Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team for Saturday - What The.....?

The Worm

I have never rated Veaeliki. I don't care how many tests he's played. I'm goiong to be on his case this year.

Remember when Parra were the Baby Eels - so much young talent coming through you couldn't keep a lid on them. I have always suspected that that was the work of Daniel Anderson who was the Reserve Grade Coach. Noel Cleal was important as well in that regard.

I'd love to see someone come through this year and give us something to cheer about.

Ron Jeremy

Well i think Veaeliki is a wonderfull player, He played well for us in the latter part of last year & with a bigger forward pack this year he may have more space to move.

Goleel

So many people have bad wraps on Petersen, I can't remember him being caught out in defense as obviously as Pat Richards ever was, and the guy has a knack for scoring tries. He's in the right place often enough and he's a great finisher especially burrowing close to the line. He puts his body on the line a lot too, something you would always want. I just think he has a better brain for football (even if he is prone to taking risks, especially with the high ball) than Kativerata, who has some power, but in the Tigers trial, he didn't break any tackles, even when he had room outside and only Miles or Hodgson opposite him. Not only that but he gave away a massive overlap that he luckily countered by flooring Hodgo. His positional play is hopeless, and I don't think he's of first grade standard, especially when we have Grothe, Burt and Petersen who can all play out wide and do a lot better job of it than Wise.

I'll take it all back if he has a blinder on Saturday, for the time being, but I don't think he's made that many rapid improvements in his game over the off season.

As for Petersen marking Utai, well, I'd be worried with any of our wingers marking Utai, but Petersen would do no worse a job than Burt or Grothe in my opinion, and he'd leap over the little nugget at least once for a high ball in the game, he's got a great vertical leap sideshow.

Hurriflatch

It's not sideshow its's Muzza

but yeah, Petersen is by no means the safest player in the NRL or even Parra but the few mistakes he does make (and some people over over stating how many that is) is nothing compared to the advtnages he brings to the team in detirmination, hunger etc not to mention try scoring.

v the Warriors one of his tries he burrowed between Toopi and Meli (might have been Fa'afili) from 5 metres out, not too many players do that

Don't forget his try v Wests in 2002.

SEan Hampstead said (and it is clear on the fox coverage) "Nah his dropped that" Muzza jumps up call for him to goto the video which he does Hampstead continually (at least 2 times) says to the Tigers "Don't worry mate his kncked it on" Video replay shows Muzza grounded it and the try gives Parra lead that they hold onto to win the game ASh Graham also got an extra try to slighty blow out the margin.

Parraren

I still hope Smithy makes some changes come Saturday, notably - Vaealiki to centre, Muzza to wing, Wise K to prems & a utility/back on the bench, maybe O'Dwyer, Widders, Pai or Witt (hopefully but unlikely).

Muzza & Vaealik struck up a great combo last year and i'd be really surprised if Smith didn't stick with it. Grothe & Lyon are a match made in heaven too.

Pigskin

As a neutral supporter, I came here to check out the Eels team - because I fancied their chances this week vs the weakened Dogs ie missing O'Meley, Utai, Harris

Witt at 7, Dykes at 6, Vaealiki in the centres and Peterson on a wing, with Wise playing left right out, Wagon at lock, Hopkins to bench looks a far stronger side than this one

I think I'll probly tip the Dogs unless it seems wholesale changes will be made to this Eels line-up which Smithy is known to do lol

Oink !

Freak

OK for starters...........
It would appear that we have a hell of a lot of uneducated analysis on our team going around here.
Hey I'm not saying it is perfect, but I am willing to give it a go, and when I think about Petersen in 2003 I thought that his biggest weakness was under the highball in defence. So him at centre would take this out of his game! IMO Wise played some great defencive footy in the trial against the Tigers and deserves his spot in the side. Knowing when to slide and when to come in in defence is key for a winger and he showed exactly how to do this on more than 1 occassion against the Tigers.
Wagon at 5/8 is an old chestnut that we are just going to have to accept for now.
IMO not sure about Stapleton. Just think a touch of class in Widders or O'Dwyer could have been a better choice!!
........................................................................................................................
The biggest suprize for me was not seeing a 2nd Hooker/Half on the bench. Smith loves this option and I cannot recall a game in the past where I have not seen him use it. Although I can see Vaealiki playing almost anywhere in the backline I cannot see him move into Dummy half. I guess if Morris gets injured Hopkins will go to Hooker and Wags into lock. But if Dykes gets injured don't ask me who will play half????? Probably Burty!!

The Engineers Room

Ashley Graham is not a good player at all!

Burt at Fullback is a decent option but I'd love to see Luke tried in the halves. I know we have a surplus going there but I really think that he will perform well there. He is a player that always gives 110%. Maybe a future line-up could have he and Witt in the halves, Thorman off the bench.

But Luke O'Dwyer really sounds a goer. Start him in the centres. Then move him to lock and bring on Vaealiki or the like.

PB

God Almighty i hope Luke O'Dwyer gets a first grade start soon.

Like most of you, i havent seen him play, but my reasons for wanting him to get a start are motivated by slightly different reasons.

You see i got tired of all the "Steve Witt should be in first grade" dribble last year, and it seems we have a new player who people can wrap insainly despite having hardly seen any of him.

So i reccommend if you are going to wrap him, go back and find your old post about steve Witt, and copy paste them, then just insert Dwyer for Witt.

Sheesh....

bradeel

3 words:
trying something different

Besides, let's not get worked up about the team sheets. We all know Smithy makes his mind up on Saturday arvo anyway and EVEN IF this is the 17 that run out on Sat night, its a clear message that we are going to play very strong and very tough. Wise Guy may not be the flashiest winger on earth and he may not have set the world alight so far but he is no weakling and every other time i have seen us play the Dogs since 2001 we have gotten creamed like soft little marshmallows by their tough guys.

hh

The Worm said:
For God's sake did he watch any replays of Daniel Wagon pretending to be a 5/8. He stinks. This selection alone could mean a loss for parra.

I couldn't agree more!!!! :(

But then again perhaps Wags has had pre season lessons in passing the ball :?: :?:

Eelectrica

Wags can pass the ball, the trick is knowing WHEN to pass the ball. Hopefully wags has seen the tape of the penrith game and has figured it out by now.

Parraren

Eelectrica said:
Wags can pass the ball, the trick is knowing WHEN to pass the ball. Hopefully wags has seen the tape of the penrith game and has figured it out by now.

Too true. I don't think anyone has forgiven him for that yet...

Phillips

Parraren said:
Eelectrica said:

Too true. I don't think anyone has forgiven him for that yet...

the only way i will forgive Wagon is if he scores 3 tries and starts a punch up with some of the dogs

The Engineers Room

Phillips said:
the only way i will forgive Wagon is if he scores 3 tries and starts a punch up with some of the dogs

Exchange: starts for wins
Exchange: with some for against all
Add to the end: By himself

And I will be happy

hh

Eelectrica said:

How do we know he can pass the ball if he never passes it!?!?! ;-)
My point is that he is a hog!!!!

Chipmunk

Eelectrica said:

Rubbish!! Tell me the last time that anyone seen him pass a ball at all? Let alone in a position where he needs to set up the play. He is not capable of passing the ball and therefore should not play in a position thay requires the player to run and pass as the main criteria for the position!