Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Development

Cheese sandwich

Ironically it’s the last bit we could sell to upgrade the…. Oh don’t worry.
Call me cynical but this has been my gut feeling for a long time that the ground was nothing but an inconvenience for the developers. The very thing that was supposed to save us could kill us.

Someone with more knowledge on the subject can hopefully allay my fears.

Ozzi_78

Call me cynical but this has been my gut feeling for a long time that the ground was nothing but an inconvenience for the developers. The very thing that was supposed to save us could kill us.

Well when the ground becomes too outdated to use as a home ground and the capacity won’t go back up very much it makes it useless doesnt it.

Well moi opinion. If the Sharks arn't playing out of the Shire then they are not the Cronulla Sharks.

Is it going to be one of those geographical NRL decision thingies... you know, like the East Chics got picked in the first four teams in the start up Women's Comp.

Eion

The development doesn’t kill us. The ground itself is still the same. Just gives us an option to flog it off easier than otherwise…not that I’d ever want them to take up that option.

Cheese sandwich

Well when the ground becomes too outdated to use as a home ground and the capacity won’t go back up very much it makes it useless doesnt it.
Literally boxed in on every side so no room to expand, when we moved for 2 years and nothing actually got done to the ground itself except for reducing capacity, well yeah no explanations needed.

Ozzi_78

Literally boxed in on every side so no room to expand, when we moved for 2 years and nothing actually got done to the ground itself except for reducing capacity, well yeah no explanations needed.
Yep. Pretty dumb it wasn’t included in the deal.

I might add I do not see how adding extensions to grandstands is 100M, I am clearly ignorant on this topic because 300M for a full stadium makes no sense to me.

Cheese sandwich

The development doesn’t kill us. The ground itself is still the same. Just gives us an option to flog it off easier than otherwise…not that I’d ever want them to take up that option.
Unless someone is building us a new stadium in the shire then we become an easy option to flick i reckon.

Eion

Unless someone is building us a new stadium in the shire then we become an easy option to flick i reckon.
We’ve always been an easy option. Not as easy these days, but still one of the first clubs people will raise if they dump a Sydnet team. A stadium upgrade won’t change that much.

shadowboxer

That’s ok, but you’re wrong. No way we are still there in 5 years with the facilities mate. It’s f**kjng awful now.
Blunt assessment but 100% accurate.
The place is terrible at the moment and what will improve unless they get the dollars for a massive upgrade.
There is limited public support and the way things are rolling we are headed for a spell of reduced spending alround.
It won’t last forever, but timing is everything, just asked someone who took on a mortgage last year with the RBA saying rates wouldn’t jump till 2024.
Trust no one

What a depressing thread this has turned into. Just when I was getting all "up up Cronulla! " Anyway arent we still in better position than a few other merged clubs ? Isnt a full "Boutique stadium" that looks good on tv, with adjacent money spinning attractions better than a half empty colosseum further away from fan base ? ?

A. Not really. but thats only because the merged clubs are being silly geese holding onto nostalgia and are asleep at the wheel on the field. if the tigers had been as good on the field as say....the raiders in the last decade..theyd be a much bigger deal.
The Tigers should just become the penrith of the south west, get funding with the Macarthur a-league mob for ctown to be real good. but refuse because they still deep down want to play at a dilapidated shit heap in leichard

the dragons if they moved to Wollongong full time could sell an upgrade of a regional venue and remain one of the strongest brand IP's ion the league. But they HOOOOLD onto kogarah like it matters.
the dragons are a big club when they arent absolutely flubbn around on field like they are.

B. Looks good, but if we are behind the eightball on corporate ticket sales, ticket sales etc we just become the weak sister we wanted to not be.
we need to be competitive off field for when we are not as good on it you know?

Fans dont really matter. i reckon the maths on 8k bums on seats at the sfs but with 100 corporate suites sold makes more money than 13k at shark park with a third of the corporates.

we can survive sure. but i think we should be more ambitious than surviving.
all options should be on the table

A. Not really. but thats only because the merged clubs are being silly geese holding onto nostalgia and are asleep at the wheel on the field. if the tigers had been as good on the field as say....the raiders in the last decade..theyd be a much bigger deal.
The Tigers should just become the penrith of the south west, get funding with the Macarthur a-league mob for ctown to be real good. but refuse because they still deep down want to play at a dilapidated shit heap in leichard

the dragons if they moved to Wollongong full time could sell an upgrade of a regional venue and remain one of the strongest brand IP's ion the league. But they HOOOOLD onto kogarah like it matters.
the dragons are a big club when they arent absolutely flubbn around on field like they are.

B. Looks good, but if we are behind the eightball on corporate ticket sales, ticket sales etc we just become the weak sister we wanted to not be.
we need to be competitive off field for when we are not as good on it you know?

Fans dont really matter. i reckon the maths on 8k bums on seats at the sfs but with 100 corporate suites sold makes more money than 13k at shark park with a third of the corporates.

we can survive sure. but i think we should be more ambitious than surviving.
all options should be on the table
Makes a lot of sense what you are saying about Tigpies, but will it happen? Same to lesser extent about stains. Aren't they resisting move to woolongong because the diehard Dragqueens Management and rusted on fans might not wear a move to woolongong?

B. Im not looking at any Expenditure V Returns spread sheets so you are probably right . I just thought the plan was to offer a full package for sponsor's and Fans .
A club , Grounds ,and winning team that lent itself to TV and internet. . Boutique stadium, full of Rabid Fans surely ,more attractive on TV than half empty one. Strong TV audience, because they are winning ,and have Players of great skill AND character, .attracts more fans and sponsors and merchandising opportunities etc.( More sponsors gets more corporate seat sales . ) Who knew who Aramax were before they sponsored Sharks ? Beneficial to entire area If package deals of entertainment in the area that includes experience of a game at Shark park can be promoted

Anyway it seems like it may already be settled given the lack of improvements to Ground capacity. Tragic if it happens that way IMHO.

Makes a lot of sense what you are saying about Tigpies, but will it happen? Same to lesser extent about stains. Aren't they resisting move to woolongong because the diehard Dragqueens Management and rusted on fans might not wear a move to woolongong?

B. Im not looking at any Expenditure V Returns spread sheets so you are probably right . I just thought the plan was to offer a full package for sponsor's and Fans .
A club , Grounds ,and winning team that lent itself to TV and internet. . Boutique stadium, full of Rabid Fans surely ,more attractive on TV than half empty one. Strong TV audience, because they are winning ,and have Players of great skill AND character, .attracts more fans and sponsors and merchandising opportunities etc.( More sponsors gets more corporate seat sales . ) Who knew who Aramax were before they sponsored Sharks ? Beneficial to entire area If package deals of entertainment in the area that includes experience of a game at Shark park can be promoted

Anyway it seems like it may already be settled given the lack of improvements to Ground capacity. Tragic if it happens that way IMHO.

nah, nothing will happen. this is rugby league

Look i dont want it to happen, im just thinking ahead and we dont want to be left behind and just slip into permanent weak sister status