Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team V Storm 5 Day Turn Around

Meth

Luke out, Roache out, Jazz out. That would mean it'll be our 3 hookers gone.

Clark will have to play 9 and lolohea to 9 when he needs a break.

Theres literally nobody else.

Jazz is named in ISP this week

TheDMC

Yeah Gubb went ok

I thought Grubb went okay too. He was given big props for making that try saving tackle near our own line, and while it was crucial, the way I saw it live (and only once) was he hadn't come across from the inside early or quickly enough and created the gaping hole they nearly scored through. So no props from me. He just cleaned up his own mess, and barely.

Meth

I thought Grubb went okay too. He was given big props for making that try saving tackle near our own line, and while it was crucial, the way I saw it live (and only once) was he hadn't come across from the inside early or quickly enough and created the gaping hole they nearly scored through. So no props from me. He just cleaned up his own mess, and barely.

Yeah, as per usual, Gubb is overrated.

He turned in a serviceable performance with a semi-decent work rate.

Blair

Yeah it's not ideal if you want to travel to the game.

Works out pretty well for me though and a few others I know. Knock off work in the city at 5, find a bar, observe 2 hours of "happy hour" while watching the footy and make it back home to the wife at a reasonable hour to save copping an earful.

I hope it stays haha

That all sounds fine until the Warriors win with a late try (a ripper, btw, scored from deep in our own territory), you have a couple more to celebrate, then an old friend walks in that you haven't seen in ages, next thing you know it's midnight and you have seven missed calls from the wife.

As a trained observer of the married man I've seen this play out across all ages and cultures. "But the Warriors won, hon!", is probably one of the least effective things a man could say in this scenario.

Big Marn

http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/league/90215228/warriors-wing-ken-maumalo-ready-for-cooper-cronks-bombs

Warriors winger Ken Maumalo says he's preparing for an aerial assault from Cooper Cronk in Friday's game against the Storm in Auckland.

Maumalo has retained his place on the left wing for the Warriors' second game of the season, keeping out Kiwi Manu Vatuvei and says he knows that the 2016 Dally M Medal winner will be coming after him at Mt Smart Stadium.

"I'm preparing for that," Maumalo said.

I know a lot of traffic is going to come my way with the high balls, because he's the main kicker, so I've got to watch out."

The left edge defence did a good job against the Knights last weekend, not letting in any tries, but the Storm are expected to be a tougher challenge.

"We've still got heaps to work on," Maumalo said.

"Solomone and I were working hard on it over the preseason and it's only going to get better.

"We know that this weekend the Storm will like to attack with Cooper Cronk, so they'll come down our left side and we'll need to be on our toes."

It says something of the high regard Warriors coach Stephen Kearney holds for Maumalo that he's been selected ahead of Vatuvei.

Kearney said the reason why Vatuvei played in the reserve grade NSW Cup last weekend was because he didn't play in the trial games. But for Friday's match, he wanted to stick with Maumalo and Tuimoala Lolohea on the other wing, because he was largely happy with how they played.

"It's good to know that the coach has got faith in me to play again," Maumalo said.

"So for me it's about giving back to him and trying to perform well. Limit my errors and just doing my job really."

Maumalo has played 19 games for the Warriors since making his NRL debut in 2015. He has spent time bouncing up and down between the NRL and reserve grade team during that time, but feels at the age of 22, he's ready to make his mark in first grade footy.

"It didn't get me down, it made me hungrier," he said of the times he dropped to the NSW Cup team.

"When I went down last year I wanted to play better and that made me mentally stronger. Going back down ended up being a massive confidence booster for me."

"This is my third year now and I've been in and out, this year I want to establish myself as a full NRL player. That's my goal and I'm working hard towards it."

Benek

This wet weather will play to Storm's advantage. Will be more of a grind and more their style. I'm getting less optimistic about our chances Friday if it rains like it's supposed to tomorrow.

Meth

Wet weather means a closer game, which means (in theory) a better chance of snagging a win. But I'd back the Storm in a grind.

SpaceMonkey

Wet weather means a closer game, which means (in theory) a better chance of snagging a win. But I'd back the Storm in a grind.

It could go both ways really. They're great in a grind but the wet will also bring mistakes into it (everyone drops the pill in the rain) and potentially add some unstructured moments. And traditionalally we're actually pretty good in wet slugfests, we probably train in it most.

ZEROMISSTACKLES

Our handling errors was a real problem last week. I hope we got that patched up cos wet weather can compound our handling woes. Storm and Cowboys normally have low errors.

Benek

I'm really struggling to understand the logic of the Maumalo selection. To me he's a Manu Lite. Has some size and power, good enough at those first tackle hitups, but he lacks Manu's legendary try finishing ability, has even worse hands than Manu, is probably slower than Manu, and is far less experienced.

If that's the type of winger SK wants, why choose Manu Lite when you have the real deal on the bench?

Is Manu slightly injured or out of shape? He played reserve grade last week right? How did he go?

And if that's not the type of winger he wants, bring in Ayshford (yeah remember him? Probably our best signing of last year) at centre and push Fusitua to the wing. I know not ideal. I like Fus at centre and I don't mind coach giving him and Tui a chance to form something good on that side. But for the team as a whole, is it worth having the Maumalo liability?

I'm all for looking to the future. At some stage old players need to make way for the next-gen superstars. But Maumalo isn't a future star. Why have Manu take a back seat to a youngster who can't even outshine him?

What I am missing about Maumalo? What does SK see in this situation that we're not seeing?

Big Marn

I'm really struggling to understand the logic of the Maumalo selection. To me he's a Manu Lite. Has some size and power, good enough at those first tackle hitups, but he lacks Manu's legendary try finishing ability, has even worse hands than Manu, is probably slower than Manu, and is far less experienced.

If that's the type of winger SK wants, why choose Manu Lite when you have the real deal on the bench?

Is Manu slightly injured or out of shape? He played reserve grade last week right? How did he go?

And if that's not the type of winger he wants, bring in Ayshford (yeah remember him? Probably our best signing of last year) at centre and push Fusitua to the wing. I know not ideal. I like Fus at centre and I don't mind coach giving him and Tui a chance to form something good on that side. But for the team as a whole, is it worth having the Maumalo liability?

I'm all for looking to the future. At some stage old players need to make way for the next-gen superstars. But Maumalo isn't a future star. Why have Manu take a back seat to a youngster who can't even outshine him?

What I am missing about Maumalo? What does SK see in this situation that we're not seeing?
I think SK has been justifying selection due to them not leaking points on their side but its not really true, because Nathan Ross was the Knights main point of attack on the opposite side of the field. So if Cooper shows his deficiencies tonight then maybe Manu will get a go.

TheDMC

Watched the very entertaining, and intense Roosters v Dogs game last night. Made me ponder when was the last time the warriors went apeshit on defense smashing players back as both sides did last night? Can't recall, its been years.

I think they are coached not to