Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team v Bulldogs

sup42

McIvor had to put in a clip of him getting a signed Jersey from Terry Lamb with a " Thanks for your support Stephen " written on the front.

I see Voss has squeezed McIvor out of the 40/20 lead presenter Role and Awen takes the desk when Vossy's not there , consequently that show has improved out of sight and is well worth watching these days.

The tension between Voss and Mcmerkin was palpable last year, Nuggets after a career of cashed up Sky Money for running a Dogs show has been demoted.

As the Mad Butcher said at the launch of the Nines after McIvor put in a plug for Bankstown ' no one gives a * F bomb * about the Bulldogs Stephen, why don't you shove them up your * ass-ume rude word *

Halligan got his Job under McIvors watch , a job for the boys....someone who can take Stephen to his Bankstown buddies through the front door.

It's been a sad state of affairs , at least Rabs etc try to present a face of Neutrality to their wider Audience....we've been stuck with a Sydney club biased on our own league show.

I don't tune in to hear Warrior cheer leading, but at the end of the day it's a cruel joke two of the worst presenters in NZ league rep for another Franchise while being funded by your Warrior motivated Sky subscription.

JoeD

I see Voss has squeezed McIvor out of the 40/20 lead presenter Role and Awen takes the desk when Vossy's not there , consequently that show has improved out of sight and is well worth watching these days.
Thanks for the tip. they should have advertised Mc Nuggets getting dropped. If it wasn't for your post 1 would never have known. Will tune in next week now.

sup42

Thanks for the tip. they should have advertised Mc Nuggets getting dropped. If it wasn't for your post 1 would never have known. Will tune in next week now.
No worries. They farmed McIvor out at the end of last year so that his role is minor....the roving reporter spot , Awen took over , he was shaky and nervous his first show , but this year he's really matured as a presenter and good on him.
Halligan usually gets a roving reporter roll now as well and barely is there with his squeaking over the top of the other panelists ( that guy needs to lay off the stimulants....too many fizzy drinks ).

Halligan has a useful role interviewing Kiwis in the NRL. As such it's a relaxed interview and he's quite good with the benefit of editing. The new theme this year is celebrating one hundred and twelve Kiwis in the NRL.

Last weeks interview was with Josh Hoffman.

vvvrulz

Big signings will have off games, the Warriors turning over ball never allowed their spine pairing to find rhythm, I don't think Tomkins is where we lost it.

Tomkins certainly didn't cost us the match, never said that.
But he had an off day like you said and he's had several this season.

He's a decent fullback so far, his sweeping runs and passing game are the main strengths.
Also has real pace if into a gap. These attributes are enough to carve up at ESL level.

But his kicking game is on and off, is still suspect on defensive positioning and every now and then he pulls out a howler.

Overly critical? Yes probably. But he was billed to be a standout player in the league of the guys JJ mentioned. I was at least expecting something like Wade McKinnon '07 out of him. He may get there, but he's not there yet.

Better than Locke even? Still not completely sold, if both played to their full potential they're probably about the same level. Locke was outstanding in 2011 but has other problems which as kept him rightfully at #2 this season.

Would I drop Tomkins? Of course not, he has a great attitude and does enough to be rated as a decent NRL fullback. But he's not what he was made out to be, at least not so far. That's the only point here.

vvvrulz

Hallingan not a warriors fan? Hahahaha.

Just today he wasn't though I didn't hear that commentary as I had channel 9. Gould was all in love with the bulldogs.

There is no way in heck Halligan is a Warriors fan.
Awful commentator, but definitely not biased towards us.

sup42

Tomkins certainly didn't cost us the match, never said that.
But he had an off day like you said and he's had several this season.

He's a decent fullback so far, his sweeping runs and passing game are the main strengths.
Also has real pace if into a gap. These attributes are enough to carve up at ESL level.

But his kicking game is on and off, is still suspect on defensive positioning and every now and then he pulls out a howler.

Overly critical? Yes probably. But he was billed to be a standout player in the league of the guys JJ mentioned. I was at least expecting something like Wade McKinnon '07 out of him. He may get there, but he's not there yet.

Better than Locke even? Still not completely sold, if both played to their full potential they're probably about the same level. Locke was outstanding in 2011 but has other problems which as kept him rightfully at #2 this season.

Would I drop Tomkins? Of course not, he has a great attitude and does enough to be rated as a decent NRL fullback. But he's not what he was made out to be, at least not so far. That's the only point here.
yeah sorry man I didn't intend to intimate you thought we lost it through Tomkins, merely making an observation.

