Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team List Tuesday: Rnd 25 v Panthers (Friday 3rd Sept) - Who Will BA Rest?

lingard

I think this is what will happen, we finish 6th

There is a 26pts differential

You would think Penrith beat us a lot more than that, they would want to.

Cant see Raiders Raiders slaughtering the chooks

All good we will win in week 1 of the finals, and most likely play loser of Souths and Penrith I thinkl ?
Hmm. Sounds good on paper, but maybe we'd be better off playing Melbourne or Manly? Nah, with Latrelle out, and the ambush factor against Penrith, were probably better off coming sixth.

emjaycee

I wonder now that Penrith have seen our team if they’ll rest a few themselves.
They still have to pick from their named squad and their 18-21 all have FG experience.
BA has named both Browns, ICE and Penisini on our extended bench so we might still see a change or two before kick-off.

Gee I didnt expect that. I can understand one or two changes but a few more against a full strength Penrith? Hmm.

I just wonder if Parra had of won against Roosters, Raiders and Sea Eagles, would they rest players against Cowboy?

Sensei Cobra

I’m not a fan. I reckon we are more of a momentum team and this disruption / potential blow out could halt the momentum we have built over the last 2 weeks.

I’m not so sure I agree. We’ve been awful for the last month or so. The cowboys win was pretty ordinary. The effort against the storm came out of the blue - nothing at all to suggest it was coming. Maybe BA is confident we can turn it in when needed, which is maybe a bit of the learning the squad and the team have taken out of the last few years ….. who knows hey ? …. Let’s see once the finals start

It is if you go into kick off expecting us to get flogged by 50+.

Forget the jerseys they are wearing and look at it as an opposed training session by the Panthers against a reserve grade side. Have fun and enjoy watching some new faces that we might see more of next year.

These guys like Perham, Rodwell and Loizou could be part of our future and they are getting first hand experience against one of the best squads assembled in recent times... invaluable when there is nothing to lose.

I doubt Pensini was dropped. I think rested. If he wasn't going to play him in finals he would of played him this week.
I thought Hollis would of been given a run.

Kilkenny

They still have to pick from their named squad and their 18-21 all have FG experience.
BA has named both Browns, ICE and Penisini on our extended bench so we might still see a change or two before kick-off.
Bit disappointed guys. Your team is somewhat less than it should be and while I understand the thinking it is rather deafest in my opinion. i don’t understand the resignation that you cannot make the top four. The Cowboys could beat the Sea Eagles. I don’t get it. Surely you should be going all out for the top four.

Angry_eel

Bit disappointed guys. Your team is somewhat less than it should be and while I understand the thinking it is rather deafest in my opinion. i don’t understand the resignation that you cannot make the top four. The Cowboys could beat the Sea Eagles. I don’t get it. Surely you should be going all out for the top four.

I agree but you have to understand if Parra doesn't make it to round 2 of the finals, BA might be gone in the off season.

He's rested everybody! Who are half of these guys... didn't know we had/were allowed to have so many subs in the bubble?

Penrith at full strength by 50. Bring on week 1 of the finals!

The problem is it's out of our hands. If Manly win (and they are paying $1.07) we will have wasted our effort. It's a cost/benefit thing, and I think we've chosen correctly.

Joshuatheeel

I doubt Pensini was dropped. I think rested. If he wasn't going to play him in finals he would of played him this week.
I thought Hollis would of been given a run.
Definitely rested, he has been picked in front of Oldfield several times this year, so why wouId BA suddenly picked Oldfield in front on him……..so rested I reckon…..or he wouId be playing…

84 Baby

You’re gonna be so red faced when we beat you

emjaycee

We are.

We have a side that you guys haven't seen play before (neither have we) so Cleary can't prepare for the unknown.
On the other hand, there is heaps of footage on your named side so BA would have been able to do heaps of homework, besides you only beat us by a field goal in Round 16. We have your measure FFS.

It's AMBUSH TIME!!!

We are.

We have a side that you guys haven't seen play before (neither have we) so Cleary can't prepare for the unknown.
On the other hand, there is heaps of footage on your named side so BA would have been able to do heaps of homework, besides you only beat us by a field goal in Round 16. We have your measure FFS.

It's AMBUSH TIME!!!
Also, Ferguson wasn't playing last time we met. He's in pretty strong form, averaging two tries per game since he came back from injury.

Soto

Real comp starts next week. Why risk any of your top line players for a game which means nothing in the grand scheme of things.
A fair few of the boys would be banged up so a week's rest is very timely.
The real assault starts next week. Enjoy this Friday's game which will showcase some future first graders. Good for them too. I'm looking forward to it and even more so the following week.