Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team vs Manly.

Blair

I might go to that one too, if I can find the time. Moved to Ryde recently so not a big trip. If I make it, I'll be the guy with the Bears top and Warriors scarf giving crap to every Manly fan I see. Gee I hope we win...

The Juniors start at 11.00am so it'll be a pretty good day out. There'll be about 27 Warriors fans (inc. kids) I reckon. These lower grades just don't get good publicity.

I'll say g'day to you and R&S (if going), we won't miss eachother. I'll be in a black and red jacket with Warriors scarf. I hope the fans gather in a cluster, there's an entire stadium to choose where though!

I worked at North Sydney Oval during the last days of the (stand alone) Bears in the NRL. You still had a pretty good side, but crowds were down.

I also recall when Sydney league became huge in NZ, with the exciting 1991 finals shown live on one of NZ's three TV channels! The Bears had a great chance of a premiership, but blew their semi against a come from behind Raiders. You raced out to a 12-0 lead, which I thought was season lights out for my green machine.

Back to the future though, Sunday's enjoyment watching the lower grades will be affected by what happens on the otherside of the country the day before. I don't really want to be in the thick of Sea Eagles territory after another first grade loss to them.

JJ

Those last Bears teams were great, had a soft spot for them but followed Penrith myself...

Billy Moore, Gary Larson, Mario Fenech, David Farleigh, Peter Jackson, Greg Florimo, Tony Rea, Pat Jarvis, Jason Martin, Les Kiss, Paul Conlon, and old man Halligan... might be mixing eras, but loved that pack!

Strong Kiwi connections too - think when they signed Halligan they also signed Paul Simonsson who was a better outside back, but got hurt? Obviously Mark Graham, Fred Ah Kuoi, Clayton Friend...

Those were the days!

ZEROMISSTACKLES

Those last Bears teams were great, had a soft spot for them but followed Penrith myself...

Billy Moore, Gary Larson, Mario Fenech, David Farleigh, Peter Jackson, Greg Florimo, Tony Rea, Pat Jarvis, Jason Martin, Les Kiss, Paul Conlon, and old man Halligan... might be mixing eras, but loved that pack!

Strong Kiwi connections too - think when they signed Halligan they also signed Paul Simonsson who was a better outside back, but got hurt? Obviously Mark Graham, Fred Ah Kuoi, Clayton Friend...

Those were the days!
Florimo!! That name stands out for me when I think about the red Bears. I think their best player was Fenech who is probably the most solid Lebanese player Ive seen (if hes Lebanese, cant be stuffed checking).

I remember they had a player named Daley and I watched a Sydney Bears game one time and this guy Daley was just the MAN!! From recollection, he reminded me of a prime Robbie Paul. This guy Daley was just carving up. Till this day I dont know if it was Laurie Daley. I only seen Laurie at the Raiders, I dont know if he was a Bear before but yeah this Daley guy was just brilliant.

Almost forgot Larson, he was quite solid too.

jaseg

The Juniors start at 11.00am so it'll be a pretty good day out. There'll be about 27 Warriors fans (inc. kids) I reckon. These lower grades just don't get good publicity.

I'll say g'day to you and R&S (if going), we won't miss eachother. I'll be in a black and red jacket with Warriors scarf. I hope the fans gather in a cluster, there's an entire stadium to choose where though!

I worked at North Sydney Oval during the last days of the (stand alone) Bears in the NRL. You still had a pretty good side, but crowds were down.

I also recall when Sydney league became huge in NZ, with the exciting 1991 finals shown live on one of NZ's three TV channels! The Bears had a great chance of a premiership, but blew their semi against a come from behind Raiders. You raced out to a 12-0 lead, which I thought was season lights out for my green machine.

Back to the future though, Sunday's enjoyment watching the lower grades will be affected by what happens on the otherside of the country the day before. I don't really want to be in the thick of Sea Eagles territory after another first grade loss to them.

Yeah I actually didn't follow (or even know much about) League until I moved here in the late 80s - just happened to land nearby to North Sydney Oval so that was my team until they left (luckily the Warriors had come in by then - obviously being my home town team I had a soft spot for them before that).

And yep, wouldn't be great if we get beaten - I've found Manly fans as some of the worst at giving crap over the years... it's why I'm so quick to mess with them when I (rarely - stupid winning team) get the chance at or going to/from games.

Those were the days!

