Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team versus the Eagles

African Monkey

someone just came to my desk and asked if they could have one of my Scoth Finger biscuits, i said ' dude, you look like you have had waaay too many scotch finger biscuits in your time, no more for you!!' KOBK
That's the way mate. This is the attitude required throughout the club that's needed for victory and premiership #21.

Kill or be killed.

Tommax25

fail.

convicted= found guilty

the word you are looking for is accused. And i refuse to refer to him as innocent until he is proven so, therefore i will call him the accused until/if a court shows otherwise

Yes you are right, the lack of sleep has caught up with me. Still, dave q implied that he will be convicted before his court date. Either that or he has made a nothing statement.

Tommax25

Tommax has got a lot of things wrong.

He has confused facts with law for a start.

Just because someone is regarded as innocent at law doesnt mean they didnt committ the crime.

Just because someone has been charged with an offence doesnt mean they are guilty. You cant have it both ways davo.

Tommax25

The cops interviewed people and charged him with an offence. The cops determined the offence allegedly committed through their investigation.

We've been through this... It doesnt make him guilty.

The number of years in gaol refelcts the seriousness of the alleged crime. This is not a pick pocket job.

True. However, they have not set down 20 years or whatever for brett stewart, whatever the number is the general number. I fail to see how this reflects his guilt or innocence.

He wouldnt be on an AVO or have bail conditons if he wasnt in trouble.

He is to be known as the accused, Aaron is 100% correct.

We've been over the avo stuff too davo q, relevance towards guilty or innocence = 0.

By all means refer to him as the accused. He has been accused, he is the accused. But accused does not = guilty, and as long as he is the accused and not the criminal ect ect he is innocent in the eyes of the law. It is a fundamental part of our society. If you cannot understand that then this discussionhits a brick wall, and if you chose to ignore it and decide he is guilty before he gets his day in court then what are you doing living in this country? Everyone deserves the right to a presumption of innocence and a fair trial.

Dave Q

Its not just a scotch biscuit, its a way of life...

A way of life forced down our throats by the era in which we live.

And sadly, football is a mere reflection of life.

If all the players wouldnt share a bikkie on account of having to be mean and headstrong, that would soon translate into the hardest defence ever seen in the game.

Next time some jerk is indicating trying to move into your lane, just hold your nerve rabbitohs. Keep going and even speed up a little as if to say "fug you bastard" Dont let the bastard in.

And in a world recession, dont just buy anything. You hassle that shopkeeper for a discount.

Go into the bank and complain about fees.

If you are a garbo, just miss a few bins on the run for the hell of it. Tell the manager "Nup, it wasnt out when I went past."

If the players adopted this harsh approach to life, we would never lose another match. Wed be thrown out of the NRL for being too good.

Somethings got to give.

The world has changed.

Hate=win

Kill or be killed.

Dave Q

We've been through this... It doesnt make him guilty.

True. However, they have not set down 20 years or whatever for brett stewart, whatever the number is the general number. I fail to see how this reflects his guilt or innocence.

We've been over the avo stuff too davo q, relevance towards guilty or innocence = 0.

By all means refer to him as the accused. He has been accused, he is the accused. But accused does not = guilty, and as long as he is the accused and not the criminal ect ect he is innocent in the eyes of the law. It is a fundamental part of our society. If you cannot understand that then this discussionhits a brick wall, and if you chose to ignore it and decide he is guilty before he gets his day in court then what are you doing living in this country?

Heres comes the abuse at last.

You cant tell the difference between a legal construct and a cold hard fact .

I will say this again for your benefit. Read and try to get your head around it this time. Its not too difficult.

According to law, he is only to be regarded as being innocent.

That does not make him innocent of the charges against him in any shape, way, form and fashion. He could be as guilty as sin.

What is fundamental is: that facts are facts and law is law. They are different.

Just because we have a legal system or rule of law, doesnt mean that crimes never happened.

He is wearing an AVO and he is on bail. He is faced with these impediments to his freedom for a reason. Hes probably lucky to be out and about and not in a remand centre awaiting trial.

The Stewart cheer-squad can swear blue in the face that he is innocent, the fact is, none of them have any idea whatsoever.

And according the the media, this is not the first incident Brett Stewart has allegedly been involved in with women.

