Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The 2009 AGM Review thread.

parra pete

I know. Terry and I have been down this road before. As explained to him there is no malice involved. It's better than call him "dead beater" as he was called by my late Bulldogs supporting father. Thanks for your concern though, Pate.

If your dad was a Bulldogs supporter no wonder he called Terry that, especially after the way Sevens, Mick Moseley and Buggo dominated in the 4-2 Grand Final win over Canterbury in 1986.
BTW.. As a word of explanation I have nothing but respect for T L as a past Eels champion, ..just in case anyone reads something in my posts that is definitely not intended..

eels81236

If your dad was a Bulldogs supporter no wonder he called Terry that, especially after the way Sevens, Mick Moseley and Buggo dominated the Bullies grand final in the 4-2 Grand Final win over Canterbury in 1986.
BTW.. As a word of explanation I have nothing but respect for T L as a past Eels champion, ..just in case anyone reads something in my posts that is not intended as a putdown

The old man had lots of 'em, Pete.
There was "sterling silver"....second to mortimer gold. kenny was "no he can't". Just "dumb" stuff like that. As i've said to Terry before, in memory of my old man I like to add the d to leabeater to make leadbeater. If I continually went the whole hog and called him dead beater on here then i'm sure i'd be attacked from the usual quarters. Hi Suity. :lol: j/k.
I'm sure Terry takes no offence any more (after my initial explanation) as there is certainly none intended.

Sangreal 86

The old man had lots of 'em, Pete.
There was "sterling silver"....second to mortimer gold. kenny was "no he can't". Just "dumb" stuff like that. As i've said to Terry before, in memory of my old man I like to add the d to leabeater to make leadbeater. If I continually went the whole hog and called him dead beater on here then i'm sure i'd be attacked from the usual quarters. Hi Suity. :lol: j/k.
I'm sure Terry takes no offence any more (after my initial explanation) as there is certainly none intended.

I take no offence Pete, me old mate here and I have talked on this subject with his Dads humour and nick names.......at least he got to watch the football with his Dad, my old man used to crack himself up watching the wrestling and emptying a bottle of Millers.....Christ no wonder I have have a sick sense of humour.

parra pete

Who was his favourite wrestler....Killer Kowalski....Remember Jack Little calling it..."He's got him in the old rocking chair"

Oops, Muzz, this is not classed as hijacking is it, responding to a post

1 Eyed TEZZA

Iv had the honour of watching Mario Milano wrestle. Not bad, very typical old school wrestler. Very good with the crowd.

parra pete

I remember Killer Kowalski hammering the late Don Lane on his TV show, after the Don had said wrestling was not fair dinkum. Picked him up and back slammed him.

In 1967, on his Tonight show, Don Lane asked World Championship Wrestling's Killer Kowalski to demonstrate his lethal "claw hold". "Hey, you'd better get in shape, Don baby," Kowalski said, applying the hold. Kowalski finished by tossing Lane onto the floor and storming off. Then, in 1980, Lane had his turn as aggressor. A fan of spoon-bender Uri Geller, Lane invited Canadian sceptic James Randi onto his show. When Randi tried to expose Geller as a fraud, Lane scattered Randi's props and told him to "piss off".
http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2004/01/05/1073151243650.html

NOT HIJACKING, JUST REPLYING TO A POST

I remember Killer Kowalski hammering the late Don Lane on his TV show, after the Don had said wrestling was not fair dinkum. Picked him up and back slammed him.

In 1967, on his Tonight show, Don Lane asked World Championship Wrestling's Killer Kowalski to demonstrate his lethal "claw hold". "Hey, you'd better get in shape, Don baby," Kowalski said, applying the hold. Kowalski finished by tossing Lane onto the floor and storming off. Then, in 1980, Lane had his turn as aggressor. A fan of spoon-bender Uri Geller, Lane invited Canadian sceptic James Randi onto his show. When Randi tried to expose Geller as a fraud, Lane scattered Randi's props and told him to "piss off".
http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2004/01/05/1073151243650.html

NOT HIJACKING, JUST RELYING TO A POST
the lanky yank could also be a cranky yank on occasion :D

parra pete

I take no offence Pete, me old mate here and I have talked on this subject with his Dads humour and nick names.......at least he got to watch the football with his Dad, my old man used to crack himself up watching the wrestling and emptying a bottle of Millers.....Christ no wonder I have have a sick sense of humour.

Ritto told my son that when you got called Leabaxter you didn't think it was funny. He (Adam) pissed himself laughing though....Do you remember?

parra pete

Any other agm news?

I think, apart from what has been reported here in this thread, is it. There may have been other 'confidential' matters discussed. I don't know..
If there were confidential matters, ask Stagger ---he, apparently, has the ear of "deep throat' :lol:

Casper The Ghost

and some of the posters who are claiming Andrew Hill's character is being brought into question and demanding answers were quite happy for Terry's character to be brought into question with statements that were made at the time.

But really, who cares? The AGM was how long ago? I can't believe this is still going.

