Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The ‘Anything and Everything’ Thread

I remember the 2 mnemonics we had to learn to remember these.

On old Olympus' Towering Tops, a Finn and German viewed some hops

or, as the nurse educator in 1979 taught us

Oh, no nasty reference. I didn’t focus on that one…

CN VIII - vestibulocochlear (acoustic) nerve

You are correct

Dear @Frenzy.

Um ah, yeah…

I’d strongly suggest that you to read this post again when you’ve sobered up.

And you may wish to give us a mnemonic for something less “awkward.”

You are a nutcase my friend.

Hey Robbo if you want to cut the cost down on the op, maybe a few of us in here can offer our assistance to the medico's.

I don't know munch about which bit goes with this and what part works what part but I am of steady hand since giving up the piss.

And shit a few blokes in here I think really do know some medical stuff.

Have a chat with the surgeon and tell him what we can offer and see how munch he will knock off the price. Barter him down Robbo.

DJDL

I’ve made my point and got abused for it.
Well done.

Dude, I think you need to either harden, or lighten, the pharque up.
You came in to an opposition forum and had a shot at one of our posters.
Said poster then retorted. What do you expect?

And my post? I was just having a laugh.
Any time anyone mentions having been offended, this is the first thing I think of.
And it's true. Be offended. It's your right.
But don't expect that everyone else has to hold your view.
I wasn't abusing you, just posting a light hearted jibe.

At any rate, let's hope the Tigers can show a little more backbone next year than what you've displayed here.

Dude, I think you need to either harden, or lighten, the pharque up.
You came in to an opposition forum and had a shot at one of our posters.
Said poster then retorted. What do you expect?

And my post? I was just having a laugh.
Any time anyone mentions having been offended, this is the first thing I think of.
And it's true. Be offended. It's your right.
But don't expect that everyone else has to hold your view.
I wasn't abusing you, just posting a light hearted jibe.

At any rate, let's hope the Tigers can show a little more backbone next year than what you've displayed here.

Why do you abuse me if I’m entitled to have a view?

When did I say everyone should agree with me?

You’ve made that up mate.

I don’t think we need the references he made on a public footy forum.

This is one big forum, one community at the end of the day. No opposition.

You made fun of the fact I was offended.

Good on ya.

Point out the part of either of my posts which is abusive.

Read it again and convince me it’s an act of kindness,

“Pharque up”

“Had a shot at one of our posters”

“Don’t expect everyone else has to hold your view” which I never even said

“Backbone” comment

All personal and nothing to do with my point.

shadowboxer

This is like reading a transcript from a HR interaction in corporate Australia in resolving anything relating to diversity

I love the blame game. It is neat.

Spent last weekend in Townsville watching the Roos game. All's good when my Daughter and Son In Law and I were in the city on Sunday visiting the Cows Club.

My Grand daughter who was also away with us but back at the motel rings my daughter on the phone and ask can we pick up something from the Chemist, if we found one.

Well just around the corner from the club was a big Chemist Warehouse. We all went in and eventually we ended up in a lengthy queue at the checkout.

Well sometimes a bloke has got to do what a bloke has got to do, and as I had no where to hide and I had to let a long quiet one rip...... it was absolutely lethal.

I did what any decent aussie would do, I turned and faced my unsuspecting son in law and said in a loud clear voice.... "Jason, that is disgusting".

I then turned and stormed out of the warehouse in mock anger.

The poor bastard was shell shocked. He didn't know what to do.

I waited some distance from the door as a couple of customers came out gasping.

My daughter comes out and ups me and the Son In Law is pale with embarrassment. He has a crack at me too. Water off a ducks back I reckon.

Moi, I just suggested that we all move forward, no need whatsoever to dwell on it any longer.

I wasn’t, and I’m still not, being abusive. I was being critical. There’s a difference.

By your standard, the abuse began with your original post.

You can call it anything you want, but you were abusing me.

All personal and nothing to do with
the offending remark I complained of.

Why don’t you stand up for the appalling remark instead of bullying on me?

Stop avoiding the topic and explain to me what’s good about this:

34625F92-ABED-4AFE-8FDB-E3CC2160B7B6.jpeg

I find it rancid and extremely offensive.

So far as I am concerned, referencing a girls vagina, especially in that manner, is not ok on LU.

If you like it, then support it and tell us why you support it and stop attacking me personally for expressing an opinion.

DJDL

1. You can call it anything you want, but you were abusing me.

2. All personal and nothing to do with
the offending remark I complained of.

3. Why don’t you stand up for the appalling remark instead of bullying on me?

4. Stop avoiding the topic and explain to me what’s good about this:

View attachment 80835

5. I find it rancid and extremely offensive.

6. So far as I am concerned, referencing a girls vagina, especially in that manner, is not ok on LU.

7. If you like it, then support it and tell us why you support it and stop attacking me personally for expressing an opinion.

1. Again, I was not abusing you. I was chiding you. There is a world of difference. You should learn it. <- This is not abuse

"You should learn the difference you pharquing simpleton" <- This is abuse. Good thing I didn't say it.

2. It was not personal. I didn't call you names. I just called you out for taking offence to my original, innocuous post. "Grow some backbone". <- This is not abuse

"You need to grow some backbone you spineless pharquing twat." <- This is abuse. Good thing I didn't say it.

3. Not bullying you. Merely standing up for myself when I'm falsely accused levelling abuse at you.

As to "standing up to the appalling remark" I don't find it appalling. It's all about time and place. This is a football fan internet forum predominantly inhabited by middle-aged men. The banter in here is no different from what you would hear in your average Sports Bar on a weekend.

If it had been posted, or spoken aloud, in an environment which was heavily populated by women, and/or children, different story.

But it wasn't, so I don't find it offensive.

There's a post a couple of posts back referring to farting in a chemist.
In here, again Sports Bar banter. But tell it inside a nursing home, or inside a church and I would find it offensive.

4. I didn't say there was anything good about it. Just that I don't find it offensive when posted in this environment.

5. Yes. YOU find it 'rancid and extremely offensive', as is your prerogative. That doesn't automatically give you the right to 'abuse' the original poster.
You inferred he was a drunkard and outright called him a 'nutcase'. Text book abuse by your definition.

6. Again, your prerogative.

7. For the final time, I'm not attacking you personally, just chiding you for being so sensitive in the environment you're in.

As to 'supporting' it well, TBH, I'm quite ambivalent about it.
It's a harmless mnemonic (when uttered in the right environment) which is aimed at teaching medical students the order of the cranial nerves. Something which is crucial in their field I would imagine.

Personally, I find it a little peurile, but nothing to get worked up over when it's mentioned among a group of men.

There is plenty of stuff posted on here which I find offensive. But I don't have a go at the poster. I just accept that boys will be boys, roll my eyes, ignore it and move on. You'd have done well to do likewise. <- This is not abuse

My final word on all of this: LU Forums have strict guidelines on acceptable behaviour from members. Abusing others is not on, and carries the threat of being banned from the Forum, either temporarily or permanently in extreme cases.

If any mods deem any of my posts as abusive I'll happily accept any punishment they dish out.

If you feel so abused by my 'attacks', refer me to them.

Hell, I'll save you the trouble. @bluefox68 you're a mod.
I don't expect you to be the arbiter of this exchange as we are forum mates, but can you please ask another mod to read over what I've posted and let me know if anything crosses the line.