Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The AFL want to own QLD and NSW according to fumbleball great

woodley_11

Queensland and NSW will always be rugby league states. Such a ridiculous move by the AFL when Tasmania and the Northern Territory are legitimate AFL states but are not represented by any teams yet. Sydney Swans and Brisbane Lions can coexist with league but any further teams I think will die off.

Flapper

one thing I do know is if you do the same thing the same way, you'll end up with the same result. RL needs to get its 5h1t together and decide if it is happy being a small sport in two states with crowds of 12K or if it wants to be the countries number one footy code.

That England AFL comp is going great guns hey?

Mate I think the passion you show for the Reds is awesome, but sometimes you can lose the plot.

fourplay

This was inevitable.

It's just a reflection of the NRL's incompetence for the last decade, particularly their failure to capitalise on and maximise revenue streams.

The fact that the AFL can afford to pay NRL players double what we can just shows that our sport has been left behind.

And people wonder why players are pressuring the NRL to grow the game and increase the salary cap? :lol:

otori

They can spend all the money they want on marketing and promotion but at the end of the day the product is still a fumble fest and dog ugly to watch, especially as a tv sport.

The product is sh*te and will never generate the passion that league does in NSW & QLD.

Don't know why everone is so worried.

Yeah AFL is sh*thouse but the packed MCG for certain regular games is proof enough for me that Melbourne is just as passionate about AFL that we are about league. No passion is not dictated by attendance alone but the atmosphere at the MCG on a packed day is amazing and can rival Origin. Too bad the actual game is atrocious :lol:

Edwahu

30 years in sydney with the press behind them and the Swans cant crack 100k on tv. The sport has already been rejected here, Folau will make no difference.

They are probably hoping the novelty boosts sydney ratings enough to go into negotiations showing they are "growing", but no one will get conned this time.

30 years in sydney with the press behind them and the Swans cant crack 100k on tv. The sport has already been rejected here, Folau will make no difference.

They are probably hoping the novelty boosts sydney ratings enough to go into negotiations showing they are "growing", but no one will get conned this time.

i agree with this.

and the qld player repping nsw team comment.

people are not idiots, but the afl are clutching at straws.

having falou there is not going to make me fall in love with their game.

I hate afl, heaps of people do. and i mean hate, we loathe that pathetic excuse for a game.

i mean, come on, most codes got an offside rule 200 years ago.

bobmar28

interesting fact is the swans chairman a few years back said they needed crowd averages of 22k to break even.And the new crowd are aiming for 17k average.How long can they run at a loss for

As long as the ACT government keeps paying the bills.

Ronnie Dobbs

They can spend all the money they want on marketing and promotion but at the end of the day the product is still a fumble fest and dog ugly to watch, especially as a tv sport.

The product is sh*te and will never generate the passion that league does in NSW & QLD.

Don't know why everone is so worried.

x2

MightyBronco

No chance.

Why do they think that all RL fans will just stop supporting our game and become AFL fans just like that?

Yeah right.

RL will be here for generations to come. Those merkins down south need to f**king stay down south.

This was inevitable.

It's just a reflection of the NRL's incompetence for the last decade, particularly their failure to capitalise on and maximise revenue streams.

The fact that the AFL can afford to pay NRL players double what we can just shows that our sport has been left behind.

And people wonder why players are pressuring the NRL to grow the game and increase the salary cap? :lol:

Agree wholeheartedly with this.

For many years now gallop has been making the statement, quite correctly, that RL must "grow the pie". Its been used at any time the cap or player exodus/salary issues has been raised.

Of course growing the games pie (as opposed to individual revenue streams) is what is required as whatever increase in revenue comes into the sport it must be distributed across the NRL & amongst all 16 clubs.

So there is a couple of simple questions we all should have the answers too.

Has the games pie increased during the current CEOs tenure & if not why not ?

If the games pie has increased, what proportion of that increase has made its way to the clubs and to fund development ?

applesauce

By the looks of it all the good players (bar Ablett) have committed to thier current clubs and no one else really seems that keen on moving to the GCFC.

If this happens to GWS and both teams can't get off the bottom of the ladder then who would support them? This will be a massive waste of time in the clubs can't sign any quality AFL players.

Who knows they could end up with less supporters than Cronulla...

S.S.T.I.D

One of the unfortunate aspects of our sport is that if you have grown up playing another sport, never touched a rugby league ball, there is absolutely no chance that you could make the switch and be a success at the age of 20+. None whatsoever. So we will never be in a position to poach elite union or AFL players that have never played our game. Perhaps we wouldn't want to anyway.

Our code is more specialised than people give it credit for and I think that Israel might just make a decent player in that sport. Not because he is a supremely gifted athlete, but because more or less, with a bit of fitness virtually anyone could play the other game. It is probably the least skillful game in world sport.

Swamp

This whole thing reminds of a scene in Life of Brian when Brian is confronted with the news that he is half Roman. Brian says "mum, do you mean.....you were raped"? To which his mum replied "well at first, he promised me all the gold I could eat"!
Perhaps lost in translation.:lol::lol:

BIKER_DRAGON

"What it is from the AFL is a statement, that we want to own Queensland and we want to own NSW and we are going to do whatever we can to own those places and I think it's another great statement from the AFL"

Words quoted from fumbleball great James Turd on tonight's On The Couch fumbleball show.

Jim the Turd can run off and suck the farts out of dead sea gulls down on Port Phillip Bay.

This is the perfect reply to the AFL cheerleaders. Not only has AFL been here at an elite level for three decades, but its actually had a steady presence in NSW and QLD for 100 years. Yet by any measure the code is going backwards in Sydney. One of the most alarming indicators for the AFL is how few (if any) NSW lads make the annual draft...despite the massive amounts of money poured into development and propaganda.

and then you consider it to somewhere like Perth where NRL has no team, little profile, virtually zero media covergae, no FTA etc and we still produce more NRL players than NSW do for AFL, our TV viewing figures are much better when we get chance to see a game and we can still draw healthy crowds to one off games. Makes you wonder what RL could be like in Perth if the NRL had $100mill+ to throw at it like the AFL has done in Sydney.

I hope to god its not Slater. He would carve it up in the middle or on the wing in AFL imo and I would hate to see the game lose such and excitement machine. I can;t really see any other Storm star being any use.