We scored that last Try off a Tomkins pass , delayed to perfection which set up the overlap.....from what I've been watching Tomkins does that several times a game for us this year .....and while he's had his adjustment issues, he is a genuine go to game winner and I'm confident he is taking us to the next level.

Consider Johnsons repeated late opportunities in that game, in Lockes time when Johnson played a lone hand.....the biggest criticism was no one backing Johnson up to put doubt in the defensive line.

That bombed Try by Shaun started by Tomkins running a line on the inside giving Johnson time and space , he did it several times , Tomkins has been doing it all year.

We didn't have forward advantage , once Tomkins and Johnson saw early ball the dogs were in trouble, I think as such the Pom is worth every cent and deserves the accolades, i.e when we execute well he adds the winning difference by boosting the players around him.

We need a skinny dude to refuse to take a backward step to James Graham , that bravado from Tomkins is going to be putting pressure on a lot of our players to take no poo.

Kicking game is poor. We didn't by large on Tomkins to kick, if we did we're silly , it's not his go.

I thought his defence was fine and stands up with most NRL Fullbacks when their team is getting hammered on their line continuously.

vvvrulz

yeah sorry man I didn't intend to intimate you thought we lost it through Tomkins, merely making an observation.

We scored that last Try off a Tomkins pass , delayed to perfection which set up the overlap.....from what I've been watching Tomkins does that several times a game for us this year .....and while he's had his adjustment issues, he is a genuine go to game winner and I'm confident he is taking us to the next level.

Consider Johnsons repeated late opportunities in that game, in Lockes time when Johnson played a lone hand.....the biggest criticism was no one backing Johnson up to put doubt in the defensive line.

That bombed Try by Shaun started by Tomkins running a line on the inside giving Johnson time and space , he did it several times , Tomkins has been doing it all year.

We didn't have forward advantage , once Tomkins and Johnson saw early ball the dogs were in trouble, I think as such the Pom is worth every cent and deserves the accolades, i.e when we execute well he adds the winning difference by boosting the players around him.

We need a skinny dude to refuse to take a backward step to James Graham , that bravado from Tomkins is going to be putting pressure on a lot of our players to take no poo.

Kicking game is poor. We didn't by large on Tomkins to kick, if we did we're silly , it's not his go.

I thought his defence was fine and stands up with most NRL Fullbacks when their team is getting hammered on their line continuously.

:lol: No need to apologise its all good!

Most of that is absolutely bang on.

I don't think anybody is saying Tomkins can't play, its more expectations versus what he has delivered so far. He's been good, at times very very good. He's also been wobbly on occasion and produced a few shockers. Overall a very good buy but not the massive buy he was promised to be.

Of course he might prove me wrong down the line and I'll be happy to be proven wrong!

Packy

I think Voss is a great presence for you guys. You guys are always in his media pops.

We don't get much of the Sky team so I didn't know McIvor was a Dogs fan (or really who he was tbh), so it seems strange that he had such opportunity to sprout for us.

sup42

I think Voss is a great presence for you guys. You guys are always in his media pops.

We don't get much of the Sky team so I didn't know McIvor was a Dogs fan (or really who he was tbh), so it seems strange that he had such opportunity to sprout for us.
yes it's an oddity of NZ television that a Dog supporter got the lead voice of Rugby league T.V. this guy doesn't do the club service with that stance either , constant plugs about his offshore club is just plain wrong.

The fellah is a bit of a twat too , calls himself a league expert and has a self titled radio show called " THE BIG SHOW " wot a knob.

Halligan is a Dog for Life and I admire him for that, he's earned it and as poor a speaker he may be...he at least has played the game for them.

McIvor is a sycophantic embarrassment to our game here.

JJ

To be fair though (and I am not a McIvor fan) he was Sky's Aussie league guy (and Doggies fan) well before the Warriors came to be... I am ok with him staying a fan of his Sydney club, at the end of the day it is a club team/comp.... TBH if it wasn't for Super League I would still be a Penrith fan, obviously from 95 I became interested in the Warriors - but arose more out of convenience (and the Super League thing rankles still - think I am just getting old)

vvvrulz

yes it's an oddity of NZ television that a Dog supporter got the lead voice of Rugby league T.V. this guy doesn't do the club service with that stance either , constant plugs about his offshore club is just plain wrong.

