Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Bachelor 'How To' Thread

roopy

the pensioner roast at the local pub - 8.50 at my local - you can't cook it for that.

i also put in a lot of time and effort chatting up the cook at my pub - makes her feel good - gets me bigger meals - it's all good.

roopy

two for tuesday pizzas are good for snacks for half a week - but they get a bit suss around friday

Alex28

Good one Roopy - cheap roasts and specialty nights at pubs are a godsend. You can can have decent feeds for a week and not have to cook once!

When I lived in Ballina my housemate and I used to get a roast and 2 crownies for $11 each at the RSL - you can't go past that.

Serc

Some great ideas in here! The ones myself and my housemate have/use a lot are:

- Toasted sangers
- Variety of microwaveable stuff
- The pasta & sauce meal
- Wok + heaps of rice (lots of our meals come through those two)
- Frozen vegies that you can quickly boil up, usually gets thrown in the above
- The $8-$12 roast/pub meal/all you can eat at your local RSL/pub. For you Brissy people I visit the Greenbank RSL once a week and they have some good cheap feeds, and great steaks!!!
- The only one I can think of adding, is to avoid having Maccas/KFC/HJ's more than once or twice a week as you will stay pretty healthy and is $20+ saved that you can put towards that slab of beer :D

Lastly - Astro, we are all guys, what do you expect!

roopy

no one has said the obvious - a cooked chook once a week can turn into half a dozen meals - chicken salad - chicken stir fry - just a bit of chook when you are hungry.

a loaf of bread in the freezer is good. two slices in the microwave for 15 seconds gives you fresh bread whenever you want it - rather than throwing out two thirds of a loaf every second day.

I also buy the heat treated milk because you can always have 5 or six in the fridge rather than running out of fresh milk all the time.

macavity

a wife.

she cooks, cleans, and saves you the friday/saturday night prowl.

she will also pick you up from the pub when you are pizzled!

works for me! :D

roopy

Here's a tip - a smoked chook lasts a lot longer because the smoking preserves it.
It costs 3 or 4 dollars more than a cooked chook - but is a hell of a lot nicer in things like pasta and salad etc.

roopy

macavity said:
a wife.

she cooks, cleans, and saves you the friday/saturday night prowl.

she will also pick you up from the pub when you are pizzled!

works for me! :D
but what about the cold shoulder and the moods that seem to have nothing to do with anything, and the nagging (oh god - not the nagging).

roopy

a clothes dryer.
I resisted for years buying a clothes dryer for environmental reasons - but i now love it.
I also only buy clothes that don't need ironing. stuff that for a joke.

macavity

roopy said:
but what about the cold shoulder and the moods that seem to have nothing to do with anything, and the nagging (oh god - not the nagging).

I counter them with selective hearing and porn.... :p

roopy

macavity said:
I counter them with selective hearing and porn.... :p
you are a better man than me. I once moved out of a house i owned to get away from a woman i had lived with for 6 months - and after 20 years i still think it was worth it.

IanG

roopy said:
The microwave is your friend, as is the toasted sandwich maker.
A bulk order of microwave proof plastic/paper plates is also worth its weight in gold.
And the George Foreman grill

roopy

It is also important to have your female workmates think you are pathetic. I find they feed me regularly and do all my sewing. I do need to move lots of things for them with my truck and i get roped into painting houses and things - but regular homecooked meals is a good tradeoff.

Serc

YES Roops! Cooked chook is high on my list, have one or two of those a month :D

I have such a horrid memory...not a very original thinker either :p

roopy

daveserc said:
YES Roops! Cooked chook is high on my list, have one or two of those a month :D

I have such a horrid memory...not a very original thinker either :p
try a smoked chook - totally worth it. some supermarkets have them and most delis

IanG

I taught myself to cook when I was a student that combined from what I leart in Home Science in Year 7 & 8 at High School. For me Spag Bol is a real staple. Plus my Curried Noodle Concoction.(A way of making the most of 2 minute noodles)

Misanthrope

And the George Foreman grill

MrC was married to his George Foreman grill at a secret ceremony in Sydney's western suburbs. The man would make love to it if it weren't for the nasty burns he'd pick up.

IanG

CWBush said:
MrC was married to his George Foreman grill at a secret ceremony in Sydney's western suburbs. The man would make love to it if it weren't for the nasty burns he'd pick up.
Who conducted the ceremony?