Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The 2014/15 Off Season Thread

In your vast policing experience, bart, how many people should have been arrested in this series of raids?

And are police not doing their job unless they're putting merkins in handcuffs?

I think we need to take stock of what's happening here. Extremists have been around for the last decade or more and these copy cat merkins are bound to pop up and need to be nipped in the bud. Remember that right now there are merkins in OZ prisons doing time for:-

• Plot to nuke Holesworthy Army Barracks
  • Plot to bomb NSW Power Grid
  • Plot to bomb Victoria Barracks
  • Plot to bomb HMAS Penguin
  • The "Sydney Five" are serving 30 years for "planning mass terror"
So this shit ain't new. Gotta say that the beheading in Martin Place thing is pretty out there. :shock: I can't recall of anything of this type before. These kids seem to have progressed from doof doof cars and hassling white chicks at Brighton-le-Sands to terrorism tourism. FMD.

All of the people taken in are Afghani asylum seekers that have been released into the community.

Alot of the protesters from the Muslim community are crying racism, however Islam is not a race rather than a religous belief.

Afghan is a race but I wonder how many of the people that are protesting are actually Afghani.

You know, 'Afghan' isn't even really a race either. Afghanistan is an artificial state drawn up by Europeans. The main ethnic groups are the Pashtuns, Tajiks and Hazara.

But I otherwise agree with your sentiments. These protests against police action are just part of the slow push by this minority for self governance.

Not anytime soon, but once they're a big enough minority, in a sufficiently cohesive geographic area (e.g. southwest Sydney) they just need to convince the government that it's more trouble than it's worth to conduct policing within that area. The financially stressed state (or federal) government could find it cheaper to fund Islamic police to provide security and law enforcement in Lakemba and its surrounds.

A nightmare scenario, sure, but with an aging population and a massive welfare burden, Western governments are losing the ability to keep a lid on social unrest. It will just be easier to pander to these merkins.

If the Libs have their way we wont be allowing any more in as the detention centres are too much of a strain on the economy

We need immigration to make up for our low birthrates. The Libs are just as aware of that as anyone else.

The difference is the Libs will push for more skilled (and wealthy) migrants whereas Labor/Greens prefer immigration on humanitarian grounds.

You know, 'Afghan' isn't even really a race either. Afghanistan is an artificial state drawn up by Europeans. The main ethnic groups are the Pashtuns, Tajiks and Hazara.

But I otherwise agree with your sentiments. These protests against police action are just part of the slow push by this minority for self governance.

Yeah heard a merkin on talk back saying that if he had his way Australia would be under Sharia (sp) law.

Agree with sentiments that we must not tar all muslins with the one brush. The IS mob are as just as radical as some Christian groups. You don't see normal Christians spinning out and protesting through fear that they perceived as one and the same. Perhaps the Muslin community need to be better at distancing themselves from IS.

Attachments

• dsc_0164.jpg
    dsc_0164.jpg
    63.9 KB · Views: 2

It's obvious most Muslims prefer to live under Western liberal laws than Sharia. Unfortunately freedom also includes the possibility of alienation - they are two sides of the same coin, in the sense that you can have so much freedom that you find yourself adrift and socially outcast. This is where the desire for Sharia comes from.

It is interesting that the public Muslim voice in these instances always seems to focus on condemnation of everything but the Islamic extremists. I think it's to do with the fact that the Islamic State is seen as the chief defender of Sunni Muslims (the majority of Muslims in Australia and the rest of the world) from Shiite oppression in Syria and Iraq.

....and coz lots of Aussies live in Sunni Queensland.

We need immigration to make up for our low birthrates. The Libs are just as aware of that as anyone else.

The difference is the Libs will push for more skilled (and wealthy) migrants whereas Labor/Greens prefer immigration on humanitarian grounds.

why do we need to increase our birth rates ?

I did my bit for the population

Kornstar

Because the population is aging and becoming a welfare burden. Meanwhile not enough new taxpayers are being born to pay for it all.

Some could argue that the people breeding will also be a welfare burden because of their reluctance to get a job.

The incentives the government gives people who earn shit money to continue to breed is quite amusing. Here, you are bogans, uneducated and generally unsuccessful in life but here is some more money to breed more of the same.......

Some could argue that the people breeding will also be a welfare burden because of their reluctance to get a job.

People are only reluctant to get a job when no job (generous welfare) is better than a shit job.

As the population ages there will be greater pressure on the government to spend revenue on pensions and health care at the expense of other forms of welfare. This will increase the incentive to work. Fewer young people (workers) will also increase those workers' pay.

The incentives the government gives people who earn shit money to continue to breed is quite amusing. Here, you are bogans, uneducated and generally unsuccessful in life but here is some more money to breed more of the same.......

Welfare doesn't and never has paid for the entirety of the cost of raising children. Humans are a resource more than they are a welfare burden - even the children of dole bludgers - and people deserve government assistance with the cost of producing more tax payers.

Kornstar

People are only reluctant to get a job when no job (generous welfare) is better than a shit job.

As the population ages there will be greater pressure on the government to spend revenue on pensions and health care at the expense of other forms of welfare. This will increase the incentive to work. Fewer young people (workers) will also increase those workers' pay.

Welfare doesn't and never has paid for the entirety of the cost of raising children. Humans are a resource more than they are a welfare burden - even the children of dole bludgers - and people deserve government assistance with the cost of producing more tax payers.

I'm from west/south west Sydney, I know people who are supported by my tax paying dollars, I get nothing and have to see these people pop out 3 or 4 kids and the ONLY reason they can afford them is because welfare supports them! The sense of entitlement from these merkins is what gets me, they honestly believe that they should be given money for free!

My point is that if the government focused on encouraging people who are not bludgers to have children rather than giving them absolutely no incentive at all to have more children, then it is only going to get worse than what it is.

If you want more tax payers it is heaps cheaper to just import them. Don't have to pay for schooling or a plasma TV for each whelping.