation at the moment they may consider trying to get new fans and exposure.

MARSHALL ZHUKOV

So like the Tasmanian Tiger RL is extict in TAS- Hope it does not mean the Tassie Devil is next as these things come in three's.

AFL do a bit in Tas but there is no way they will ever have a side down there- only if one relocates and i cannot see Hawthorne Relocating.

How many people live in Tasmania does it justify having teams in national sporting competitions?

BunniesMan

The NRL were supposed to have done a review that took eleven months looking at the running of the game nationally. Out of this review was supposed to come plans for how the NRL would support growth across all levels of the game in all S&T's. This was supposedly presented months ago. Still waiting to hear any action plan from this report. Only thing I have seen is them pss off the warl board to the point half of them walked and we got a development officer for the pilbarra.

Doyle was supposed to be leading e review:
http://www.silvertails.net/forum/Thread-Doyle-to-review-pathway-competitions

Not surprisingly the only thing we saw out of it was more money and development for nsw and qland cup

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/league-unveils-pathways-shakeup-20130906-2taeq.html

Yep eveyrone knows it is important to get the fundamentals right before messing around with risky exploratory projects.

insert.pause

I wouldn't be surprised if the nrl were happy for touch football to pick up most of the slack in the southern states, as far as presence goes.

Yep eveyrone knows it is important to get the fundamentals right before messing around with risky exploratory projects.

Ignorance is no excuse for stupidity.

The WA Rugby League competition was formed in 1948 with four Clubs involved were Fremantle, Perth, South Perth and Cottesloe. The first match was played on the 17th April at Perth Esplanade between Fremantle Districts and Perth Districts. Fremantle Rugby League Club and South Perth Rugby League Club were formed.

http://warugbyleague.com.au/our-history/

How many people live in Tasmania does it justify having teams in national sporting competitions?

this isn't a debate about having an NRL team, its about grass roots infrastructure and investment that gets more kids playing the game, more schools offering RL as an option, more local clubs starting up, more people watching on TV, more people tuning in to watch the pinnacle of the game on TV etc.

Arguably of the affiliated states only WA is ever likely to have an NRL team alongside Victoria's, the NRL however has now taken over the whole of the game and has a responsibility to drive its growth at all levels in all parts of Australia.

The frustrating thing is it doesn't take much. I have seen first hand in WA how with just a little bit of support the game has really grown and moved to a whole new level. The same could be happening in SA, Tassie and NT, even in Victoria the grass roots side of the game has barely improved since the Storm entered the NRL due to lack of support and investment in the VRL. Take a look at the amazing growth and development in the Pilbarra with the appointment of just ONE development officer. A meagre investment in the grand schem of the NRL but paying huge dividends for the game at grass roots and in the community.

20th June 2014: Massive day in Karratha today over 200 kids running around representing their school in league tag and league 9's. Growing the game.

10361508_308630462636218_8355960636307897766_n.jpg

https://www.facebook.com/PilbaraRugbyLeague

steggz

Mascord's reply:

"sure mate, I'm writing far and wide column for league week tomorrow. who can I ring?"

elbusto, here's your opportunity.

I hope he asks the NRL what the outcome for affiliated states of the whole of game review is.

steggz

I shared the thread link and mentioned it was about the ARLC lack of funding and development in non-traditional RL states. If Mascord want to chat with elbusto, I'm sure he'll get good info and ask the right questions.

BunniesMan

Ignorance is no excuse for stupidity.

The WA Rugby League competition was formed in 1948 with four Clubs involved were Fremantle, Perth, South Perth and Cottesloe. The first match was played on the 17th April at Perth Esplanade between Fremantle Districts and Perth Districts. Fremantle Rugby League Club and South Perth Rugby League Club were formed.

http://warugbyleague.com.au/our-history/

There's a difference between that and an NRL team in this era. Look at the Titans. That's what happens when you rush expansion for the sake of expansion with a dot on the map strategy.

Leaguelegend20

There's a difference between that and an NRL team in this era. Look at the Titans. That's what happens when you rush expansion for the sake of expansion with a dot on the map strategy.

Titans crowd average since 2007:

07 - 21k
08 - 21k
09 - 19k
10 - 18k
11 - 15k
12 - 14k
13 - 14k

I'd so far the Titans expansion has been successful, with crowd averages as listed above higher than several Sydney clubs. Whilst it's noticeable that the crowd averages go down, the low years were when the Titans were in off-field disarray and were shambolic on the field. The years when the Tits made the finals, their crowd averages were some of the highest in the comp. There is suggestible evidence AT BEST to say the Titans franchise has failed. High averages, considerable popularity, marque players and the like.

This thread is about the NRL supporting grass roots growth idiot, not expansion of the NRL with new teams. Tassie aren't asking for an NRL team, just some strategy, investment and help.

elbusto

I wouldn't be surprised if the nrl were happy for touch football to pick up most of the slack in the southern states, as far as presence goes.

That is my worry. There are 10000 touch footballers down here - sounds great hey? Who needs to develop contact footy when you have '10000 players'?