Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team v Warriors

roopy

Kidley is just about playing 5/8 from fullback anyway - in attack at least - while saving our bacon as fullback in defence.

Tighe is just there as an extra ball runner - and that is all he is good for anyway.

Dureau would add more playmaking ability but apparently we can't use him.

Karawana would improve our defence a bit but probably weaken the attack a bit.

I'd have Abes in the 17 - but i can't say how we can strengthen the side with the players we have available.

The key is Kidley - he needs to find his pre injury form - and i think he has been improving week by week.

Jono078

I think Gidley has changed a lot since origin.

Before that he was a really good support player taking runs from dummy half and creating a million offloads.

Now he seems to be playing 5/8th with a couple of runs from dummy half and I cant say ive seen him offload in recent times. Actually I think he was leading that stat, if not he was only behind Laffranchi.

antonius

I reckon we've already blown the cap with all the players already used so IMO we should be playing our best option at 5/8th and that's Dureau. We need some variety and he'd provide that, he also has a very good kicking game (better than Kidley, Abes, or Buderus) Stop pussy footing around, Get him in Smithy

Gene Krupa

Jono078 said:
Very happy with the team.

Some opinions differing aswell, some saying shocking yet some love it?

Also Antonius, Smith said on Knights online interview that Tanner would be considered but he is happy with the team as it is.

I can see Tighe carving up the Warriors tbh.

I'm more confident about the team winning now, but I still think Warrirors will be too good.

Seriously, have you been drinking?

Jono078

Gene Krupa said:
Seriously, have you been drinking?
Lol.

I was as annoyed with him last week as a lot of you on here.

I have a feeling he could do some good things against the Warriors.

But in all honesty I would have prefered a Abraham, Karawana or Dureau at 5/8th.

roopy

radical plan
If all we want from a 5/8 is a ball runner and a body in the defensive line - Paterson let loose to run either side of the field and link with walshy sounds like a lot of fun for the opposition to deal with.

good team considering our situation i suppose, no chance of winning this week but I think we can jag a win next week vs Dragons, Warriors 20+

Sacrolishes

hmmm...................mmmhmmm...................mphhh.................................watching the game with a dozen JD's in me should be ok............until the morning:S

2 points i have to make!!..one neg the other pos!!

1 Negative:- watcing the game last wk from the southern hill!!...i noticed that the Knights were so lucky they didnt get totally demolished!!..reason...our marker defence..absolutely horrible i couldnt believe the size of the gaps that were appearing..granted that was mainly in the 2nd half..but still they were huge..if the opposition was smart all they needed was to run from dummy half have a support player draw our defence and slip the player straight thru the gap...we were lucky!!..please to GOD tell me they will look at that b4 the game!!

2. Positive!! Vuna..his attack getting more powerful..intersting too see how he goes against his old team!!
Kids.. improving each wk!!! getting more involved!
The team hass the potential to win..and win well if we can just stiffen up the defence!! smash them all night..giver nothing back..WE CAN DO IT PPL!!!!

Yes i've had 3 cougars already...game looks good already;)

keeney

Vuna is decent in offence but the biggest liability I've ever seen in defense, Doogs included.

macavity

agreed :(

he is a gun on offence though, we haven't had speed like that since traitor Tahu left.

Serc

Warriors

1. Wade McKinnon
2. Michael Crockett
3. Jerome Ropati
4. Simon Mannering
5. Manu Vatuvei
6. Michael Witt
7. Grant Rovelli
8. Sam Rapira
9. George Gatis
10. Steve Price(c)
11. Ruben Wiki (vc)
12. Logan Swann
13. Micheal Luck

Interchange:
14. Wairangi Koopu
15. Evarn Tuimavave
16. Epalahame Lauaki
17. Nathan Fien

Not a bad lineup at all - apparently they have their full 25 to pick from as well...

Jobdog

byrne_rovelli_fan82 said:
LOL what you so upset about mate? Thought you guys are confident? Interesting game so will the match ups
Hardly confident mate. I'm still clinging to hope that we can make the semis, but our defence all year has been terrible, the Warriors play hot potato with the footy, which could cause all sorts of problems for our defence. This game is pretty much a must win, and without trying to sound too negative, I don't like our chances :(

Manu Vatuvei

Vatuvei seems to relish playing the Knights, I recall him scoring a double at EAS in 2005, being the Warriors man of the match in Stacey's last game in 2005, and scoring a long range effort at EAS last year.

KniGhTs BaTTLeR

Far out. Who else has he got to bloody choose from. You guys are impossible to please. Do you expect to him to just whack some top first grade players out of his ass and then have a team you all like? sh*t man we are struggling so bad with injuries it's not funny. Only person who shouldn't be in that team is Carmont, boke will always be a joke. We wont win but if you blame Smith then we will never have a coach good enough for the Knights.

Jono078

KniGhTs BaTTLeR said:
Far out. Who else has he got to bloody choose from. You guys are impossible to please. Do you expect to him to just whack some top first grade players out of his ass and then have a team you all like? sh*t man we are struggling so bad with injuries it's not funny. Only person who shouldn't be in that team is Carmont, boke will always be a joke. We wont win but if you blame Smith then we will never have a coach good enough for the Knights.
I would of agreed with you a few months ago.

But if any player deserves to be there at the moment it is Carmont.