Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The AFL want to own QLD and NSW according to fumbleball great

worrying thing is that there are plenty of AFL clubs who could afford to pay $750-1mill for a RL player if they wanted, wiothout teh AFL chipping anything in. Up to now they haven't seen the point but if Hunt or Folau is a massive hit on the field that could change, but I doubt it will happen.

DC_fan

"What it is from the AFL is a statement, that we want to own Queensland and we want to own NSW and we are going to do whatever we can to own those places and I think it's another great statement from the AFL"

Words quoted from fumbleball great James Turd on tonight's On The Couch fumbleball show.

This is not new news. From the moment the Swans moved to Sydney all those years dominance Australia wide was AFLs plan.

elbusto

This is not new news. From the moment the Swans moved to Sydney all those years dominance Australia wide was AFLs plan.
As a Tassie boy born and bred (or inbred as the case may be lol) I remember when the AFL played a demonstration game in Brisbane in the 70s (I think). The publicity even then revolved around how much better AFL was than League and Union and how it would take over.

Yes this is nothing new.

I learned to hate the arrogance of the AFL (or VFL as it was then) back then and it has not improved in that time.

Tyler Durden

we're missing the whole point here...

the afl don't really care if hunt and folau are good at afl on the field.
it is their presence off the field that will be the weapon they will use.

they will pimp the hunt and the folau to every school in the gold coast and western sydney. these are rugby league areas where the kiddies grow up dreaming of playing in the nrl. send in the hunt and the folau to the schools, and the message to them will be "hey - be as cool and rich as us and don't play nrl - come and play afl"

these kiddies will then want to go to afl games, when they grow up, they will give afl a go, and the next generation will be afl supporters.

so to counter the afl, nrl needs to get the league stars all out to the school now. tell the kiddies that the hunt and the folou are a soft pansy big girlie blouses who are too scared to play a real game, so there !

Lockyer4President!

we're missing the whole point here...

the afl don't really care if hunt and folau are good at afl on the field.
it is their presence off the field that will be the weapon they will use.

they will pimp the hunt and the folau to every school in the gold coast and western sydney. these are rugby league areas where the kiddies grow up dreaming of playing in the nrl. send in the hunt and the folau to the schools, and the message to them will be "hey - be as cool and rich as us and don't play nrl - come and play afl"

these kiddies will then want to go to afl games, when they grow up, they will give afl a go, and the next generation will be afl supporters.

so to counter the afl, nrl needs to get the league stars all out to the school now. tell the kiddies that the hunt and the folou are a soft pansy big girlie blouses who are too scared to play a real game, so there !

That worked so well for the ARU didn't it? That was their exact plan too except that the RUWC was about a million times bigger than these two new AFL teams are/will be.

Nerd

The AFL merkins just don't get it. They can transplant the whole NRL playing roster into AFL teams and I still wouldn't watch their game!

I enjoy watching Rugby League because its a fast and physical game not because of who's playing.

elbusto

That worked so well for the ARU didn't it? That was their exact plan too except that the RUWC was about a million times bigger than these two new AFL teams are/will be.
Exactly mate - the AFL have a crap product so make up for it with shed loads of money - what they may well have done now is annoyed everybody who is getting sick of their pathetic publicity exercises - thats why I love the fact they use Sheedy as a their advertising guru - I mean what a dick head!

Lots of AFL fans are telling me they are pretty much over this and I have not met anybody who thinks the Hunt Folau stunts are a good idea.

I think its all accidentally a huge joke played by the bloated egos of the AFL admin.

Check our ratings and crowds. Its all good.

ParraEelsNRL

The AFL merkins just don't get it. They can transplant the whole NRL playing roster into AFL teams and I still wouldn't watch their game!

I enjoy watching Rugby League because its a fast and physical game not because of who's playing.

^^

This, I watched a fantastic game of RL the other night, the French GF without all these big name stars and it was refreshing to see young and old blokes throw it around and have a good time.

I'll never ever watch AFL.

Cletus

I can't believe Hird came out and said that. We all new they want to kill League but all it does is get fans backs up. Anyway Hird played League at school but was too soft:

I STOPPED playing rugby league when I was 14.
Until then I had played at lunch times and for the school team.

I even won a Canberra Raiders jumper for making the most tackles in the school season. (I told you I could tackle, Sheeds, even if you did not see it in 17 years of my AFL career.)
I stopped after being steamrolled by a kid who at the same age was twice my size and had been shaving since birth. It was an early reminder to me that Australian rules football and rugby league both require elite physical ability, but in a vastly different way.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...au-playing-footy/story-e6frf9jf-1225863348614

I've just seen a Channel 10 sports report on how the AFL is converting kids in Argentina to their game. Another puff piece.

