Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team list Tuesday ! Trial vs Raiders

Full respect to the dedicated punters on here that watch Wenty every week. This is horrible footy. You guys are committed.

Yeah this is meaningless now, really.

For a second I was like "oh FFS how do we let Sam fking Williams cut us open" but then I remembered this is Wenty now.

As long as theres no injuries mate
Meh

Not sure about the first 35 mins, but for the rest of the FG stint you could see they weren't going too hard, really. Raiders got back in it momentum wise and we just did enough to keep them in arrears. Fair enough too, how bad would we all blow up if Paulo did his ACL in a meaningless trial against a Raiders reggies side!
I'm not writing us off after one trial obviously but I was hoping for more. I think most of us were.

forward pass

They didn’t disappoint. That was the most Parra performance you will ever see. Blow a 20 nil lead. 10 seconds to go and and can’t even just take the tackle. That was Parra all over - don’t care who was out there. Lol

I think it's almost harder to belt a reggies level side, honestly. There's nothing in it for established first graders and with the different sides for different sections it just means nothing.

It's more about fitness, form and combinations.
I dunno. I reckon belting a team of reggies should just be a matter of course, even if it's not the goal. At least tonight's effort will temper expectations.

ImTheMan

They didn’t disappoint. That was the most Parra performance you will ever see. Blow a 20 nil lead. 10 seconds to go and and can’t even just take the tackle. That was Parra all over - don’t care who was out there. Lol

Trash. You would think they wouldn't rush to pack a scrum while ahead in a "real" match, but if you think that you've been in a coma the last decade.

A Junior Rugby League team wouldn't do what they just did.

*Sips delicately*

Well from what I saw (only from about 35 mins onwards) Paulo was excellent and will be a huge buy.

Dylan Brown was very good.

FG realistically won 20-6, given there was no way that second Raiders try was ever down. Which is ok but not great, never looked in top gear.

Mennings looked much better, let's see if that carries into the season. Mahoney was very sharp. Lane looked threatening at times and I thought Gower looked really good.

Moses looked tentative in the bits I saw. Needs to work on kicking goals if he's going to be the best option.

Timmy Mannah looked like a fat slug. Not sure I've ever seen him look genuinely off the pace in both attack and defence, but I thought he did.

We defended in second gear I thought and that showed towards the end of the FG boys stint.

Then Wenty came on and it all went properly downhill, but I suppose you expect that to an extent. NSW Cup is a very different level.

Solid enough hit-out, but far from perfect.

Interesting Terepo is out there with the "Wenty" players.

Also interesting that he still runs way too hard and then gets driven back just as far as he ran in the first place
He has explosive speed but zero leg drive. It's bizarre.

Noise

I thought we still looked very lost when attacking their line. Peni and Tepai run hard but geeze they get smashed and put on their back a lot resulting in a slow play the ball. Crap technique

Brown ran the ball well. Mannah, Junior and Alvaro were decent.

Eelogical

I think it's almost harder to belt a reggies level side, honestly. There's nothing in it for established first graders and with the different sides for different sections it just means nothing.

It's more about fitness, form and combinations.
No worries, Pou.