People are entitled to draw any conclusion they want to about his guilt or innocence, especially a jury.

The cops dont go charging people for crimes they dont think they committed. They can be sued for that kind of thing. They think they have enough evidence.

If you think that being regarded as being innocent and actually being innocent are one and the same thing, then that shows nothing but a profound lack of understanding of the legal concepts and process.

And stop attributing beliefs to me.

Go and have your Stewart cheer-party on the Manly forum before I decide to sit near him this weekend and abuse him all night for being accused of committing this hideous and vile crime. Put him off his game.

Besides, I need all of my energy to abuse the rabbitohs.

Stop ruining our friendly little hate-session!

Kill or be killed Tommax

Dave Q

I am really looking forward to tonights match.

I am not telling the lads I am coming, I am just going to surprise them by turning up!

Then we will slink off to a spot near the burrow I suppose.

Then we will analyse the game in real-time and support the mighty bunnies.

There was about 6-8 in our group last time with friends scattered about.

Everybody was happy,nice and polite.

Then Sugar arrived!!

Go the bunnies

Kill or be Killed.

Stewart will get the same hate dosage as every other Manly player. He doesnt deserve any special treatment.

Tommax25

Heres comes the abuse at last.

Where did I abuse you?

You cant tell the difference between a legal construct and a cold hard fact .

What is fundamental is: that facts are facts and law is law. They are different.

What is the cold hard fact you are refering to? The facts of the case? I'm aware of those. Surely you dont think its a cold hard fact that he is guilty? The fact, as I'm aware of it, is that he is innocent until proven guilty.

According to law, he is only to be regarded as being innocent.

As oppposed to not being regarded as being innocent?

That does not make him innocent of the charges against him in any shape, way, form and fashion. He could be as guilty as sin.

Well unless he is found guilty on those charges he is innocent. Until that point he is regarded as innocent by the law. Again, you say he could be as guilty as sin. Of course. But he could be innocent, you fail to point that out in every post you make. Until he has his day in court we dont know. And until his day in court he deserves the right to assumed innocent until proven guilty.

He is wearing an AVO and he is on bail. He is faced with these impediments to his freedom for a reason. Hes probably lucky to be out and about and not in a remand centre awaiting trial.

Relevance to guilty or innocent = 0.

The Stewart cheer-squad can swear blue in the face that he is innocent, the fact is, none of them have any idea whatsoever.

True, I dont know what happened. But as I've said, until he has his day in court he has the right to be assumed innocent. We (or at least I) am saying this with some basis in reality (ie: the law in the country we live in). You, on the other hand, have apparently decided him guilty when you have the same idea of what happened as anyone of us, but of course you deciding he's guilty is fine, but others who believe him innocent are wrong and have "no idea whatsoever".

And according the the media, this is not the first incident Brett Stewart has allegedly been involved in with women.

Relevance to guilt or innocence = 0.

If you think that being regarded as being innocent and actually being innocent are one and the same thing, then that shows nothing but a profound lack of understanding of the legal concepts and process.

Whats the difference bewteen being regarded innocent and actually being innocent then? Yes, he could have committed those crimes. We dont know. If he did I am confident that he will be foud guilty and be punished accordingly. Until he is found guilty he is regarded as innocent. I know that being regarded as innocent until found guilty does not mean that he 100% did not commit any crime, but it does mean that until he any doubt is cleared up (ie: he has his day in court, is able to refute said charges and defend himself) he deserves to be regarded as innocent.

Good luck with the game tonight :D

Dave Q

Where did I abuse you?

What is the cold hard fact you are refering to? The facts of the case? I'm aware of those. Surely you dont think its a cold hard fact that he is guilty? The fact, as I'm aware of it, is that he is innocent until proven guilty.

As oppposed to not being regarded as being innocent?

Well unless he is found guilty on those charges he is innocent. Until that point he is regarded as innocent by the law. Again, you say he could be as guilty as sin. Of course. But he could be innocent, you fail to point that out in every post you make. Until he has his day in court we dont know. And until his day in court he deserves the right to assumed innocent until proven guilty.

Relevance to guilty or innocent = 0.

