Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team v Parra?

Terminator

You can't throw mad dog out, he will go great this year if he doesn't get injured much.
touch wood

Hanscholo

My team is unchanged. I thought Lulia went well, one major defensive mistake, and a drop which nearly cost us dearly but he has loads of ability. I also thought Taia was superb last night, his best game for us i rate it. Id ease Cross and Sargeant back at this stage, our front row is going very well.

shane1970

strewth_mate said:
Asked it in another thread, but where was Ciraldo in the second half? Didn't see much of him - I assumed it was because he was injured early.
Heard on Hollywood & Zorba sports show yesterday morning that he dislocated his finger. Now in comparison to Vuna's the previous week it would appear that maybe the injury should not have kept him out for the remainder of the game - so whether it was a bad injury or Coach Smith just kept him back I suppose we will find out later.

keeney

1. Kidley
2. Mcmanus
3. Naiqama
4. Bailey
5. Vuna/Uate
6. Mullen
7. Dureau
8. Royal
9. Buderus
10. White
11. Houston
12. Taia
13. Tolar

14. Hilder
15. Paterson
16. Fa'aoso
17. Wicks

Don't think we'll see this team but after finally watching the first game I've missed seeing on the night in years (f**king lack of fox active), I came to a number of conclusions.

Our forwards are looking too good to change all that much, moving Tolar to lock covers for our weakened backrow while keeping our frontrow stocks strong. Our frontrow rotation is getting the job done for us both offensively and defensively better than it has in years. The addition of White and retention of Tolar in another capacity can only add to that.

Something needs to be done about our 4 & 5. Vuna was atrocious, a performance Vatuvei would have blushed over. So many opportunities went begging because of his inability to hold onto the ball. Lulia was pretty bad too, but made some really nice busts. Doogs could be good on the wing, he makes solid metres and doesn't leave us so vulnerable in defense when pushed wider. From all accounts Bailey is going too well to remain in PL, anyone else think he'd be a decent centre candidate?

Johns Magic

I'm very excited about this game.

I can see Fa'aoso outplaying Moi Moi and Mullen outplaying whatever halfback they dish up(Finch or Smith)

Terminator

1. Gidley
2. McManus
3. Naiqama
4. Bailey
5. Vuna
6. Mullen
7. Dureau
8. Tolar
9. Buderus
10. White
11. Houston
12. Taia
13. Hilder

14. Wicks
15. Fa'aoso
16. Patterson
17. Royal

Bicey_18

Yeah im starting to wonder if Vuna should be replaced... I mean he doesnt look comfortable under the high ball.

Bicey_18

Most likely side:

1. Gidley
2. McManus
3. Naiqama
4. MacDougall
5. Vuna
6. Mullen
7. Dureau
8. Tolar
9. Buderus
10. Royal
11. Houston
12. Paterson
13. Taia

14. Wicks
15. Fa'aso
16. Hilder
17. White

Bicey_18

I think the way we are going to beat Parra on friday night is through our kick chase game. Ive noticed that their forwards havent really been great so far and have struggled to have an impact. Fui looks unfit, usually he would kill it off the bench but since starting i dunno just not as dynamic... If we can continue kicking it down field and chasing with enthusiasm and pin them in their half for most of the game then their playmakers will struggle to have an impact as they are still at the own end.. As in our 2 previous games, Canberra and Manly have struggled to get out of their end of the field because of our chase.. and our defence..we have to apply that friday night cos Parra will threaten the line more so than the previous sides we played.

I really think we can beat Parra..the game plan Smith used last year worked a treat. In that game we had Abes/Walsh in the halves... and im just wondering if maybe thats why Smith is thinking of using Bailey/Mullen.. not sure but im sure Smith knows what he is doing. I remember in the interview with Smith after the game last year V Parra , one of the journos asked if Smith gave Newy an insight into the Parra style of footy, who to target etc and he replied.. "I would have loved to but I dont think we are there yet.. maybe in a year or 2.." or something along those lines.

Will be an interesting game though..

otori

Surely Cross will go through at least one game of premier grade first? I'd be wary of rushing him back into the side and it's not as if we can't get by without him

Frederick

TBH I'm tempted to believe Karma here...all his predictions so far have been 100% spot on. He's a modern day Nostradamus!

Karmawave

It's not a prediction.

Its a statement to not be suprised if Cross comes back. Doesn't mean he bloody will.

Fair dinkum, like I said before, people here see what they wanna see :roll:

I believe he'll be back earlier than expected. Whether its this week, or next, let's wait and see. There's no real need to rush him given the performance of the front row so far.

Bring it home Knights

Karmawave said:
It's not a prediction.

Its a statement to not be suprised if Cross comes back. Doesn't mean he bloody will.

Fair dinkum, like I said before, people here see what they wanna see :roll:

I believe he'll be back earlier than expected. Whether its this week, or next, let's wait and see. There's no real need to rush him given the performance of the front row so far.

The good thing with cross is that it isn't a leg injury so he can keep very fit from running.

League_God

lol pretty much everyone in this forum, is far too harsh and quick to disagree with everything that karma has to say. tbh i agree with alot of things he has to say. he was wrong about scotty, but he was quick to admit that and put his hand up and accepting the fact that hes thoughts/views were wrong, lol something alot of people on this forum dont do enough (myself included). and at the end of the day he's a knights supporter along with the rest of us. so im certainly willing to listen to anymore of his opinions. unless of course he suddenly changes his name to Big_Bad_Sharks_Fan :p
anyway

1.Gids
2.Aku
3.Wes
4.Jimmy
5.Vuna
6.Mullen
7.Scotty
8.Royal
9.Bedsy
10.Tolar
11.Houston (f**k i love this bloke)