What is going on with this game? They'll be trying to convert aliens from other planets soon.

I'm sick of seeing these AFL puff pieces time and time again.

I've just seen a Channel 10 sports report on how the AFL is converting kids in Argentina to their game. Another puff piece.

What is going on with this game? They'll be trying to convert aliens from other planets soon.

I'm sick of seeing these AFL puff pieces time and time again.
It's a wonder Rob Hazel can even talk with all the Aussie Rules Sprog in his mouth. Why in QLD do we have to put up with these Flogball loving Twats????

ironhorse

Honestly i'm not the least bit concerned at all , the product is sh*te .their leaders come across extremely arrogant even to the casual watcher . I have tried , really tried to get into AFL over the years but it's like watching seagulls fighting over a chip that seems to go on for 3 excruciating hours . Whistles blowingall over the joint, suss looking umpires everywhere with their shirts tucked into their rugger shorts pulled up to the armpits .Ridiculous bloody game with very little appreciative skill level . Southern state residents treat it like a religion which is not surprising,they just don't know any better as the propaganda machine rolls over them . .Fail !:lol:

Seriously cricket has to be the worse game in the world yet it doesn't stop people tuning in to watch it or it having a major presence in this country. Look at wrestling FFS! Media and hype will win over the public every time!

AFL player revolt feared as Brendan Fevola, Simon Black question Israel Folau's huge pay day

SOME of the AFL's greatest names fear a simmering player revolt is on over the chequebook raids of rugby league stars Israel Folau and Karmichael Hunt.
Brisbane Lions star Brendan Fevola says the $6 million, four-year contract for Folau to play for the AFL's Western Sydney expansion club is a "slap in the face" to existing AFL stars.
Brisbane champion Simon Black labelled the contract as "ridiculous", which was also the word used by Lions coach Michael Voss and his predecessor Leigh Matthews.
And Fevola said he believed most AFL players would agree with their view that "it's a lot of money to throw at a player who hasn't played footy before".
In a bid to hose down unrest, AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou on Tuesday sent a letter to all players at the 16 AFL clubs.
Demetriou explained how snaring first-choice athletes from other codes is "essential in assisting us to grow the overall pool".
Demetriou said Folau and Hunt had "around average" playing contracts for an AFL player, but both have separate promotional contracts in view of their importance in expansion markets.
"Recruiting players, particularly internationally, does come at an additional cost, but we applaud clubs who are prepared to make that investment and then back their capacity to train those athletes to become AFL-standard players," Demetriou wrote.
Former North Melbourne great Wayne Carey said he could understand the huge publicity generated by the poaching of Folau and Hunt would make it a success, but said it was inevitable players would be upset.
Folau's Broncos chief executive Bruno Cullen said he found it "amusing" that the AFL touted itself as the most popular code yet needed NRL players to front their franchises.
"At some point they are going to have to start buying players that can actually play the game," Cullen said.
Liam Pickering, manager of leading players including Gold Coast's No.1 target Gary Ablett, said he could understand players would have their "noses out of joint".
Fevola said it was unfair that AFL players could play for 10 or 12 years and "this bloke comes in and gets offered a million bucks".
"It's not Izzy's fault," Fevola said.
"But Gary Ablett is not even on that sort of money."
Carey said: "I'm not quite sure about a Queenslander going to West Sydney (as a promotional spearhead). I don't know how that's going to pay off."
"I agree with Vossy ... it (the big contracts) should be going to the players who are putting on the show now," Carey told website backpagelead.com.
"It is messy. It would cause a little bit of trouble if it is not outlined what these guys are getting paid for. If you are a young guy playing for the Gold Coast and Western Sydney and these guys are going ordinary and you think 'What am I worth?"
Pickering said he his players had not complained to him about Folau's payday.
"My players haven't said anything to me. I think they will raise their eyebrows more than anything because they know we are talking about a completely different beast here . . . a new team that is only going to spend God only knows how much on marketing and this is the way they could probably do it," he said.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...aus-huge-pay-day/story-e6frep5x-1225874176726

captain Cam

We all love our league but afl will always be no.1 sport on oz

afl has been for yrs and will continue to be...why?

because gallop and co havnt atleast tried to spread the game like the afl has and is doing

We cant compete with them with money, crowds, ratings, sponsorship, stadiums, administration

soccer is what we should be worried about

We all love our league but afl will always be no.1 sport on oz

afl has been for yrs and will continue to be...why?

because gallop and co havnt atleast tried to spread the game like the afl has and is doing

We cant compete with them with money, crowds, ratings, sponsorship, stadiums, administration

soccer is what we should be worried about

put the gun down, defeatist......you have everything to live for!!