The fellah is a bit of a twat too , calls himself a league expert and has a self titled radio show called " THE BIG SHOW " wot a knob.

Halligan is a Dog for Life and I admire him for that, he's earned it and as poor a speaker he may be...he at least has played the game for them.

McIvor is a sycophantic embarrassment to our game here.

This.

I've never seen anyone say anything remotely positive about McIvor because he's got nothing going for him.
Not even a cult following or a token fan, even trolls stay away.

I guess he doesn't stand out like a sore thumb and that's probably why he still has that job.
He sucks in every way but its easy to pretend he isn't there cos he usually isn't really doing anything.

JJ

This.

I've never seen anyone say anything remotely positive about McIvor because he's got nothing going for him.
Not even a cult following or a token fan, even trolls stay away.

I guess he doesn't stand out like a sore thumb and that's probably why he still has that job.
He sucks in every way but its easy to pretend he isn't there cos he usually isn't really doing anything.

He was brilliant on Pulp Sport

Penrose Warrior

Voss is bloody great. I've got absolutely zero idea why 9 punted him - he was outstanding on the Roast (which now sucks) and Stuff You May Have Missed on the Footy Show.

McIvor may well be the most incapable media personality in NZ. That's if you ignore his mate the Stray Dog, who speaks less English and sense than an actual stray dog.

WellsNZ

I have never met a single person who has had anything good to say about McMuppets involvement over the years. He had such a negative impact on the entertainment value of the product. My partner knows the name of about 5 league players despite me watching every game each week, yet she learned McIvor pretty quick because within minutes, without fail if he's on the screen I end up "just f**k off McIvor" or something of the sort :lol:

No idea what the bloke is like off the air so I have nothing against him as a person, but on the air he is intolerable. Thankfully they've squeezed him out so much now. Countless times I've tuned in to other New Zealand sporting events and had to change the channel because he's popped up. For the League I always had to begrudgingly stomach him, praying for alternate commentary that game.

Might have to actually start watching 40/20 now that I read he's pretty much out of the picture. Have ripped on 40/20 a fair bit, but I definitely see the value of a Kiwi based League show, even if it doesn't stack up to what some of the Aussies put out, it's good for the game here, I'm just not willing to endure McIvor to watch it.

Halligan seems to get it pretty hard but I don't have too much of a problem with him. He's a dunce but he's got the player pedigree. Plus I have a soft spot for him because he was one of the reasons I backed the Dogs as a youngster :D

Penrose Warrior

No idea what the bloke is like off the air so I have nothing against him as a person

You would if you'd met him. Arrogant, oblivious to how awful he is as a media personality and wouldn't give you the time of day if you weren't someone he thought he'd look good by talking to.

WellsNZ

Well good because I always felt a little bad for how much crap I and basically every person I have ever conversed with about the topic have given him.

Now I don't need to feel quite so guilty :D

sup42

Nuggets used to come on the one tribe forum and plug his forty twenty show.
That Forum was a Hangi pit for Trolls , I lost all semblance of respect for Nuggets the day he accused Warriors fans of being haters lol childish thing to do over the interweb.

As far as an information source for Warriors fans , Nuggets had opportunities in his role for access that the rest of us can only dream about.

So what did he do with that ? he chose to be Canterbury Bankstowns voice on the NZ league scene....arrogant prick at best....miss use of his salary and my sky fees at worst.
Nuggets would be the only man in the NRL that the Butcher has told live on TV to shove it up his arse.

Even his producer couldn't ignore his attempt to have a Johnson measuring contest with Andrew Voss, that was shameful.....the difference between a professional league show and a Nuggets show , is that when another expert comes on , the grown ups don't try to talk over the other person...or challenge their pedigree.

Yesterdays 40/20 featured Gould , Voss took an appropriate co panelist role , Guttenbiel was the respectful topic director. Consequently people like Gould will be only too happy to reappear on 40/20 in future.

vvvrulz

Halligan seems to get it pretty hard but I don't have too much of a problem with him. He's a dunce but he's got the player pedigree. Plus I have a soft spot for him because he was one of the reasons I backed the Dogs as a youngster :D

Halligan is unintentional comic relief and an absolutely awful commentator. He would be hilarious, if he didn't ruin classic Warriors tries/moments with his sheer inability to call a game. I can't believe there was a time we had a Husband/Halligan pair.

His Laomappy is getting downright annoying though.