True, I dont know what happened. But as I've said, until he has his day in court he has the right to be assumed innocent. We (or at least I) am saying this with some basis in reality (ie: the law in the country we live in). You, on the other hand, have apparently decided him guilty when you have the same idea of what happened as anyone of us, but of course you deciding he's guilty is fine, but others who believe him innocent are wrong and have "no idea whatsoever".

Relevance to guilt or innocence = 0.

Whats the difference bewteen being regarded innocent and actually being innocent then? Yes, he could have committed those crimes. We dont know. If he did I am confident that he will be foud guilty and be punished accordingly. Until he is found guilty he is regarded as innocent. I know that being regarded as innocent until found guilty does not mean that he 100% did not commit any crime, but it does mean that until he any doubt is cleared up (ie: he has his day in court, is able to refute said charges and defend himself) he deserves to be regarded as innocent.

Good luck with the game tonight :D

Hoo-bloody-ray, you understand this at last.

Manly played well too.

Dave Q

Dave Q....... In terms of you're grip on reality, you're hanging on by a very thin thread.

Your grip on reality is coming onto our forum and being a complete tosser.

I admire your hate, thats why you have a winning side.

My theory is spot on.

hate=win

Kill or be killed you nuffie.

African Monkey

Hoo-bloody-ray, you understand this at last.

Manly played well too.
I don't know about you dave but we were f**ken disgraceful tonight. That was not of first grade standard.

I don't know why David Fa'alogo thinks that he has to offload the ball every time he breaks the line along with his 5 errors a game he seems to make these days. I'd look at dropping him if he doesn't start performing.

The only positive to come out of the game is the rise of Luke Capewell. The kid just gets better and better and plays with heart every week.

Unfortunately we played like a bunch of homo's tonight and we won't tolerate that sort of sh*t so start firing up players.

Dave Q

I don't know about you dave but we were f**ken disgraceful tonight. That was not of first grade standard.

I don't know why David Fa'alogo thinks that he has to offload the ball every time he breaks the line along with his 5 errors a game he seems to make these days. I'd look at dropping him if he doesn't start performing.

The only positive to come out of the game is the rise of Luke Capewell. The kid just gets better and better and plays with heart every week.

Unfortunately we played like a bunch of homo's tonight and we won't tolerate that sort of sh*t so start firing up players.

Stop talking us up A.M!

Mate, you should have been there with us, there were a lot of the LU lads in attendance.

We were so dissapointed with the display, distractions were easy to find.

Kill or be killed must become our mantra now.

Harold Bishop

You guys wont be killing anything for a while. Your pack is the softest in the comp.
Luke Stuart - yeah we all know how long he has played for and how he is the nicest guy in the team, but the guy couldn't break through a wet paper bag.

You're in trouble when your 5 foot halfback is your biggest hitter.

Galeforce

always disappointing to lose , however i see plenty of positives in last nights game
1) it is still early season and we are still in the hunt with 3-3.
2)there were no significant injuries
3) we played a team described as one of the greats just two months ago, who were either going to be on their game last night for a back to back or a rabble. They were on their game and from the stats played almost a perfect game of football in the first half.
4) we dropped the ball all over the place , especially in the second half , yet won the second half.8-6.
5) two of the Manly tries directly from Souths poor handling.
6) given the possession and territory advantage , Souths defence continues to be good and top 4 material
6) not to mention coming off a close loss to Bulldogs 5 days ago , which i am more disappointed with then the Manly loss, which was expected. Look at the ODDS for Manly game. This was not "smart money" reflection on Souths , it was an assessment on Manly coming into form.
7) I would rather beat Manly in the Semi and knock them out at that time .
8) more important to eat the Sharks on friday.A win here will be expected.

African Monkey

I don't know how we could take any positives out of that. We deserved to lose by a lot more. We weren't prepared to kill and we ended up getting killed.

big country

You guys wont be killing anything for a while. Your pack is the softest in the comp.
Luke Stuart - yeah we all know how long he has played for and how he is the nicest guy in the team, but the guy couldn't break through a wet paper bag.

You're in trouble when your 5 foot halfback is your biggest hitter.

i wouldnt get too cocky Harold - we beat you 8-6 in the second half and gifted you the first half - your forwards by no means dominated us so that makes your pack pretty soft too, yes?