+Jason Taylor and for a couple of years Ivan Cleary. And Ikin, Dallas, Buettner, Seers, Nigel Roy, Paul Stringer (now the Tigers NSW cup coach) etc.. loved those late Bears teams. Amazing how they kept stuffing it up. And when the they left the comp - I jumped out of the frying pan alright...

Florimo!! That name stands out for me when I think about the red Bears. I think their best player was Fenech who is probably the most solid Lebanese player Ive seen (if hes Lebanese, cant be stuffed checking).

I remember they had a player named Daley and I watched a Sydney Bears game one time and this guy Daley was just the MAN!! From recollection, he reminded me of Robbie Paul. This guy Daley was just carving up. Till this day I dont know if it was Laurie Daley. I only seen Laurie at the Raiders, I dont know if he was a Bear before but yeah this Daley guy was just brilliant.

Fenech is Maltese I think? Hence the falcon being a thing.. named after him (via the movie/book) because he got hit in the head with the ball so many times. Not sure about Daley, wouldn't have been Laurie anyway.

JJ

Maltese, yep - Souths legend... but really inspirational, unlucky to not play more rep footy, fine hooker, then backrower and mainly prop at the end

Ben Elias is Lebanese, of course Mario didn't like that grubby little f**ker...

Jeepers jaseg, Norths had a long dry spell, hopefully the Warriors aren't similar

Don't recall a Daley either, but think Greg Florimo is currently the CEO?

Scott

I was a Norths fanatic in the 90's. They were my team. Feel in love with them in 1991. Loved Peter Jackson, & thought that the back row of Larson, Fairleigh & Moore was as good as it got.

In 1991, if Halligan kicks the goals vs Penrith, we make the Grand Final.
In 1994, Gary Larson got sent off in a ridiculous square up (John Lomax was sent 5 minutes earlier). We actually lead Canberra 7 - 6 at half time but got smashed in the 2nd half.
In 1996 we ran into a red hot Mundine & the Dragons.
in 1997 we trailled Newcastle by 2 with a minute to go. Matt Seers made a break and was home. Home for all money. Darren Albert ran him down and tackled him 1 metre out. IMO it is the best ever chase & tackle to win a game.

These were all Prelim Finals. Simply gutting just thinking back on these times.

JJ

Larson, Fairleigh and Moore were excellent - but Geyer, Cartwright and Van der Voort were better :cool:

Rich102

I remember they had a player named Daley and I watched a Sydney Bears game one time and this guy Daley was just the MAN!! From recollection, he reminded me of a prime Robbie Paul. This guy Daley was just carving up. Till this day I dont know if it was Laurie Daley. I only seen Laurie at the Raiders, I dont know if he was a Bear before but yeah this Daley guy was just brilliant.

Almost forgot Larson, he was quite solid too.

Could it have been Dallas?

JJ

I always think of Bella at Many for some reason - funny then that I mentioned Mario Fenech...

Gavin Allen was there too, I think, gee he was a hard bastard

Scott

Gavin Allen never played for the Bears.

Getting back to the team to take on manly, apparently Bodene Thompson hasn't travelled. I'd say that means Mannering to the ride side with Gubb coming into Lock.

jaseg

Getting back to the team to take on manly, apparently Bodene Thompson hasn't travelled. I'd say that means Mannering to the ride side with Gubb coming into Lock.

Lillyman out too. Both injured apparently.

Looks like Gavet (18th man) & Tevaga (also in traveling squad) in.

JJ

Must have been thinking of Stringer...

Thompson and Lillyman are big losses if so, mainly because their replacements seem likely to be Gubb and Gavet

ZEROMISSTACKLES

Could it have been Dallas?
Nah it was before Brett Dallas. It was around Bellas days. I remember catching the game on TV2 (NZ) as a youngster, the days of the "Lion Red replay", replays were sponsered back then or a marketing thing.

I just checked old wikipedia :rolleyes: I know its not the most reliable source but it doesnt have any mention of a Daley in the team. Ill find out who he was and hopefully get a video clip of this guy cos this player for the Bears was one of the reasons I liked watching League.

Im sure commentators yelled "Daley".

Must have been thinking of Stringer...

Thompson and Lillyman are big losses if so, mainly because their replacements seem likely to be Gubb and Gavet

Big losses, Thompson our best attacking back rower, who seems to go well with SJ and could of run some angles at Million Dollar Daley in the defensive line.

It as confident with them out now.
Plus we are nearly in post Origin territory!