This is why I stay out of all this heavily backlogged emotional traffic jams. Based on past and present road records it is inevitable that road rage comes with every incident. If you don't have an emotional license you can't be part of this peak hour traffic that leads back to the Parramatta LC, FC, AGM, etc. When will this obvious war of many wars finally end and we all willingly permit a true everlasting peace of love and respect for all Eels fans, staff, directors, players etc. They are, We are really brothers and sisters of one great big community. I would love to be part of the stitching up process of every heart and brain severed by an Eels road rage.

Casper The Ghost

Cone of silence....Someone has obviously told YOU.....;-)
No, I haven't rang Denis. I'll leave that to Bec and Buzz.

Lay back, relax and be silenced by the cone.....

cop_car_bong.jpg

4701d1216632945-stoner-survey-.jpg

The Cones Of Silence

Cone_Heads_%28o%29_large.jpg

Sangreal 86

My old man liked Mario Milano.

Now I am getting scared as we have something in common, Dad loved the Italian Love God Mario....and he would get revved up when Killer Kowalski did all his fair dinkum moves he brought back from behind the "iron curtain".... happy memories sitting back with your dad as a kid.

Look after your families everyone, and have a great Christmas and New Year.

parra pete

Ritto is really good mates with my son Mick from when they toured on the NRL Road Train. Mick now lives and works in Albury bu they keep in contact regularly..and yeah he is a funny bastard.
What about six degrees of separation and you know everyone in the world. My connection to you is thru Ritto :lol: We are really soul brothers...

JUST PROVIDING SEVENS WITH AN ANSWER, NOT HIJACKING

Casper The Ghost

Now I am getting scared as we have something in common, Dad loved the Italian Love God Mario....and he would get revved up when Killer Kowalski did all his fair dinkum moves he brought back from behind the "iron curtain".... happy memories sitting back with your dad as a kid.

What about the Golden Greek Spiros Arion??? He had some wonderful moves as did the bold headed Brute Bernard and the sleeper claw hold over the forehead. As a kid on Friday nights I went to a few wrestling matches at the old Sydney Stadium next to White City in Rushcutters Bay. I remembered laughing my head off (knowing) seeing lots of fake blood pouring out of the bodies/heads of a bullsh*t cage fight (even though it looked real). It looked just like heaps of tomato sauce. I was around 8 years old back then and I knew then it was ALL crap, maybe dad told me... not sure... And then those Saturday mid-morning/midday wrestling matches on Channel 9..... talk about the Three Stooges and Abbott and Costello.

KILLER-Kowalski-6228529.jpg

03.jpg

[SIZE=-1]Wrestler: [/SIZE][SIZE=-1]Mario Milano[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Real Name:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Mario Bulfone[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Birthday:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=-1]Hometown:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Born in Triest, Italy
Moved to Venezuala
Lived in Nashville, TENN
Retired to Australia[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Marital Status:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=-1]Height & Weight:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]6'5" - 265lbs[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Trained by:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Ciccliano[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Debut:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=-1]Previous Gimmicks:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Black Diablo -masked-
Mario Bulfone
[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Finishing Move:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]The Atomic Drop
The Abdominal Stretch[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Favorite Moves:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]The Headbutt[/SIZE]
Read more statistics and history of Mario here: http://www.onlineworldofwrestling.com/profiles/m/mario-milano.html

06.jpg

[SIZE=-1]Wrestler: [/SIZE][SIZE=-1]Spiros Arion[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Real Name:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Andres Labrakis[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Birthday:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=-1]Hometown:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=-1]Marital Status:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=-1]Height & Weight:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]6'5" - 285lbs[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Trained by:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Andre Bollet (French)
Jim Londos (Rumored?)[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Debut:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]1961 in Paris [/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Previous Gimmicks:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]The Golden Greek (Australia)[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Finishing Move:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=-1]Favorite Moves:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=-1]Notable Feuds:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Jay Strongbow (1975)
Bruno Sammartino[/SIZE]
Mario Milano & Spiros Arion
arionlewin.jpg

Brute Bernard
02.jpg

[SIZE=-1]Wrestler: [/SIZE][SIZE=-1]Brute Bernard[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Real Name:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]James (Jim) Bernard [/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Birthday:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=-1]Hometown:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Quebec, Canada[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Marital Status:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Married Betty Jo Hawkins[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Height & Weight:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]6'2" - 250 lbs[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Trained by:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Jack Britton [/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Debut:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]1957[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Previous Gimmicks:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]The Brute (Detroit)[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Finishing Move:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=-1]Favorite Moves:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Brawling Tactics[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Notable Feuds:[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]Bobo Brazil
Ron Pritchard
The Great Scott
Spiros Arion
Bill Watts
Johnny Weaver
Gene Anderson
Nelson Royal[/SIZE]

You can find all the profiles of all the wrestlers/actors here: http://www.onlineworldofwrestling.com/bios

eels81236

And you , Terry. Take care, mate.

Parra09

We could ask in the new structure of the Football Office if there is a role known as Football Operations Manager?........
Out of interest, no there is not.

There is the new role of Chief Operations Officer filled by Mossy, with broad responsibility for a number of functions.